Upgrading White intel iMac processor... 17", 1.83 ghz - Page 3 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 25, 2012, 01:39 PM   #51
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
One thing to note, a Core2Duo is not needed for the iMac5,1 firmware flash and the firmware flash does not need a Core2Duo.
Didn't know that. I thought a C2D was required. That's important given that the extra grunt of the C2D is not as important as the extra 1.3GB of RAM, IMO. Still required if you want 64-bit OSs and apps, of course. Given how old these things are, I would just leave in the CD if that's the case as I would not feel the expense worth it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mar2194 View Post
Will you check out the two on eBay I linked to above. Most eBay listings don't tell you if it's LGA or BGA.
Notwithstanding the above, they are both look like socket M pin. The second one even advertises at used in an iMac upgrade.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 11:43 PM   #52
mar2194
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York, NY
Send a message via AIM to mar2194 Send a message via Skype™ to mar2194
Smile Finally, this time (no really!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
Didn't know that. I thought a C2D was required. That's important given that the extra grunt of the C2D is not as important as the extra 1.3GB of RAM, IMO. Still required if you want 64-bit OSs and apps, of course. Given how old these things are, I would just leave in the CD if that's the case as I would not feel the expense worth it.



Notwithstanding the above, they are both look like socket M pin. The second one even advertises at used in an iMac upgrade.
I've been happy with my MacBook Pro early 2011 for a while now, however it's hard drive just failed and I was able to back it up to my 2TB iMac HD. Which brings me to my next point, I now have a job (grad student) and have an office to which I will be bringing my old iMac. I looked quickly on eBay just now and a T7600 now runs around $75, which is 100% within my budget. I know I'm finally upgrading three years later, but I thought I would announce that I'm FINALLY going ahead with it. I will keep you updated in the next few weeks after I receive the new processor. Thanks for all the help way back when.

- mar2194
__________________
17" White iMac, 1.8 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 160 GB HD; 3rd gen iPod; Grey Clamshell iBook (BLAST TO THE PAST)
mar2194 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2013, 11:46 PM   #53
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Kudos mar2194 for keeping this thread alive with the original topic. With a nice T7600 upgrade you should hopefully be able to get another few years out of that faithful old iMac.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:24 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:07 AM   #54
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by mar2194 View Post
I've been happy with my MacBook Pro early 2011 for a while now, however it's hard drive just failed and I was able to back it up to my 2TB iMac HD. Which brings me to my next point, I now have a job (grad student) and have an office to which I will be bringing my old iMac. I looked quickly on eBay just now and a T7600 now runs around $75, which is 100% within my budget. I know I'm finally upgrading three years later, but I thought I would announce that I'm FINALLY going ahead with it. I will keep you updated in the next few weeks after I receive the new processor. Thanks for all the help way back when.

- mar2194
You are very welcome. My father (87 years young) is still using my daughter's old T7200 iMac and it feels perfectly fine so a T7600 should work great in yours. Best of luck and props for keeping the old girl running.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Tags
core 2 duo, core duo, imac upgrade, intel processor, sata

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use an Intel "K" processor in late 2013 Haswell iMac? CompanionCube iMac 39 May 30, 2014 03:50 AM
imac g5 A1200 24" intel core 2 duo 2016 GHz PSU problem noom PowerPC Macs 2 Nov 1, 2012 07:44 PM
Upgrading 2006 Mac Mini Core Duo to 2.33 Ghz Processor El Burro Mac mini 8 Aug 21, 2012 03:28 AM
iMac 27" Intel Core i5 3,1 GHz, AMD 6970M MacRohde Buying Tips and Advice 3 Jul 29, 2012 01:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC