Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:56 PM   #26
cirus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarleystinson View Post
Are you sure?. It says there that the Samsung uses gddr3 according to the link to buy.com on anandtech's site. Also, I wouldn't call some of those differences small. Plus he's saying he's seeing a huge performance hit.

And, as I just posted, apple's own website claims he should have double the bus width.
Yes, It has 8 GB of DDR3 RAM running at 1600 MHz. That page says nothing about the vram though.

Most of the time the two are within 20% of each other. The samsung wins at skyrim fairly well at enthusiast settings, but the gddr3 clevo creams the gddr5 samsung at civ 5. Considering the two are using different drivers I would say that the two are roughly identical (the clevo gets a higher 3d mark 11 score).

Also remember that the 640m is clocked lower and so will need less memory bandwidth than the 650m.

I doubt that you will see an increase in fps by 3.5 times (100 fps vs 350 fps) by doubling the the memory bendwidth, especially since the 640m can't use all the bandwidth. The 650 ti (almost twice a powerful as the 650m) has a 128 bit bus operating at 1350 mhz. More likely the op is using the intel graphics.

I have a 660m (overclocked to 1058 Mhz compared to about 600-700 for the 640m) and I have never seen the memory controller load go over 60% or about 48 GB/sec. 32 GB/sec should not really have much of an effect on the 640m.
cirus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:10 AM   #27
swarleystinson
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Thumbs up

well said.
swarleystinson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2014, 02:32 PM   #28
denizbas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
cuda

how did you open cuda screen on mac os x ?
denizbas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2014, 09:17 PM   #29
yjchua95
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (formerly KL, Malaysia)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Quote:
Originally Posted by denizbas View Post
how did you open cuda screen on mac os x ?
Download and install the OS X CUDA drivers from NVIDIA's site. Then open the CUDA preference pane in System Preferences.
__________________
2 13" late-2013 rMBPs (base+maxed), maxed late-2013 rMBP 15", maxed early-2011 15", 2010 17", 2 maxed Haswell iMacs (21.5" and 27"), maxed 2012 mini, 2 12-core nMPs, maxed 2013 13" MBA
yjchua95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2014, 10:54 PM   #30
allisonfranz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boston
The iMac GT 640M is not good
allisonfranz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2014, 04:11 AM   #31
insane79
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
i got the gtx660m car in my iMac, will installing the cuba software will update my drivers by any chance? whats the benefit having cuba installed?

Thanks..
insane79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac USB Hi-Speed Bus vs SuperSpeed Bus Solomani iMac 4 Feb 26, 2014 08:29 PM
GeForce GT 640M vs. 650M washburn iMac 59 Apr 21, 2013 08:02 PM
Overclocking 640m 2Turbo iMac 0 Apr 19, 2013 04:13 PM
640m Benchmarks 3DMark11 2Turbo iMac 3 Feb 16, 2013 10:27 AM
Bringing an iMac on a Greyhound Bus midnightriver Community Discussion 5 Aug 20, 2012 02:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC