Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 15, 2013, 08:12 AM   #26
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by macaroniguy View Post

My first Mac was a IIx with a 120 meg Rodime hard drive. I think I know what I'm doing.
That just means you're really really old!

For what it's worth, I've used 3tb with no issues in all my machines except a Netgear NAS device.
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 01:48 PM   #27
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Something is strange there. In single drive I get like 175MB/s average (across the platter) and around 190MB/s sustained for the 1st 65% of the platter, and like 220 to 230MB/s burst.

In RAID0 with those drives I get 400MB/s sustained, 500MB/s burst, and bout 370MB/s "average".
Yeah ... after reading your RAID-0 posts, I have been thinking of getting another 3TB matching drive to RAID-0 them for the speed. I really don't need 6TB of storage, but getting the speed using the larger drives would be nice.

I suppose the measured speed differences could be due to our specific test parameters and test programs used. I was using BlackMagic DiskTest and I believe the default 4GB test file size.

-howard
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 09:50 PM   #28
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Yeah ... after reading your RAID-0 posts, I have been thinking of getting another 3TB matching drive to RAID-0 them for the speed. I really don't need 6TB of storage, but getting the speed using the larger drives would be nice.

I suppose the measured speed differences could be due to our specific test parameters and test programs used. I was using BlackMagic DiskTest and I believe the default 4GB test file size.

-howard
Well, also to consider is that you really don't get 6TB of storage with that setup. At least not 6TB of fast stable storage. One needs to keep rotational media at least 40% empty for stability, speed, and migration concerns.

Yeah, IIRC BlackMagic tries to be less synthetic by encoding and decoding the streams. So those rates are encoded stream rates. Still in that bench I get pretty good; Here's two of them in RAID 0 with the read speed on it's way up to the mid/high 380's:


And with the newer version of BM DST they stick in place for better screen-shotting. Here's 4 of those drives in RAID0:


And there's still a difference even with the newer version. Other benchmarkers show rates of around 700MB/s and slightly over with that setup. Personally I like this way best. It's faster at all things (even 4k files @ around 40MB/s average) than a single super fast SSD, the overall cost is still less than a single sizable superfast SSD and of course that's 12TB (or about 7TB managed). The only downside is that it takes up 4 of the 6 internal SATAII connections.

Last edited by Tesselator; Mar 15, 2013 at 09:57 PM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 07:39 AM   #29
jackhenri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Back to original post.. help!

Hi,

I to am pulling my hair out trying to format a 3TB seagate drive in my MACPRO 3,1, OSX 10.8.3.

I have tried everything;
Formatting from Recovery mode
Formatting first as NFTS in a windows PC
Formatting with multiple partitions
Formatting with GUID & Apple Partition Map
Formatting through Time machine (read it on a forum- didn't work)
Installing Seagate sleep override

everytime, the progress bar get's half way, then I get the 'File system Formatter Failed - error)

Does anyone have any tips?, I would be forever greatful..

cheers,

jackhenri
jackhenri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 07:56 AM   #30
ColdCase
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NH
You may just have a bad drive. My 3 and 4 TB Seagates formatted just fine.
__________________
MiniServer (2012-2.3-i7-8-120SSD-1TBHD), rMBP15 (2014-SJE1-2.6-16-SM1024), LG27EA83D, SYDS212JK2, LaCie Big5s, MacBooks, iMacs, AppleTVs, Time Capsules, AEBSs, MacPro early 08, some older stuff.
ColdCase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 08:47 AM   #31
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackhenri View Post
Hi,

I to am pulling my hair out trying to format a 3TB seagate drive in my MACPRO 3,1, OSX 10.8.3.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
You may just have a bad drive. My 3 and 4 TB Seagates formatted just fine.
That could very well be.

Jut to note that I've tried every which way to format my 3TB drives under 10.7.5 on my MacPro1,1 and they all just work fine. No troubles at all. Fast format, Erasing empty space, Adding partitions, dumping unpartitioned unformatted drives into a RAID0 array list, removing partitions, and doing all those things plus more on a Windows 7 system first before placing them into the Mac. In all cases the Mac had no trouble recognizing, formatting, partitioning, and RAIDing them. (I bought a whole case of the 3TB Seagate ST3000DM001 drives after I saw how the 1TB, 2TB, and 4TB drives handled. Very nice drives!)

So I was a little confused when I read the older parts of this thread myself.

<shrug>
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 09:10 AM   #32
jackhenri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks Tesselator.. I think maybeI might try and reformat the drive again in a windows PC and erase empty space etc.. I was expecting the drive to work out of the box as previous drives have..
The drive is the same that you mention 3TB SeagGate ST3000DM001 Barracuda 7200.14 SATA III 6GB/s.. I was thinking that the problem might have to do with the 6GB/s, when disk utility does actually recognise the drive(unformatted) it shows as a 3TB 3GB/s

I'm a bit of a luddite I'm afraid, so I'll do my best....

cheers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
That could very well be.

Jut to note that I've tried every which way to format my 3TB drives under 10.7.5 on my MacPro1,1 and they all just work fine. No troubles at all. Fast format, Erasing empty space, Adding partitions, dumping unpartitioned unformatted drives into a RAID0 array list, removing partitions, and doing all those things plus more on a Windows 7 system first before placing them into the Mac. In all cases the Mac had no trouble recognizing, formatting, partitioning, and RAIDing them. (I bought a whole case of the 3TB Seagate ST3000DM001 drives after I saw how the 1TB, 2TB, and 4TB drives handled. Very nice drives!)

So I was a little confused when I read the older parts of this thread myself.

<shrug>
jackhenri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 09:36 AM   #33
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackhenri View Post
Thanks Tesselator.. I think maybeI might try and reformat the drive again in a windows PC and erase empty space etc.. I was expecting the drive to work out of the box as previous drives have..
The drive is the same that you mention 3TB SeagGate ST3000DM001 Barracuda 7200.14 SATA III 6GB/s.. I was thinking that the problem might have to do with the 6GB/s, when disk utility does actually recognise the drive(unformatted) it shows as a 3TB 3GB/s

I'm a bit of a luddite I'm afraid, so I'll do my best....

cheers
Just to be clear; I'm saying any and all of those things worked individually. This includes directly out of the box and into the Mac.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 10:46 AM   #34
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
I have a couple of those 3TB Seagate drives and they worked fine in my 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 ... and in my new 2012 Mac Pro 5,1. They are pretty nice drives, really fast!

Formatting them in Windows may have problems with the 2.2TB limit depending on your Windows machine and version. But no problems with OS X.

Sounds like a defective drive to me.

-howard
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2013, 05:46 AM   #35
jackhenri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
fail

thanks for your help everyone.. I'm ashamed to say, I ended up just returning the drive...

I don't actually think the drive itself was defective, but I just had no luck with it. I tried everything with my mac pro, then I tried putting the drive in external enclosures etc, attached to my 2011 mac mini..but still no joy..

I think I am going to exchange it for a WD black 2TB.. It's for use as a write drive for Pro Tools in my mac pro 3,1...

thanks again...
jackhenri
jackhenri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2013, 02:42 AM   #36
jackhenri
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
drive was faulty!

Well according to the folk at 'ebuyer' where I bought the drive, after rigorous testing, 'the drive was faulty'.

Seems if I had pursued the drive diagnostics tests, i would have saved myself a lot of time, trying to format a faulty drive..



cheers,
jackhenri
jackhenri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 10:37 AM   #37
absolutmp5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
This is still a big issue

Hi Everyone,

working on a 2012 Imac running mountain lion 10.8.3, and I have tried using my voyager external dock with both (firewire via thunderbolt and vanilla usb3) to format not 1 but 4 different 3tb Western Digital red drives to no avail. Even a 2tb green drive brings no success.

I tried using disk utility to even create a single guid partition with no luck.


Does anyone know if there has been a solution yet regarding this?

Kris
absolutmp5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2013, 04:03 PM   #38
ShaggyDog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Australia
1TB ADF Hitachi 7K1000 internal drive won't inialize

I have a MacBook Pro i7 (late 2011) 15" 2.26Ghz with 8GB and 250 Samsung SSD (540/520), plus a second 500GB drive where CD-ROM Lived) running Maverick 10.9. Runs great.

Purchased a 1TB HGST (Hitachi) Advanced Drive Format 7200RPM "7K1000 model" 2.5" drive as a second drive (to replace the 500GB).

On first boot, it took 8 mins to finally boot into OSX.

I went to Disk Utility and the new 1TB drive didn't show up, so restarted, and repeated the same action. Still no 1TB drive in Disc Utility or on desktop.

I read these forums, and did my share of searching the web and others had had success (with 2Tb & 4Tb ADF drives) by booting into OSX Install menu and running Disc Utility from their. Thus booted into OSX (from a boot able USB as I didn't have a CD drive) to try initialize the drive in disc utility. Drive still didn't show up, not even grayed out.

I rebooted (waited the 8 mins again - without the second 1TB drive Mac boots in about 12 seconds) and tried disc utility again, nothing.

The 1TB just doesn't show up. I wondered whether the second drive bay was damaged, so I removed the 1TB and put it into a USB Caddy and then tried formatting it in Disc Utility - SUCCESS!!! Drive initialized no problems.

Believing I had solved the problem, I went about the arduous task of reinstalling the 1TB drive in the second drive bay again.

When the Mac finally booted up (8mins plus again) - no drive showed up on desktop nor disc utility. Eventually an error message appeared on the screen saying something like "drive not readable do you want to initialize/ eject" I clicked initialize. The Mac then tried to initialize the 1TB drive again in Disc Utility. It got all the way to the end and then put up a message saying it couldn't complete the initialize. I tried this several times still not success. I removed the 1TB drive again, reinitialized from USB caddy, ran Disc Verify and Repair no problems reported.

I have now re-installed the 500GB drive and the Mac runs fine and still boots in about 12 seconds.

Funny thing is, the new 1TB drive works fine when connected with a USB caddy, however I purchased it as an internal second drive for data to replace the current 500GB drive and the Mac just doesn't like it.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
ShaggyDog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2014, 10:31 PM   #39
rachinc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
what about for maverick

Quote:
Originally Posted by partsoven View Post
http://knowledge.seagate.com/article...S/FAQ/207851en

The drive will need to be reformatted. Reformatting the drive will erase all data on the drive, so you should copy any data that is on the drive to a different drive before formatting.
To reformat the drive in MacOS X:
Open Disk Utility.
Choose Go in the Finder Apple menu (at the top of the screen).
Select Utilities.
Double-click the Disk Utility icon.
Choose the Seagate drive in the left window. If the drive is not showing, see step 3 below.
Choose the Partition tab in the right side of the Disk Utility window.
In the drop-down menu that says "current volume scheme", select one partition.
Press the Options button and select Guid Partition Table.

Change the Volume Format to MacOS Extended.
Click Apply.
Warning: This operation will erase all data on the drive, so before you continue, verify that any data on the drive is backed up somewhere else.
Click Partition. At this point, the volume dismounts from the desktop and the drive is partitioned and formatted.
Note: When Volumes are created, Time Machine may open, asking if you would like to use the volume for backups. Click Cancel to proceed.
If the partition fails on Leopard, see the special instructions below, in step 3.
The drive may go to sleep on its own. If it does, you can download a utility to prevent the drive from the link below. Keep in mind the drive will still be controlled by the MacOS power management features, which are set in Mac System Preferences.
Warning: Connect your FreeAgent drive to your Mac and wait for it to mount on the desktop before using the following utility.
Download the FreeAgent Go sleep disable utility's enclosed DMG file to your desktop.
Make sure the FreeAgent drive is connected to the Mac and mounted on the desktop.
Double-click the file to start the install process.
Follow the onscreen instructions to install.
During the install, the utility performs the sleep disable function, so no further steps are needed once the installation completes.
Note: If the drive is put on a Windows computer and the sleep time is adjusted with Seagate Manager, then this utility can be installed again on the Mac to disable the sleep function.
Make sure your computer can run your drive off a single USB cable. Some older Macintosh laptops do not provide enough USB power to run an external 2.5-inch drive and so the drive will not be detected at all in that case. If you encounter problems with this, there are a few options.
If this is a newly purchased drive, you may want to work with the place of purchase to exchange this drive for a FreeAgent Go for Mac, which runs on Firewire.
A special Y-Cable can be used to plug into two USB ports to draw additional power, if two ports are available. These cables can be purchased through many popular online retails and should have 1 - Mini USB B port (male) and 2 - USB A ports (male).
Use a powered USB hub which plugs into an electrical outlet and should provide enough power to run the drive.

Special instructions if erase fails on Leopard / Snow Leopard.
Leopard (Mac OS X - 10.5.x) and Snow Leopard (Mac OS X - 10.6.x) seem to be currently having problems reformatting external drives. This is a common issue on Leopard/Snow Leopardthat is seen on most brands of drives.
Note: This is not a problem with the external drive itself. Rather, it is an issue with the Disk Utility included in Leopard/Snow Leopard.
Suggestions: If partitioning/formatting the drive in Disk Utility fails, there are three options:
Ensure that any/all installer (DMG) files are dismounted before trying to prepare an external drive. Simply drag these files to the Trash to proceed.
Partition the drive using the OS install CD.
Insert your Operating System install DVD into the CD/DVD drive.
Restart your Mac.
Hold down the Option key while the Mac is rebooting.
Choose the "OS X install Disk" option.
Choose your preferred language.
Choose "Utilities > Disk Utility" from the top-menu.
Follow partition and formatting instructions from step 1-C.
If the Disk Utility Partition option fails, it may be necessary to move the external drive to a Windows system to repartition and reformat it. Click here to launch a video showing how to prepare an external drive using Windows Vista, or here for step-by-step instructions for Windows XP, or here for step-by-step instructions for Windows 7 / Vista.
Additional Information: Do not try to use the reformatting tutorial script that comes on the OneTouch 4 drives, as this script was designed for Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) and will not work properly on Leopard.
Note: Viewing of Video Tutorials Requires the following:
A screen resolution of at least 800x600
Javascript Enabled in your Browser
Adobe (Macromedia) Flash Player be installed on your system
I read this and when I did the partition, it finished and still read as 801.57 gb on the drive. I'm running OS X 10.9.1. PLEASE HELP!
rachinc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2014, 08:41 PM   #40
Njzkillahsin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Solution that worked for me

So I experienced the same issue as the user above with a seagate 3TB drive. I formatted the drive using terminal and it worked flawless. Use the command below!

Step 1
Type "diskutil eraseDisk JHFS+ diskname diskidentifier" into terminal.

Change disk name to whatever name you want for your drive
Change disk identifier to your drive identifier for example disk01 etc..

You can find your disk identifier by clicking on your drive in disk utility and clicking on info


I hope this helps.

Last edited by Njzkillahsin; Jan 23, 2014 at 08:42 PM. Reason: Added more info.
Njzkillahsin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2014, 12:51 PM   #41
macdog007
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Same problem - no solution yet

The solution posted by Njzkillahsin did not work for me:

Quote:
"So I experienced the same issue as the user above with a seagate 3TB drive. I formatted the drive using terminal and it worked flawless. Use the command below!
Step 1
Type "diskutil eraseDisk JHFS+ diskname diskidentifier" into terminal.
Change disk name to whatever name you want for your drive
Change disk identifier to your drive identifier for example disk01 etc..
You can find your disk identifier by clicking on your drive in disk utility and clicking on info "
It still produced a 800+ GB disk.

Seagate Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM 001 Drive in LaCie USB Case
macdog007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2014, 12:59 PM   #42
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdog007 View Post
The solution posted by Njzkillahsin did not work for me:



It still produced a 800+ GB disk.

Seagate Barracuda 3TB ST3000DM 001 Drive in LaCie USB Case
I have several "older" enclosures which have a chipset limit of 2TB maximum disk size. I discovered this when I installed 3TB drives and as I recall it too only showed 800GB or so. Upgrading to a newer version of this case with newer chipset (OWC GuardianMAXimus and Qx2) resolved the issue with the 3 TB drives.

Does your LaCie USB case support larger than 2TB drives?
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2014, 01:49 PM   #43
TheEasterBunny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delaware
Try partitioning it into two 1.5TB drives.
See if that allows it to format and recognize.
I remember trying to force old macs into accepting modern drives in the past. and that was my work around, partition in a machine that could do that, and the old one seen the drive(s) as multiple appropriate sized drives.
TheEasterBunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2014, 04:27 PM   #44
Gav Mack
macrumors 68000
 
Gav Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sagittarius A*
You sure you don't have an apple raid card fitted which plugs into the sleds? With the sleds directly connected to the logic board they should partition fine.

If not it sounds like a mac version of the intel windows rst bug with 3tb plus drives only seeing 746gb. If your seagate's have a jumper for XP compatibility try using that, the wd's do work fine with their jumper set but I have no idea about the modern seagate spinning disks as I stopped using them years ago. If there is no jumper could possibly be a boot cd to configure them like the samsung spinners do for SATA mode and delay start..
__________________
Mac Pro 3,1 8x3.2 32gb GTX 680, 17" MBP 2011, iMac 2006
iPhone 5s, 5, 4s, 4, Air, iPad 2 x3, Mini, Touch 3G x2, iPod Classic 160Gb.
2TB TC 3G, Air Ext 5G, Air Exp 2G PC: lots
Gav Mack is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB flash drives not showing up in Disk Utility Jeff Hall Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 4, 2013 08:05 PM
Enclosure appearing in Disk Utility with selective drives technominds Mac Basics and Help 1 May 12, 2013 10:20 AM
Disk Utility Won't Resize Partitions ethan1878 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Feb 11, 2013 10:18 AM
Zeroing external hard drives - does Disk Utility limit you to one at a time? Charlie Croker OS X 1 Nov 8, 2012 08:53 AM
ML Installation: Disk Utility doesn't show internal drives redAPPLE OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 30, 2012 03:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC