Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Felicide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
iPhone 4s Unlocked--DATA

Last year I purchased a 3GS, and had the same data issue. I have now upgraded to a 4s, and am hoping the data problem can be resolved.

It is a 4s, running iOS 6.0.1 on ATT prepaid (and modem firmware is 3.0.04, if that is important, it has been in the past..)

Text and calls work, however I get this when I try to use data..Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.PNG
Views:	53
Size:	291.7 KB
ID:	389125

This is the same message I received a year ago too, and the resolution involved altering the apn or something. Although apparently with iOS 6 apple made it so you cannot do that anymore?

(By the way, picture messages do not send, either)

If anyone has solutions, thanks a lot!
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 07:09 PM   #2
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I am on T-Mobile with an iPhone 5 and am able to alter the APN settings. My iPhone is unlocked. Are you sure you haven't tried to see if you can edit the APN settings?
Settings -> General -> Cellular -> Cellular Data Network. From there, you can manually configure your APN settings
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:09 PM   #3
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
No, this is what shows up, I do not have an option to do that
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (1).PNG
Views:	34
Size:	161.0 KB
ID:	389342
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:19 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Do you have a data plan on your prepaid account?
Go to unlockit.co.nz using your iphones safari browser and try to download and install the correct apn config file.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:21 PM   #5
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
yep, I do. And I have tried the site, but ever since ios6 I haven't gotten it to work (I had data working on my 3GS, although picture texts never sent/received. On the new phone, neither work.)
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:24 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Try this site too
http://bigwireless.us/wap/stdata.html
On this site http://www.unlockit.co.nz/mobilesettings/
It has about 8 different configuration files for AT&T USA.
Try the PAYG one. If that doesnt work attempt a few other ones too.
It works, you just gotta fight with it a little.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:37 PM   #7
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Doing this, I now get this message after 2-3 different tries..
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (2).PNG
Views:	33
Size:	265.9 KB
ID:	389349
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:55 PM   #8
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Oh, nevermind, because the PAYG one works I'm just dumb.

On another note, the pictures still will not send. I don't suppose you know how to fix that, too?

**also, safari is working on network, but imessages are not still, either. I did not notice this at first.
Felicide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 05:53 PM   #9
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I'm bumping this because I really would appreciate answers, it's very frustrating. The data isn't working again except for internet, my imessage will not activate, so i just deleted the stupid apn thing.

I know it is possible to do this, I am just so tired of trying to figure it out.
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:39 PM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felicide View Post
I'm bumping this because I really would appreciate answers, it's very frustrating. The data isn't working again except for internet, my imessage will not activate, so i just deleted the stupid apn thing.

I know it is possible to do this, I am just so tired of trying to figure it out.
Lol
The data isn't working but the Internet does?
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:48 AM   #11
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Have you tried going to your AT&T store and asking them? Maybe one out of all the employees can help you
darricksailo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:01 AM   #12
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Outside the bubble
They most likely won't help because it's against AT&T's policy to use an iPhone with their prepaid GoPhone SIMs.

What they'll want to do is set you up on a month-to-month smartphone plan at the regular $80+ rate.

If you want low cost prepaid on AT&T's network, I'd suggest using an AT&T mvno such as Straight Talk, Net10, Red Pocket, etc.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | Apple TV (3rd Gen)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:09 AM   #13
madsci954
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by corvus32 View Post
They most likely won't help because it's against AT&T's policy to use an iPhone with their prepaid GoPhone SIMs.

What they'll want to do is set you up on a month-to-month smartphone plan at the regular $80+ rate.

If you want low cost prepaid on AT&T's network, I'd suggest using an AT&T mvno such as Straight Talk, Net10, Red Pocket, etc.
Yeah, I was told AT&T Prepaid doesn't support the iPhone, even if you have a data plan.
madsci954 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:39 PM   #14
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by corvus32 View Post
They most likely won't help because it's against AT&T's policy to use an iPhone with their prepaid GoPhone SIMs.

What they'll want to do is set you up on a month-to-month smartphone plan at the regular $80+ rate.

If you want low cost prepaid on AT&T's network, I'd suggest using an AT&T mvno such as Straight Talk, Net10, Red Pocket, etc.
Yeah, they do not help you. Although when I went to get a micro sim the girl just set the whole thing up for me and just told me not to call for help because nobody can help me, technically.

I don't really know what "an ATT mvno" is, but don't all of those require plans? Just reduced price a little.
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:51 PM   #15
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Outside the bubble
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felicide View Post
Yeah, they do not help you. Although when I went to get a micro sim the girl just set the whole thing up for me and just told me not to call for help because nobody can help me, technically.

I don't really know what "an ATT mvno" is, but don't all of those require plans? Just reduced price a little.
I'm not sure what you mean by require plans, but most (if not all) are a prepaid month-to-month service with no contracts.

mvno's (Mobile Virtual Network Operator) sublease from major spectrum holders (AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile, etc), then provide that service to consumers at a lower rate. Lower because they aren't paying to build and maintain their own network.

Here is a list of US based mvno's: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...work_operators
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | Apple TV (3rd Gen)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:42 PM   #16
heyitsfez
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felicide View Post
I'm bumping this because I really would appreciate answers, it's very frustrating. The data isn't working again except for internet, my imessage will not activate, so i just deleted the stupid apn thing.

I know it is possible to do this, I am just so tired of trying to figure it out.
Try resetting the network settings. I used to get this exact same error, I'm on an unlocked iphone 5 using data on prepaid. I did that I never saw that error again.

Settings - General - Reset - reset network settings

It wont delete anything personal on your phone. It'll just reset the way the phone is used to fetch data. It shouldn't hurt to try. That's how I got rid of that screen which was annoying. I also read this solution from another forum, so I'm pretty sure this should work for you,

Good luck!
heyitsfez is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC