Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 11:59 PM   #1
BadWolf13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
XCode asking for password to Build & Debug

Ever since I reinstalled from a backup, I've been getting this window popping up when I try to build and debug a program in XCode. It says "Type your password to allow Developer Tools Access to make changes." Now if I type in my password, it builds and runs just fine. It won't ask me for my password again, until I log out, or turn the computer off. Then, it repeats the process. Not exactly debilitating, but annoying nonetheless. Anyone got any ideas how to fix this?

Oh, and if you're curious, I am logged in as the admin.
BadWolf13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:02 AM   #2
MacAndor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Hi! Try fixing your permissions, ultimately reinstall Xcode.
MacAndor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:51 AM   #3
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
What have you tried? Be specific.

If I google the error message Type your password to allow Developer Tools Access, the first result is this:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...n-xcode-mac-os

One reply describes how to add a user to the _developer group. Another reply mentions the DevToolsSecurity tool used from Terminal. Additional replies that describe other solutions, depending on Xcode and OS version. Since you didn't state your versions, you'll have to choose an applicable reply.

If you've already tried all of those things, then please say so. If you haven't, then see the link for details, and maybe try more googling.

Also, post the output of this command:
Code:
id -p
and see if you're a member of the _developer group.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:41 PM   #4
BadWolf13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Tried fixing permissions, didn't help.
Tried googling, didn't find anything useful.
Am part of the _developer group.

I'll try reinstalling XCode to see if that helps.
BadWolf13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:19 PM   #5
Senor Cuete
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Try this:

Open a project. Open the organizer window from the windows menu. Click on the devices icon in the window header. In the column on the left there should be a heading called Devices. Select your machine under devices. Your computer should appear in the right (main) panel. There should be a button labeled "Enable developer mode". Click on it. This might work.
Senor Cuete is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:45 PM   #6
BadWolf13
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Thank you Senor, but it appears that your suggestion won't be necessary. Reinstalling XCode worked perfectly, thank you MacAndor.
BadWolf13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xcode build target jmfel1926 Mac Programming 1 Mar 2, 2014 02:26 PM
xcode debug issue ip.kban Mac Programming 2 Dec 7, 2013 06:01 AM
[HOW-TO] Set up & use Android Debug Bridge (ADB) on OS X Jessica Lares Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 4 Jul 3, 2013 12:52 AM
xcode build not possible, The timestamp service is not available. md11 Mac Programming 10 Jul 17, 2012 04:45 AM
Xcode 4.5 Replaces Public Build? drummerdude1390 iOS 6 0 Jun 11, 2012 04:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC