Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 26, 2015, 11:45 PM   #1301
tremlock
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Coral Springs, FL
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	380.1 KB
ID:	526796  
tremlock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 01:16 PM   #1302
solodogg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Decided to test AT&T vs Sprint in The Ford Center here in Evansville over the weekend. Sprint had slightly faster speeds, even though the signal was half of what the AT&T device had.

Tried loading a YouTube video on AT&T, got 4 seconds in, and endless buffer. Loaded the same YouTube video on Sprint, and played the whole way through in HQ without a glitch.

I think it's time to switch! Had a Verizon phone in there also that I forgot to take a screen shot of, but it was getting mid 40's down, and mid 20's up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-25 19.52.39.png
Views:	10
Size:	930.8 KB
ID:	526850   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-25 19.52.58.png
Views:	11
Size:	1.53 MB
ID:	526851  
solodogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 01:27 PM   #1303
cchs2014
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by solodogg View Post
Decided to test AT&T vs Sprint in The Ford Center here in Evansville over the weekend. Sprint had slightly faster speeds, even though the signal was half of what the AT&T device had.

Tried loading a YouTube video on AT&T, got 4 seconds in, and endless buffer. Loaded the same YouTube video on Sprint, and played the whole way through in HQ without a glitch.

I think it's time to switch! Had a Verizon phone in there also that I forgot to take a screen shot of, but it was getting mid 40's down, and mid 20's up.
Wow, and I always find myself lusting over AT&T and wishing I hadn't switched to Sprint. But lately, ever since the iPhone 6 launch, I've been significantly pleased with Sprint and it is only getting better (Sprint Spark/Turbo). Sprint is definitely becoming a major competitor against the other carriers. Awesome!
cchs2014 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 01:32 PM   #1304
tmiw
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchs2014 View Post
Wow, and I always find myself lusting over AT&T and wishing I hadn't switched to Sprint. But lately, ever since the iPhone 6 launch, I've been significantly pleased with Sprint and it is only getting better (Sprint Spark/Turbo). Sprint is definitely becoming a major competitor against the other carriers. Awesome!
Part of it may be that Sprint's not emphasizing unlimited data in their marketing any more and seem to try to get people to switch to plans that don't have it. A lot of people were on the cheap SERO plan back in the old Sprint days and frankly abused it. But yeah, their upgrades are a big part of why it's better now.
__________________
13" late 2013 Retina MacBook Pro (16GB RAM/512GB SSD/2.6GHz Core i5) + 64GB Space Gray iPhone 6
tmiw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 01:37 PM   #1305
cchs2014
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiw View Post
Part of it may be that Sprint's not emphasizing unlimited data in their marketing any more and seem to try to get people to switch to plans that don't have it. A lot of people were on the cheap SERO plan back in the old Sprint days and frankly abused it. But yeah, their upgrades are a big part of why it's better now.
I agree. The only major issue I have with Sprint now is the ridiculous image compressing they've been doing for a while now. While surfing the web or using apps on 3G/LTE (strong signal and low signal) images load extremely pixelated. Other than that, I have no complaints with Sprint.
cchs2014 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 01:38 PM   #1306
BeSweeet
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 
Send a message via Skype™ to BeSweeet
Quote:
Originally Posted by solodogg View Post
Decided to test AT&T vs Sprint in The Ford Center here in Evansville over the weekend. Sprint had slightly faster speeds, even though the signal was half of what the AT&T device had.

Tried loading a YouTube video on AT&T, got 4 seconds in, and endless buffer. Loaded the same YouTube video on Sprint, and played the whole way through in HQ without a glitch.

I think it's time to switch! Had a Verizon phone in there also that I forgot to take a screen shot of, but it was getting mid 40's down, and mid 20's up.
Is T-Mobile not an option for you?
__________________
- Space Gray iPhone 6 Plus [T-Mobile/unlocked, 16GB, iOS 8.1.2]
Twitter | Homepage
BeSweeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 02:29 PM   #1307
solodogg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeSweeet View Post
Is T-Mobile not an option for you?
not even close to an option. I live about 5 miles north of the Evansville Airport, and only get GPRS/Edge at home. I work dead in the middle of town, right off of the highway, and cannot get phone signal inside our building, even though my office is right up against an exterior wall. The LTE service that is here is just as slow as what AT&T has.

My iPad is currently activated with both Sprint and the T-Mobile free 200mb plan, and TMo can't even be used around here. It's that bad.

The best coverage and speeds around here are by far Verizon, but i've had a really bad experience leaving them once before (6 months worth of billing for service that had been ported out, and I was not under contract), and don't want to take that chance again. AT&T was my next best option, but it's been a horrible option since switching a year ago.
solodogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 03:00 PM   #1308
BeSweeet
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 
Send a message via Skype™ to BeSweeet
Quote:
Originally Posted by solodogg View Post
not even close to an option. I live about 5 miles north of the Evansville Airport, and only get GPRS/Edge at home. I work dead in the middle of town, right off of the highway, and cannot get phone signal inside our building, even though my office is right up against an exterior wall. The LTE service that is here is just as slow as what AT&T has.

My iPad is currently activated with both Sprint and the T-Mobile free 200mb plan, and TMo can't even be used around here. It's that bad.
Ah. Was just curious. Coverage and speeds didn't look too bad on their updated map in addition to RootMetrics and Sensorly data.
__________________
- Space Gray iPhone 6 Plus [T-Mobile/unlocked, 16GB, iOS 8.1.2]
Twitter | Homepage
BeSweeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 05:58 PM   #1309
solodogg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I've taken a screen shot with the pin dropped in the middle of my zip code. Coverage up here is all 2G, and anywhere north of here is the same. The city shows LTE coverage, but it's pathetic at it's best.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tmobile.png
Views:	13
Size:	377.7 KB
ID:	526894  
solodogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 06:14 PM   #1310
BeSweeet
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 
Send a message via Skype™ to BeSweeet
Wasn't expecting this... Only one of the three sectors on this site was this fast. Everything else was hitting the 40Mbps soft cap.


Quote:
Originally Posted by solodogg View Post
I've taken a screen shot with the pin dropped in the middle of my zip code. Coverage up here is all 2G, and anywhere north of here is the same. The city shows LTE coverage, but it's pathetic at it's best.
I wonder what their spectrum situation is like there. Given what you're saying and some of the peak speeds I saw on RootMetrics, I'd imagine it's a 5x5 setup.
__________________
- Space Gray iPhone 6 Plus [T-Mobile/unlocked, 16GB, iOS 8.1.2]
Twitter | Homepage
BeSweeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2015, 10:22 PM   #1311
solodogg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeSweeet View Post
I wonder what their spectrum situation is like there. Given what you're saying and some of the peak speeds I saw on RootMetrics, I'd imagine it's a 5x5 setup.
It is, 5x5 Band 4. I'd love for TMo to work out here, as i'm a fan of their business practices. Unfortunately, the lack of bandwidth around here will keep me from switching to them anytime soon.
solodogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2015, 02:52 PM   #1312
Apple Trees
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by solodogg View Post
I've taken a screen shot with the pin dropped in the middle of my zip code. Coverage up here is all 2G, and anywhere north of here is the same. The city shows LTE coverage, but it's pathetic at it's best.
That's spotty as hell. I'd avoid switching to them even once they finish the Band 2 LTE rollout in that area. They probably won't ever be good there unless they get low band spectrum.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus Verizon, rMBP 15" i7 2012 MBA 11", iPad Mini 3 128GB Verizon
Apple Trees is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2015, 10:17 PM   #1313
solodogg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple Trees View Post
That's spotty as hell. I'd avoid switching to them even once they finish the Band 2 LTE rollout in that area. They probably won't ever be good there unless they get low band spectrum.
That's what i'm afraid of. I'd love to see someone come in and threaten Verizon and AT&T's stronghold in this market, but it doesn't appear that it's going to happen.

On another note...middle of town today, tried using AT&T to stream a youtube video. Got 4 seconds in (as usual), and started buffering. Let it sit for about a minute, never buffered enough to load back up. Thankfully, I had my trusty iPad with Sprint service on me, and decided to run back to back speed tests. While Sprint isn't blazing fast by any means, I wouldn't expect it to be in the busiest part of town during the lunch hour. I was able to play the same youtube video in HD quality all the way through without a single buffer though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0232.png
Views:	9
Size:	1.23 MB
ID:	527308   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0233.png
Views:	7
Size:	748.6 KB
ID:	527309  
solodogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2015, 10:40 PM   #1314
tmiw
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by solodogg View Post
That's what i'm afraid of. I'd love to see someone come in and threaten Verizon and AT&T's stronghold in this market, but it doesn't appear that it's going to happen.

On another note...middle of town today, tried using AT&T to stream a youtube video. Got 4 seconds in (as usual), and started buffering. Let it sit for about a minute, never buffered enough to load back up. Thankfully, I had my trusty iPad with Sprint service on me, and decided to run back to back speed tests. While Sprint isn't blazing fast by any means, I wouldn't expect it to be in the busiest part of town during the lunch hour. I was able to play the same youtube video in HD quality all the way through without a single buffer though.
In the end all that matters is consistent performance. 5-10mbps consistently is a lot better than 40-50 in the middle of the night and 0.5 during peak times.
__________________
13" late 2013 Retina MacBook Pro (16GB RAM/512GB SSD/2.6GHz Core i5) + 64GB Space Gray iPhone 6
tmiw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2015, 10:00 AM   #1315
BeSweeet
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 
Send a message via Skype™ to BeSweeet
In my office building in south Jax. The usual soft cap (40Mbps~) here. Full 20x20, 4x2 MIMO setup.


__________________
- Space Gray iPhone 6 Plus [T-Mobile/unlocked, 16GB, iOS 8.1.2]
Twitter | Homepage
BeSweeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2015, 01:30 PM   #1316
August West
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
iphone 5s on Straight Talk - AT&T networks. Chandler, AZ

Top to bottom - 3G, 4G LTE & WiFi.

As usual, 3G is a little faster than 4gLTE since the 4G signal is almost nonexistent to nonexistent at my home. But at least it is better than my office

T-Mobile is even worse. I think if I want good speeds, something in the range of 3Mbps or more, I'd probably have to go to Verizon but it is prohibitively expensive.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9121.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	132.7 KB
ID:	527396  
August West is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2015, 01:36 PM   #1317
BeSweeet
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 
Send a message via Skype™ to BeSweeet
Is it like that when using an actual AT&T SIM? I wonder if they put less of a priority for their MVNO users.
__________________
- Space Gray iPhone 6 Plus [T-Mobile/unlocked, 16GB, iOS 8.1.2]
Twitter | Homepage
BeSweeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2015, 01:52 PM   #1318
August West
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I don't know. I've never tried an AT&T sim but I assumed they would be equal but maybe that is a poor assumption. Regardless, the signal strength at my particular location is abysmal for AT&T and T-mobile. Usually -115dB or worse for LTE so I generally just keep LTE turned off since it drops down there about 90% of the time anyway and it is faster even when I get an LTE signal. Luckily, the WiFi speeds are great.
August West is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:24 PM   #1319
heyyitssusan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Just got Verizon. Wow, I'm impressed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1644.png
Views:	6
Size:	892.8 KB
ID:	527533  
heyyitssusan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:26 PM   #1320
BeSweeet
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 
Send a message via Skype™ to BeSweeet
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyyitssusan View Post
Just got Verizon. Wow, I'm impressed.
Don't use all your data at once now .
__________________
- Space Gray iPhone 6 Plus [T-Mobile/unlocked, 16GB, iOS 8.1.2]
Twitter | Homepage
BeSweeet is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:33 PM   #1321
shante1012
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Send a message via MSN to shante1012 Send a message via Yahoo to shante1012
Jacksonville,FL
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	336.1 KB
ID:	527537  
__________________
Macbook Air 11.6 inch 2012 4Gb Ram 64 GB SSD
shante1012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:50 PM   #1322
BeSweeet
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
 
Send a message via Skype™ to BeSweeet
Quote:
Originally Posted by shante1012 View Post
Jacksonville,FL
Seems like more sites are getting backhaul upgrades (finally).
BeSweeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:51 PM   #1323
heyyitssusan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeSweeet View Post
Don't use all your data at once now .
I'll try not to.. it'll be hard with these speeds
heyyitssusan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
iphone 5, lte, speed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post your LTE speeds in the Houston area determined09 iPhone 2 Nov 22, 2012 08:57 AM
Post Sprint Data Speeds LTE/3G ty7u5 iPhone 22 Oct 31, 2012 12:35 AM
Post Your Sprint LTE speeds and location! negrohero9 iPhone 16 Oct 18, 2012 04:22 PM
AT&T LTE speeds vs. Verizon LTE speeds PBF iPhone 54 Sep 28, 2012 02:42 PM
Canadian LTE speeds (Carrier, Location, Speed) thearc iPhone 0 Sep 23, 2012 06:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC