Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 04:38 AM   #1
serkan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Turkey
How to connect the app to telephone

Hello there programmers

I am really new and into this business with a friend of mine and we would like to publish an app together with him.It will be a very basic one and easy to use.But there is one problem that I couldnt solve.We would like to connect the app to the phone.I mean in the app when the client hits the name tag it will automaticly switches to the phone and dials that number and calls it.It must be easy as like, the client of the app have to click the name and put the phone into his ear and talk.How can we do this ? Any ideas ?

It could sound really stupid question but I hope we will get a good begginers answer

P.S : My friend know some C and C++ will it bwe helpfull for us to create a basic app ?

Thanx all
serkan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 06:09 AM   #2
jnoxx
macrumors 65816
 
jnoxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
There is a telephone link in the Xcode SDK (Cocoa Touch API).
In about 4 seconds of google search, you get this ->
Code:
-(IBAction)callPhone:(id)sender {
    [[UIApplication sharedApplication] openURL:[NSURL URLWithString:@"tel:2135554321"]];
}
It will open the tel: scheme -> including the number, so it just has to press the button and it will call it
__________________

iPad Mini, iPad 4, iPad 2, iPhone 3G,4,5, iMac 24", Mac Mini Last gen, Macbook Pro Retina with Dell U2711
jnoxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 06:42 AM   #3
serkan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Turkey
Thanx a lot
serkan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:19 AM   #4
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by serkan View Post
I mean in the app when the client hits the name tag it will automaticly switches to the phone and dials that number and calls it.
Just to be clear, jnoxx's solution only brings up the call interface with the number filled-in; the user must still press a button to make the actual call. There is no way with the iOS SDK to have an app call automatically.
__________________
dejo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 11:01 AM   #5
amorya
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
Just to be clear, jnoxx's solution only brings up the call interface with the number filled-in; the user must still press a button to make the actual call. There is no way with the iOS SDK to have an app call automatically.
I don't think that's correct. I'm using it in one of my apps and it does actually initiate the call, with no user confirmation required.
amorya is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 11:15 AM   #6
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by amorya View Post
I don't think that's correct. I'm using it in one of my apps and it does actually initiate the call, with no user confirmation required.
Well, I'll be damned. You're right! Maybe they've changed that since I last remember trying it. Anyways, good news for the OP!
__________________
dejo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 12:52 PM   #7
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
Well, I'll be damned. You're right! Maybe they've changed that since I last remember trying it. Anyways, good news for the OP!
As a user, that sounds like an issue to me. Actions like calling shouldn't be possible with a single accidental tap.
ArtOfWarfare is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:35 PM   #8
serkan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Turkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
As a user, that sounds like an issue to me. Actions like calling shouldn't be possible with a single accidental tap.
Actually its not going to be a accidental tap.You have to open the program first and then you should choose and call.Actually the program will be based on calling so the person who opens the program will open it to call So no accidental D: I am sorry that I dont tell the app When it comes out I hope you will see it and use it then you ll understand why I say its not accidental
serkan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:47 PM   #9
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by serkan View Post
Actually its not going to be a accidental tap.You have to open the program first and then you should choose and call.Actually the program will be based on calling so the person who opens the program will open it to call So no accidental D: I am sorry that I dont tell the app When it comes out I hope you will see it and use it then you ll understand why I say its not accidental
You're not making an app that's equivalent to the Favorites tab of the built-in Phone app, are you?
__________________
dejo is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:56 PM   #10
serkan
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Turkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
You're not making an app that's equivalent to the Favorites tab of the built-in Phone app, are you?

Nope sir

It's a secret

I live in Turkey and the app that I will make is really important for our country but I dont know will it be that important for other countries.First I will publish it for Turkish Apple Store and further more I do researches I will publish it for other countries as well
serkan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 08:24 AM   #11
jnoxx
macrumors 65816
 
jnoxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Aartselaar // Antwerp // Belgium
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
Well, I'll be damned. You're right! Maybe they've changed that since I last remember trying it. Anyways, good news for the OP!
I think they changed that in iOS 6, and I also think there is a difference between a NEW number or one that's in your contacts library, but I can't confirm 100% So this aint legit
__________________

iPad Mini, iPad 4, iPad 2, iPhone 3G,4,5, iMac 24", Mac Mini Last gen, Macbook Pro Retina with Dell U2711
jnoxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
telephone connection bluebird3 Community Discussion 2 Oct 24, 2013 03:37 PM
App Store works on iPhone 5 running beta 2, but iPad mini can't connect to App Store Jimmie Geddes iOS 7 1 Jul 6, 2013 01:39 AM
Safari can't connect to server, App store wont connect - Google Chrome/Spotify ok! rchip OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jan 7, 2013 08:58 AM
Edit Number on telephone app hrv888 iPhone 3 Oct 31, 2012 09:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC