Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:00 PM   #1
Dr. Stealth
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Apricorn Velocity Solo X2 and Boot Camp with Win 7 x64 = Endless Rebooting Loop

Is anyone successfully using a Velocity Solo X2 to boot Windows with Boot Camp ?

I asked Apricorn about this and they emailed me back that there were some "issues" that they were trying to work out. But that's all they told me and were very vauge.

So, I went ahead and bought one. I have two fresh SSD's, one with Win 8 x64 and one with Win 7 x64 installed. Both SSD's boot fine when in my 2010 MP drive bays. Neither will boot successfully when installed in the Velocity Solo X2. The Apricorn BIOS comes and goes then Windows looks like it's going to start but then it crashes and reboots my mac. Endless loop….

Just wondering if anyone has been successful doing this ?

Thanks !
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:41 PM   #2
brentsg
macrumors 68030
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I'm about to head down this path. I was initially going to buy 3 of these but I guess I'll go for two, with using an internal slot for bootcamp if necessary.

I'll let you know how it goes when I test it out.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 01:47 AM   #3
Dr. Stealth
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Silence.....

Okay... The silence on this issue say's a lot. I believe no one is running Windows 7 or 8 on the Velocity Solo X2.

I have tried every way conceivable to make it happen and it just won't.

I have an email into Apricorn tech support and will let you know what they have to say if and when they respond.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 03:48 PM   #4
bljwk1999
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Did you find out anything?

IM having the same issue.... i ordered an original x1 for mac last year, and it would not boot into mac but it would boot into win 7 64. I sent it back..... now i figured i would try with the x2. now mac side works, 64 win 7 does not.... have you tried reload of windows with the apricon x2?
bljwk1999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 04:27 PM   #5
MacProFreak
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
For now, you need to shut down the computer, turn it on again under OS-X and make sure the startup disk is the OS-X one, even if it is on an apricorn or not. After that, restart under OS-X again and shut down via the apple menu.

Turn the computer on again, and immediately after the EFI chime hold the option key pressed. Wait for the boot options to appear on the screen and choose your windows boot disk (on apricorn in this case).

It should boot into windows, after the posting of the apricorn card(s) being detected.

You have to always shut down the computer completely through OS-X when this problem comes back. And the bad news is it will always come back when you shut down via windows, or use restart on any of the two OSs. The only way to avoid this annoyance is to always shut down via OS-X prior to booting into Windows on apricorn via option key. I think something necessary gets written in the EFI partition during the OS-X shut down procedure, but not during the windows shut down procedure or any restart.

There is no solution for this as of now.
MacProFreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 08:43 AM   #6
ghislain
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Solution?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Stealth View Post
Is anyone successfully using a Velocity Solo X2 to boot Windows with Boot Camp ?

I asked Apricorn about this and they emailed me back that there were some "issues" that they were trying to work out. But that's all they told me and were very vauge.

So, I went ahead and bought one. I have two fresh SSD's, one with Win 8 x64 and one with Win 7 x64 installed. Both SSD's boot fine when in my 2010 MP drive bays. Neither will boot successfully when installed in the Velocity Solo X2. The Apricorn BIOS comes and goes then Windows looks like it's going to start but then it crashes and reboots my mac. Endless loop….

Just wondering if anyone has been successful doing this ?

Thanks !
I have an Apricorn velocity 2 in my 2010 Mac Pro. Initially, I had attached on it 1 SSD with Mountain Lion and another one with bootcamp Win 7. Boot on Lion was fine but boot on Win 7 always failed. I have now found that if I only attach the Win 7 SSD on Apricorn card and lion SSD on another SATA III PCIe card, windows boots now normally, as well as Lion. I also discovered that if you have another partion windows on a regular drive bay, Win 7 boot on SSD becomes again impossible. Therefore, it seems that windows' boot on Apricorn attached SSD succeeds if no MacOs Lion is also connected to the Velocity solo 2 and also if no other windows partition seats in a regular bay.
ghislain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 09:29 AM   #7
bsbeamer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Apparently there's a driver conflict issue on some of the X2's when being used in combination with USB3 or USB3/eSATA PCIe cards. Maybe the same issue occurs with multiple X2's? I don't have one to test, only going from reports from other people. Not sure that's playing a role here with Win7, but might be something to consider.
bsbeamer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2013, 02:51 AM   #8
nox-uk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I have one of these cards, with one SSD on it. It's got Mac OS and windows 8 boot camped running on it fine. Leaving all 4 interal bays free for 3.5" data disks

Nox
nox-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2013, 01:49 PM   #9
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
My experience is:

I have 2 Velocity Solo x2 cards, one with OS X SSD, and one with Windows-8 SSD. Either card by itself will boot and run fine. However if both cards are installed at the same time, the Windows-8 will not boot fully (starts to boot, then displays "Boot drive not found".

I am currently running (Mac Pro 5,1) with OS X on a Sonnet Pro card (RAID-0) and Windows-8 on the Solo x2 card. I also have the CalDigit USB3/eSATA card installed with no ill effects.


-howard
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 02:43 AM   #10
nox-uk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I didn't say it didn't take a little work to get windows 8 booting :P

try running the windows 8 repair tool.

Nox
nox-uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Dual boot CONFIRMED for new Apricorn Velocity DUO X2!!! BDM STUDIOS NL Mac Pro 194 Today 11:32 AM
BootCamp problem with Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 snarfquest Mac Pro 16 Mar 7, 2014 09:53 AM
Apricorn Velocity V2 solo in 2012 MP Marty62 Mac Pro 13 Feb 27, 2014 03:37 PM
Apricorn Velocity Solo Mac Edition - Don't recognize under win7 bootcamp partition Khendal Mac Pro 13 Jul 11, 2012 04:27 PM
Apricorn Velocity Solo Pinwheeling and freezing albert1028 Mac Pro 5 Jul 4, 2012 08:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC