Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 3, 2012, 04:48 PM   #1
matteusclement
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
Convert my lenses to Macro - CANON

I need to allow my current lenses to shoot macro. Is there an attachment for that? I do NOT need auto focus as it is for video. What kind of part would I need to do that?
I have a canon 50mm 1.8 and a sigma 30mm 1.4
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2012, 04:51 PM   #2
fitshaced
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteusclement View Post
I need to allow my current lenses to shoot macro. Is there an attachment for that? I do NOT need auto focus as it is for video. What kind of part would I need to do that?
I have a canon 50mm 1.8 and a sigma 30mm 1.4
Kenko extension tubes
__________________
Lots of stuff.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/picsbykev/
fitshaced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2012, 04:56 PM   #3
VaughnA
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Raynox Macro Adapters do a surprising job. Just make sure to select the correct one for your lens focal length.
VaughnA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2012, 05:08 PM   #4
Old Smuggler
macrumors 6502a
 
Old Smuggler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
You should get it
Old Smuggler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2012, 08:21 PM   #5
matteusclement
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaughnA View Post
Raynox Macro Adapters do a surprising job. Just make sure to select the correct one for your lens focal length.
i don't follow. what do you mean?
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2012, 09:30 PM   #6
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteusclement View Post
I need to allow my current lenses to shoot macro. Is there an attachment for that? I do NOT need auto focus as it is for video. What kind of part would I need to do that?
I have a canon 50mm 1.8 and a sigma 30mm 1.4
There are two ways to go

(1) extension tubes, these are just hollow tubs with lens mounts that go between the lens and body

(2) screw-on diopters. These look and work like filters. More like "reading glasses" Both Canon and Nikon make good version of this and either brand works on either camera. Many others make them too but the Canon or nikon brand is the best
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2012, 01:27 PM   #7
Vudoo
macrumors 6502a
 
Vudoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas Metroplex
If you don't need true macro, but just close-up then I would recommend the Canon 500D close-up lens to convert your existing lenses.

By the way, which Victoria are you in?
Vudoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2012, 01:57 PM   #8
matteusclement
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
matteusclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: victoria
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vudoo View Post
If you don't need true macro, but just close-up then I would recommend the Canon 500D close-up lens to convert your existing lenses.

By the way, which Victoria are you in?
I have a canon t2i I am using.
VIctoria, BC, Canada.

I think I am going to look at the tubes first.
__________________
try this:
take an empty pop can, place it on the floor, smash it flat, now try to pull it back to how it was.
see how it looks like crap? that's called compression
matteusclement is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2012, 11:36 AM   #9
theheyes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester
I can definitely recommend kenko tubes, they work great with the 50 1.8. I took the following with the above on the 500D body (t1i)

Flower Macro Photography
__________________
Photo Blog
theheyes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2012, 12:05 PM   #10
righteye
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: London
Not cheap but cheaper than a full on macro lens but some big magnification possible.
Fancied one of these myself but not got around to it ( have 2 macro lenses of different focal lengths) probably why

http://www.speedgraphic.co.uk/closeu...os/8499_p.html
righteye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 01:31 PM   #11
breezie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Just get a reverse adapter. It'll mount your nifty fifty backwards on the camera and magically give you macro shots for $7.

http://www.amazon.com/Fotodiox-Filte...d=X6GU1GFKK576
breezie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Canon Lenses Kebabselector Digital Photography 16 May 25, 2014 10:28 AM
Canon refurbished store for lenses Puckman Digital Photography 10 Sep 11, 2013 01:44 AM
Canon Lenses w/ stablization - feedback? matteusclement Digital Video 2 Feb 25, 2013 12:18 PM
First investment lenses for Canon DSLR? ijohn.8.80 Digital Photography 23 Dec 16, 2012 08:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC