Mac Mini as NAS - Page 2 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:29 PM   #26
tokyojerry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Link Aggregation on DS 412+ NAS; HDD Slow Start from Sleep

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
The DS413+

Thoughts, I had a DS412+ and sold it (had 4 2TB Seagates in RAID)
1. It's very slow to startup from sleep, seems staggered HDD power up was the reason.
2. The Link Aggregation mode for very fast transfer rates isn't going to work on anything without dual GigE (iMacs or MacBooks). So your transfer speed is limited to 75mbps (the limit of a single GigE port)
Hi Bill. Hey, thanks for the heads up on link aggregation. So, DS412+ seems to be the only model in that category of NAS that has the Link Aggregation capability and the dual GigE. Any other model you'd recommend then as an alternative? On Link Aggregation, if my understanding of this concept is correct (still new to NAS stuff) it implies I can use 2 Gigabit ethernet ports aggregated together for greater i/o? And, if so, is it difficult to configure or setup? If the slow start up from sleep is the only issue, I would imagine that would be the issue with any NAS device you buy, would it not? Thanks...
tokyojerry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 12:42 AM   #27
kiantech
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I use my macmini with OSX server for time machine, sharing (NAS), and a plex media server. Great device, but obviously not cheap.
kiantech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:25 AM   #28
OmegaRed1723
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Waste
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Can you recommend one?
I used the Gefen HDMI Detective. It wasn't cheap, but it was less expensive than buying a dedicated monitor for a machine that sits in a closet.
OmegaRed1723 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:17 PM   #29
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaRed1723 View Post
I used the Gefen HDMI Detective. It wasn't cheap, but it was less expensive than buying a dedicated monitor for a machine that sits in a closet.
I've done some research into the problem. HW acceleration (specifically Quartz Extreme) is not enabled when no monitor is detected. This lack of acceleration really hurts screen sharing performance. By spoofing a monitor, you are enabling QE.

I've also read you can force QE to be enabled by running Quartz Debug. This information is very old though. I downloaded Xcode last night from the app store and will give it a try tonight to see if that trick still works. If it does, I'll just add Quartz Debug to the startup list.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:09 PM   #30
OmegaRed1723
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Waste
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
I've done some research into the problem. HW acceleration (specifically Quartz Extreme) is not enabled when no monitor is detected. This lack of acceleration really hurts screen sharing performance. By spoofing a monitor, you are enabling QE.

I've also read you can force QE to be enabled by running Quartz Debug. This information is very old though. I downloaded Xcode last night from the app store and will give it a try tonight to see if that trick still works. If it does, I'll just add Quartz Debug to the startup list.
I had mentioned in my original post that QE is disabled when no monitor is present. Running the Debug used to be able to trick the system; however, that no longer works. The only way to enable QE is to either connect a monitor or spoof the EDID.
OmegaRed1723 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:24 PM   #31
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaRed1723 View Post
Running the Debug used to be able to trick the system; however, that no longer works. The only way to enable QE is to either connect a monitor or spoof the EDID.
I started Quartz Debug, marked the checkbox for "Enable Quartz Extreme" and "Force QuartzGL".

I initially saw no improvement. But I closed the screen sharing window and then reconnected. It's a night and day difference. I'm happy.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 09:11 AM   #32
ReggaeFire
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Is there any way to get the Enable Quartz Extreme and Force QuartzGL settings to autoenable after a reboot? I have to go in and start them after every reboot (which, admittedly, isn't often)
ReggaeFire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 09:27 AM   #33
tokyojerry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Cheap Not Necessarily the best.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReggaeFire View Post
Is there any way to get the Enable Quartz Extreme and Force QuartzGL settings to autoenable after a reboot? I have to go in and start them after every reboot (which, admittedly, isn't often)

Neither is a BMW cheap.
tokyojerry is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAS or Mac Mini? mneblett Mac Peripherals 9 Mar 20, 2014 03:43 AM
Mac Mini as a NAS and more...... RienduPre Mac mini 8 Nov 26, 2013 09:21 AM
NAS and Mac Mini Darius17 Buying Tips and Advice 4 Jun 15, 2013 07:43 AM
NAS + ATV, NAS + Mac Mini, or Mac Mini alone for music? mcdj Digital Audio 3 Apr 17, 2013 06:44 PM
Sell NAS for Mac Mini? Ifti Mac mini 13 Oct 21, 2012 05:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC