Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2013, 09:55 AM   #1
Sid1397
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Exclamation Updating Jailbroken Factory Unlocked IPhone 3GS to iOS 6

I have a factory unlocked iPhone 3GS with iOS 4.1 Jailbroken with Cydia. When I am updating to iOS 6 I am getting stuck in initial setup . It says that no cellular network found . I have restored it to iOS 4.1 but pls help how to update to iOS 6.1 !!!!
Sid1397 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 11:44 AM   #2
Tyler23
macrumors 601
 
Tyler23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid1397 View Post
I have a factory unlocked iPhone 3GS with iOS 4.1 Jailbroken with Cydia. When I am updating to iOS 6 I am getting stuck in initial setup . It says that no cellular network found . I have restored it to iOS 4.1 but pls help how to update to iOS 6.1 !!!!
You have to update through iTunes on a computer. You can't update a jailbroken phone OTA. If you're trying through a computer already, then I'm not sure.
Tyler23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 12:31 PM   #3
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid1397 View Post
I have a factory unlocked iPhone 3GS with iOS 4.1 Jailbroken with Cydia. When I am updating to iOS 6 I am getting stuck in initial setup . It says that no cellular network found . I have restored it to iOS 4.1 but pls help how to update to iOS 6.1 !!!!
You would need the SHSH saved for iOS 6.1 to restore. Otherwise iOS 6.1.3 is your only option to go to.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 01:55 PM   #4
Tyler23
macrumors 601
 
Tyler23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid1397 View Post
I have a factory unlocked iPhone 3GS with iOS 4.1 Jailbroken with Cydia. When I am updating to iOS 6 I am getting stuck in initial setup . It says that no cellular network found . I have restored it to iOS 4.1 but pls help how to update to iOS 6.1 !!!!
PsstGreek is right, I didn't read your post fully. Unless you have the SHSH blobs saved, you cannot update to 6.1. The only option would be updating to 6.1.3 through iTunes.
Tyler23 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 10:04 AM   #5
Sid1397
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
No , this isn't the problem !!! When iOS 6 had'nt released the also it was'nt updating to iOS 5 !! Same problem !! Any solutions !! Is there a problem with the baseband or something !!
Sid1397 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 10:26 AM   #6
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid1397 View Post
No , this isn't the problem !!! When iOS 6 had'nt released the also it was'nt updating to iOS 5 !! Same problem !! Any solutions !! Is there a problem with the baseband or something !!
Dude, calm down Do you have the iPad baseband (6.15.00) on your 3GS?

You probably couldn't upgrade to iOS 5 when you wanted because Apple wasn't signing it anymore, just like they aren't signing 6.1
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 10:50 AM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Sounds like its NOT factory unlocked.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 01:47 PM   #8
Sid1397
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Yes the iPad baseband !!! Is the problem related to it !! I bought it from apple factory unlocked !!
Sid1397 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 07:47 PM   #9
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
why do you have the iPad baseband on a factory unlocked iPhone?...OMFG
apollo1444 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 09:08 AM   #10
PsstGreek
macrumors 68040
 
PsstGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid1397 View Post
Yes the iPad baseband !!! Is the problem related to it !! I bought it from apple factory unlocked !!
What's with all the !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?

If you bought the iPhone already factory unlocked, why put the iPad baseband on it? Now, you need to use redsn0w to take it off.
__________________
iMac + iPhone 6 (4.7) + rMini
PsstGreek is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: How to backup and restore jailbreak unlocked (not factory unlocked) iphone 3Gs nEO5592 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Apr 19, 2014 05:53 AM
iPhone: Possible to upgrade iOS on 3GS that was jailbroken, unlocked last year? Little-Acorn Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Aug 26, 2013 03:02 PM
Updating and using factory unlocked iPhone 5 with T-Mobile ansabakhan iPhone 7 Apr 11, 2013 02:27 PM
Iphone 3gs Jail Broken, Unlocked now Factory Unlocked kiwibro111 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 23, 2013 09:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC