Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:27 PM   #1
gwelmarten
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England!
Xcode doesn't make View Controllers by default anymore

Hi

I've had a couple of Mac Apps on the go for the last couple of years. Now I want to make a new one.

Problem is, when I make a new Cocoa app in Xcode for OS X, it only gives me the appDelegate.h/m and MainWindow.xib (which has as a sub file 'Window - [AppName]', with a view inside it.

When I've made my apps before, I've had View Controllers referring to each view on OSX. Why has this changed? How do I set Xcode up again to do this?

Thanks,

Sam
gwelmarten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:07 PM   #2
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwelmarten View Post
Hi

I've had a couple of Mac Apps on the go for the last couple of years. Now I want to make a new one.

Problem is, when I make a new Cocoa app in Xcode for OS X, it only gives me the appDelegate.h/m and MainWindow.xib (which has as a sub file 'Window - [AppName]', with a view inside it.

When I've made my apps before, I've had View Controllers referring to each view on OSX. Why has this changed? How do I set Xcode up again to do this?

Thanks,

Sam
File > New File > Objective-C Class > Subclass of NSWindowController (Check "XIB for user interface").
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
24" Asus display


"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:41 PM   #3
gwelmarten
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: England!
Quote:
Originally Posted by xShane View Post
File > New File > Objective-C Class > Subclass of NSWindowController (Check "XIB for user interface").
Yes, but then this XIB isn't automatically used when the application is built and run, like used to happen when it made them automatically.
gwelmarten is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 04:14 PM   #4
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwelmarten View Post
Yes, but then this XIB isn't automatically used when the application is built and run, like used to happen when it made them automatically.
Make sure the window appears at start up (you can do so in the inspector panel to the right).
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
24" Asus display


"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Tags
default, new app, setup, view controller, xcode

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xcode.. Please help!!! [How to make half-view appear] Phloxx1 iPhone/iPad Programming 8 Feb 7, 2014 08:15 PM
Xcode: Can you assign all similar views and controllers the same subclass using code? moonman239 iPhone/iPad Programming 1 Feb 27, 2013 12:17 AM
make bash the default shell for xcode? BerGaur OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jan 15, 2013 09:48 AM
Pushing to a Detail View from a Table View Cell using Xcode Storyboard xcodeApp10 iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Sep 17, 2012 04:45 PM
Passing Data between View Controllers : from uitableview to a details view controller EliasRahme iPhone/iPad Programming 7 Jul 20, 2012 09:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC