Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 9, 2013, 04:01 PM   #1
JRKyte
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Time Machine back up with Airdisk (Airport Extreme)

I have an Airport extreme (assuming newest model, I got it for christmas), connected to it I have a belking powered USB hub, and connected to that I have 2 1TB hard drives.

I want to use one of those hard drives for a wireless time machine back up, but here at university my wifi is so slow it says it will take 7 days to do the initial back up, I've tried to let it do this 3 times, but overtime it disconnects at some point. Today is the furthest I've got at 6 days remaining, then the connection was lost and the back up fails - meaning I have to start over!

I have an ethernet cable which I have plugged into the aiport and my mac, as apparently this allows you to do the initial backup over the ethernet (which shouldnt be effected by the internet cutting out?) and also ethernet is a lot faster than wifi i'm told.

However, it doesn't seem to be using the ethernet connection as, like i've said, it just cut out on me, and also the back was still going to take a week.

How do I make it connect over ethernet, but then after this, use wifi to make back ups?

The airport extreme is part of my wifi network by the way, not the router where the internet is plugged in.

Thanks in advance

Jon
JRKyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 03:06 PM   #2
daerve
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
If you go the networking section in system preferences you can check if it's connected via ethernet and also by clicking the config icon under the left menu you can change the hierarchy of what is used. Most likely wifi is set as the priority.
daerve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 03:53 PM   #3
JRKyte
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Awesome, thanks i'll try that out!
JRKyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 09:41 AM   #4
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
If you read the blog Configuring OS X Mountain Lion Time Machine to Work With CIFS (SMB) Share. So just mount and format the external for Mac OS X Extended and use Disk Utility to create 1 partition for MAC OS Extended (Journaled). The follow the steps in the link (that I listed earlier) and set the sparse bundle on the drive.

This should work, Good Luck.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 02:06 PM   #5
JRKyte
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by satcomer View Post
If you read the blog Configuring OS X Mountain Lion Time Machine to Work With CIFS (SMB) Share. So just mount and format the external for Mac OS X Extended and use Disk Utility to create 1 partition for MAC OS Extended (Journaled). The follow the steps in the link (that I listed earlier) and set the sparse bundle on the drive.

This should work, Good Luck.
My external drive is formatted to OS Extended (Journaled) already.

So then do I just follow the link?

Thanks for the help!
JRKyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 07:26 PM   #6
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRKyte View Post
My external drive is formatted to OS Extended (Journaled) already.

So then do I just follow the link?

Thanks for the help!
Then just go with making the spares bundle and go on from there to make the permission on in the steps after making the bundle. Just make sure you have the disk mounted on your Mac.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Time Machine be connected to AirPort Extreme? Jonathanm1222 Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 10, 2013 10:01 PM
Concerning the unreliability of Time Machine over Airport Extreme FordUniver Mac Peripherals 0 Nov 25, 2012 05:32 AM
Time Machine and Airport Extreme Question precator Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Nov 19, 2012 10:00 AM
Time Machine via Airport Extreme Problems (that old chesnut) tekilla Mac Peripherals 8 Sep 28, 2012 12:06 PM
Time Machine and Airport Extreme Question kpress3 Mac Peripherals 3 Jul 25, 2012 01:29 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC