Network Attached Storage or a Time Capsule? - Page 2 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:34 PM   #26
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by drsox View Post
For what ?
Because I don't understand how you have your HDD's hooked up to your router?
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:36 AM   #27
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbb77 View Post

I personally have the ReadyNas Ultra 6 plus

Here is a good site that I used in my research. They have quite a bit of reviews on the different NAS devices as well as benchmark them. This way you can compare performance which is also important.

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas

Good luck in your decision.
I have this also.
I agree about Smallnetbuilder.com. Useful for all stuff wrt networking. I have used this for routers and switches also.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinggus View Post
Because I don't understand how you have your HDD's hooked up to your router?
OK.

I don't have my HDDs hooked up to a router. What I have is the following :

Modem>Airport Extreme router>LAN>Switch>LAN>Switch>ReadyNAS with 5 drives + ReadyNAS with 2 drives.

Accessing the ReadyNAS by LAN are 2x Win7 PCs, 3x NeoTV video streamers and 6x Sonos audio streamers.
Accessing the ReadyNAS by WiFi through the AExtreme are 2x iPhones, iPad and MacBook Air.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:23 AM   #28
dinggus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by drsox View Post
I don't have my HDDs hooked up to a router. What I have is the following :

Modem>Airport Extreme router>LAN>Switch>LAN>Switch>ReadyNAS with 5 drives + ReadyNAS with 2 drives.

Accessing the ReadyNAS by LAN are 2x Win7 PCs, 3x NeoTV video streamers and 6x Sonos audio streamers.
Accessing the ReadyNAS by WiFi through the AExtreme are 2x iPhones, iPad and MacBook Air.
Guess I read it wrong, sorry.

Can I just get this?
http://www.netgear.com/home/products...3500l.aspx#two

With like a USB Hub, and connect it to the USB on the router?
dinggus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 09:25 AM   #29
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinggus View Post
Guess I read it wrong, sorry.

Can I just get this?
http://www.netgear.com/home/products...3500l.aspx#two

With like a USB Hub, and connect it to the USB on the router?
Yes, I would think so. You would then be able to access each drive separately. I have no experience of USB drives connected to a router, so can't advise on what performance etc you would get.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 09:31 AM   #30
anarti
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scotland
I'm running SYnology DS211j as my storage server and I got 600Gb attached to time machine just for 1 mac.

Solid performance, 0 issues.
anarti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 09:34 AM   #31
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I've got a DS212j and it's great. No issues, fantastic OS.

FYI the benchmarks on SmallNetBuilder for high end NAS's like the ReadyNas Ultra 6 plus use Link Aggregation and Jumbo frames. That requires dual GigE Ethernet cards on your PC (possible) or Mac (not likely). You also need a managed GigE switch. Without Link Aggregation you're transfer speeds are limited to about 70Gb. Jumbo frame support was sketchy on some iMacs YMMV.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog

Last edited by blueroom; Feb 1, 2013 at 09:48 AM.
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:36 AM   #32
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
I've got a DS212j and it's great. No issues, fantastic OS.

FYI the benchmarks on SmallNetBuilder for high end NAS's like the ReadyNas Ultra 6 plus use Link Aggregation and Jumbo frames. That requires dual GigE Ethernet cards on your PC (possible) or Mac (not likely). You also need a managed GigE switch. Without Link Aggregation you're transfer speeds are limited to about 70Gb. Jumbo frame support was sketchy on some iMacs YMMV.
Since actually I have an Ultra6+ (better than the Ultra6), I might be qualified to pass some actual judgement on ReadyNAS performance. I also have 2 ProPioneers (previous name for the same hardware).

A real world example is to/from my MBA through the TB/GbLAN adaptor and the ProPioneer. Data rates above 100MBps are normal. These rates are using a 1GB test file through a GB switch - GS108tV2.

My transfer speeds are without Jumbo Frames and without Link Aggregation.

Further rates through this Gbit switch between 2 Win7 PCs come to about 100MBps. When I am doing some real world work with varied file sizes, then the rate falls to 80+MBps. This is data transfer up/down the chain : ProPioneer>Switch>Switch>Win7 PC>Switch>Ultra6+. Rates also vary if I am Reading or Writing. Curiously for RAIDX2, Write rates are higher than Read rates. Transfers to/from 5 or 6 drive arrays are faster than between 5/6 drive arrays and 2 drive arrays.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:47 AM   #33
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Yes I put Gb where I should have put MBps. 70MBps to 80MBps are typical for decent NAS's using a single GigE port. 100MBps is exceptional.

If we look at the OPs post they're unlikely to need anything so powerful as a quad bay RAID NAS. A single bay NAS like the DS112j ~$150 plus a 3TB HDD (why not they're cheap) would probably fit the bill.

PS drsox any reason you're not using Jumbo frames? I don't because my old iMac doesn't support it.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 11:03 AM   #34
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Yes I put Gb where I should have put MBps. 70MBps to 80MBps are typical for decent NAS's using a single GigE port. 100MBps is exceptional.

If we look at the OPs post they're unlikely to need anything so powerful as a quad bay RAID NAS. A single bay NAS like the DS112j ~$150 plus a 3TB HDD (why not they're cheap) would probably fit the bill.

PS drsox any reason you're not using Jumbo frames? I don't because my old iMac doesn't support it.
I agree. A 2 bay NAS will be sufficient if RAID is required. Less if no RAID is desired.

I looked at Jumbo Frames for some time, but I have such a wide variation of stuff on my network I found that sometimes it was an actual hindrance. I have Gbit enabled and FastEthernet enabled devices trying to access the same data. Plus most of the time I'm dealing with small files where Frame packing/unpacking is a real overhead.

When I did test it between 100% compatible devices (Switch also), it didn't make much difference. The avoidance of aggro. made me decide to eliminate JF completely.
__________________
2014 13in MBA, 2014 i7 Mini, 2011 13in MBA, iPad2, iPhone5, iPhone4S.
Sonos System, NTV550s, ReadyNASs.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G5 as network attached storage? Beliblis PowerPC Macs 5 Jun 27, 2013 03:39 PM
Post your NAS (Network Attached Storage) Speed: anx239 Picture Gallery 23 Jun 2, 2013 04:56 AM
network attached storage vs time capsule uncleMonty Buying Tips and Advice 5 Feb 1, 2013 03:22 PM
Good Network Attached Storage Monkeychemist Mac Peripherals 4 Dec 19, 2012 10:58 AM
MacBook Pro External Hard Drive as Network Attached Storage nfg05 OS X 10 Nov 18, 2012 03:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC