Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2012, 01:25 PM   #1
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Small fanless PoE gigabit Smart Switch w/DHCP server ?

It's the built-in DHCP server part that is hard to find.

The DHCP server should allow for address reservations.

Fully managed would be OK, but it should still be small, fanless and not too expensive.

Around 8 ports.

Does this exist?

Thanks
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 02:32 PM   #2
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
We had some Cisco 2960s (WS-C2960-8TC-L) that worked very well. I believe they can run DHCP as you describe.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 03:02 PM   #3
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
The small 2960s do not provide PoE.

Do you know if it's possible to run a DHCP server in the SG200 or SG300?

Thanks
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 03:13 PM   #4
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
I don't think it's possible.

Maybe on the compact 3xxx, but they are expensive.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2012, 03:22 PM   #5
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Some of those are just way overpriced IMO.

The WS-C2960PD-8TT-L provides 1 PoE and the WS-C2960-24LC-S has 24 PoE. Sorry I missed that point.

The HP 1910 series may work, but I cannot find if they have an internal DHCP server. They do have a lifetime warranty though. We had a couple HP switches connecting an HPC cluster and had no issues with them.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 12:26 PM   #6
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
The WS-C2960PD-8TT-L is PoE input.

The manuals of the compact HPs don't talk about any DHCP server.

So, I was looking for an 8x gigabit PoE ethernet router or UTM and found nothing fitting.

My provider only supports their own QoS DSL router, so I want to ignore its lame DHCP server and only add 1 compact device.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 03:59 PM   #7
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
You might just be out of luck; I'm not sure anything like that is manufactured in an 8-port form factor.

Would it work to get a simple router to handle DHCP and connect to a gigabit switch w/PoE, something like the HP's mentioned above?
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 05:01 PM   #8
Ap0ks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
The WS-C2960PD-8TT-L is PoE input.

The manuals of the compact HPs don't talk about any DHCP server.

So, I was looking for an 8x gigabit PoE ethernet router or UTM and found nothing fitting.

My provider only supports their own QoS DSL router, so I want to ignore its lame DHCP server and only add 1 compact device.
Looks like a Juniper EX2200-C may fit the bill (well all except expensiveness), 12 gigabit ports, PoE and DHCP but it all comes at a cost
Ap0ks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 01:10 AM   #9
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Yes, I looked at Juniper, which is very interesting, but it is expensive.

It is a shame that the little Netgear doesn't have a DHCP server.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 01:22 AM   #10
SingaporeStu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Cisco SG200-08P. But only 4 ports are PoE (802.3af). Good news is they are Gigabit Ethernet ports. As for DHCP server, the data sheet says it supports only option 66 & 67 but there are other layer 2 switching options. Why don't you check the data sheet on the Cisco website? As for price, I don't think its gonna be cheap, but it shouldn't be more expensive than Juniper or such-like brands.

----------

Btw, just curious, what would you use the PoE for?
SingaporeStu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 10:51 AM   #11
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
I think I can just get the little Netgear GS110TP, and use the Airport Extreme's DHCP server, which supports reservations.
Then I can set up an ACL only allowing DHCP, printer, and internet for the untrusted VLAN.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 11:53 AM   #12
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Does anyone know a compact PoE UTM with around 8 gigabit ports?

Thanks
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 01:27 PM   #13
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by SingaporeStu View Post
Btw, just curious, what would you use the PoE for?
My guesses are phones or wireless APs.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 03:37 PM   #14
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Pros and cons of GS110TP vs SG200-08P ?

Thanks
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2012, 03:48 PM   #15
radiogoober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
Pros and cons of GS110TP vs SG200-08P ?

Thanks
I can't give you a pro/con, but I use a Cisco SG200-26, which is in the same class of Cisco switch that you're looking at, without the PoE, and I can say the switch is incredible. Zero issues whatsoever. I'm running a few ridiculous setups on it and it doesn't bat an eye. It just works.
radiogoober is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 10:34 AM   #16
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
It seems to me that the Netgear offers finer grained port filtering than the Cisco.
cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2012, 02:18 PM   #17
macman2023
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Send a message via AIM to macman2023
The most effective way to do what you describe is use a personal router behind the ISP equipment and set up your personal router as the DMZ device. You may also be able to disable the router function or request your ISP do this to allow for your own equipment. If this is something the ISP will do they would usually call it Bridge mode.

I can tell you I have a pair of the Netgear ProSafe GS108T's and they don't do DHCP, they are considered a Smart Switch which is closer to a managed switch than normal but still a far ways off.
macman2023 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 05:20 PM   #18
havosoki
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiogoober View Post
I can't give you a pro/con, but I use a Cisco SG200-26, which is in the same class of Cisco switch that you're looking at, without the PoE, and I can say the switch is incredible. Zero issues whatsoever. I'm running a few ridiculous setups on it and it doesn't bat an eye. It just works.
It can be a DHCP server as well?
havosoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 09:53 AM   #19
xnetprox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Any particular reason why it needs to have a built-in dhcp server?

I've used this POE switch from Panoptic Technology on a lot of my sites and it can do some pretty advanced VLAN management, which you can then link to a seperate DHCP server in your router: http://www.panoptictechnology.com/pse-8-smart-switch/

Alternatively, if you REALLY need to have the DHCP server as well, this little Mikrotik switch will do it for you: http://routerboard.com/RB750UP

It's only got 5 ports, but it's really cheap (~$60) so buy two if you need more. This one will only output 24V on each port though, so it's not truly 802.3af compliant. Normally POE is 48V. I'm sure there's POE adapters to step up the voltage if you need it, but it's definitely not an ideal solution.
xnetprox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reject Rogue DHCP server on MacOS hanskramer Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Oct 24, 2013 05:07 AM
10.8 Server - Deleting DHCP Leases theNodge OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Apr 22, 2013 12:33 AM
ATV3 with Gigabit ethernet switch question belarocks Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Oct 16, 2012 09:59 PM
Deep joy...the return of DHCP in server.app! Truffy Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Sep 24, 2012 02:38 AM
Small UTM with gigabit and simultaneous dual band? cube Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Jun 23, 2012 03:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC