Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:21 PM   #1
davideotape
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
App to use iPad as a second screen? The catch: not using Wi-Fi (wired solution?)

at home I have 2 screens set up in my workspace: my laptop and a larger external. when traveling i would LOVE to be able to bring my iPad and a latop with me and replicate the exact same workspace on a smaller scale, and not be beholden to being required to have the iPad and the MBP on the same network (or any network at all, preferably, to save $). don't want to use a wireless hotspot for that reason, too.

so is there a "wired" solution to this desire? anyone know of anything like this? seems impossible but i figured if anybody would know it's likely you people.
__________________
'13 15" MBPr; '13 11"MBA; iPhone 5; iPad Mini
davideotape is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:28 PM   #2
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
No wired solution for video I. On the iPad exists that I recall tho an airport express would solve the wifi issue for you.
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:06 PM   #3
davideotape
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
aaaahhhhh so an airport express as an internal network, yes, that should do nicely. for some reason i always attribute a wifi signal to needing an internet provider attached to it, but it doesn't necessarily need that, correct?
__________________
'13 15" MBPr; '13 11"MBA; iPhone 5; iPad Mini
davideotape is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:39 PM   #4
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by davideotape View Post
aaaahhhhh so an airport express as an internal network, yes, that should do nicely. for some reason i always attribute a wifi signal to needing an internet provider attached to it, but it doesn't necessarily need that, correct?
You don't even need that. You can always make an ad hoc network with your mac where you then could have the iPad connect to for display purposes
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:05 PM   #5
davideotape
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hmm. How's at now?
__________________
'13 15" MBPr; '13 11"MBA; iPhone 5; iPad Mini
davideotape is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:03 PM   #6
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Google ad hoc wifi network for Mac
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All iPads: Capturing every screen in ipad app without have to do a Home/Power screen capture johnmumbower iPad 1 Aug 22, 2013 02:58 PM
Capturing every screen in ipad app without have to do a Home/Power screen capture johnmumbower iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Aug 22, 2013 01:59 PM
iPad: Can iPad 2 catch viruses? latinspice15 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 25 Dec 25, 2012 11:06 PM
Conde Nast Makes 'Wired' Issue 1.1 Available on iPad App MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 18 Jun 5, 2012 10:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC