Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:29 AM   #26
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
LOL
Who told you that unlocking the CPU was "recommended"
If that is your friend, I would not talk to him.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:34 AM   #27
Freyqq
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
It has 4 physical cores and 4 virtual cores = 8 cores. That's it. There's no other cores to unlock.
Freyqq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:33 PM   #28
Squilly
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Squilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Maybe I was mistaken. Told to stress the cores? I dunno, saw it on Apple Support web site.
__________________
iPhone 5s 16gb Space Gray Sprint
Squilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:40 PM   #29
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squilly View Post
Maybe I was mistaken. Told to stress the cores? I dunno, saw it on Apple Support web site.
Nope. Your friend was wrong or he is joking. No need to "stress the cores".
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:53 PM   #30
tninety
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Banned!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Boyle View Post
What are you guys smoking tonight?
__________________
rMBP 2.7/16/512
tninety is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:56 PM   #31
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatt View Post
IT JUST KEEPS GOING ON.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Squilly View Post
Maybe I was mistaken. Told to stress the cores? I dunno, saw it on Apple Support web site.
You don't need to do that. I very much doubt it was on Apple Support pages.
Ploki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 05:13 PM   #32
Erasmus
macrumors 68020
 
Erasmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
Why is this thread still full of arguing and smart-arsery?

I'm sure your friend suggested you fully load all CPU cores, most likely to test your maximum temperatures.

The two methods of doing this that I would recommend is either downloading Handbrake, and converting a HD video with it (I know this can fully load 8 virtual cores), or opening 8 terminal windows, and typing "yes > /dev/null" in each.

Download iStat Pro, load your CPU to 800%, and watch the CPU temperatures and fan speeds. If your CPU temperature stays under 100˚C, you are fine.

EDIT: This will NOT damage your computer. If it does, it was faulty to begin with.
__________________
Had: 450 MHz G4 Cube, then 15" Dual 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro
Have: 17" Quad 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro, Home-built Windows 4.2 GHz, SLI 780 PC
Want: 2014 Retina iPad Mini
Erasmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 08:27 PM   #33
Squilly
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Squilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erasmus View Post
Why is this thread still full of arguing and smart-arsery?

I'm sure your friend suggested you fully load all CPU cores, most likely to test your maximum temperatures.

The two methods of doing this that I would recommend is either downloading Handbrake, and converting a HD video with it (I know this can fully load 8 virtual cores), or opening 8 terminal windows, and typing "yes > /dev/null" in each.

Download iStat Pro, load your CPU to 800%, and watch the CPU temperatures and fan speeds. If your CPU temperature stays under 100˚C, you are fine.

EDIT: This will NOT damage your computer. If it does, it was faulty to begin with.
I downloaded iStat Pro but dunno how to change settings/load. Umm... how? Nevermind. Just opened Photoshop, Illustrator, C4D, and 11 chess games. Everything seems okay.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 9.33.20 PM.png
Views:	24
Size:	690.4 KB
ID:	394786  
__________________
iPhone 5s 16gb Space Gray Sprint

Last edited by Squilly; Feb 5, 2013 at 08:35 PM.
Squilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:35 PM   #34
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squilly View Post
I downloaded iStat Pro but dunno how to change settings/load. Umm... how? Nevermind. Just opened Photoshop, Illustrator, C4D, and 11 chess games. Everything seems okay.
Thats nothing...
And if the CPU needs more power, they automatically go into turboboost mode.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:38 PM   #35
Squilly
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Squilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
Thats nothing...
And if the CPU needs more power, they automatically go into turboboost mode.
It's possible to stress the CPU over 100%?
__________________
iPhone 5s 16gb Space Gray Sprint
Squilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:41 PM   #36
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squilly View Post
It's possible to stress the CPU over 100%?
What do you mean you want to stress it over 100%?

If thats what you mean, try opening all of CS6 apps and render tons of video FCPX.
Run some games while you're at it.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:53 PM   #37
Squilly
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Squilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
What do you mean you want to stress it over 100%?

If thats what you mean, try opening all of CS6 apps and render tons of video FCPX.
Run some games while you're at it.
"Download iStat Pro, load your CPU to 800%, and watch the CPU temperatures and fan speeds. If your CPU temperature stays under 100˚C, you are fine."
__________________
iPhone 5s 16gb Space Gray Sprint
Squilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 01:24 AM   #38
Erasmus
macrumors 68020
 
Erasmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squilly View Post
"Download iStat Pro, load your CPU to 800%, and watch the CPU temperatures and fan speeds. If your CPU temperature stays under 100˚C, you are fine."
Firstly, Turbo Boost is completely invisible in OSX. It happens, but there is no way of seeing it. The clock speed can increase by as much as 50%, but full load is still 100%/800%.

I said 800% because some methods of calculating how much CPU is being used do it per virtual core, and others do not. For example, iStat Pro's "CPU" panel shows the percentage of all 8 virtual cores combined that are used, and therefore tops out at 100%. If you enable the "Processes" panel (somewhere in its options) it lists each process activity per virtual core, therefore tops out at 800%. It's the same thing, whether it's 8 chess processes at 100% each, or 1 Handbrake encode process at 800%.

So in summary, (based on that previous pic) you have now stress tested your machine, and your temps look fine.
__________________
Had: 450 MHz G4 Cube, then 15" Dual 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro
Have: 17" Quad 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro, Home-built Windows 4.2 GHz, SLI 780 PC
Want: 2014 Retina iPad Mini

Last edited by Erasmus; Feb 6, 2013 at 01:31 AM.
Erasmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 01:37 AM   #39
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squilly View Post
"Download iStat Pro, load your CPU to 800%, and watch the CPU temperatures and fan speeds. If your CPU temperature stays under 100˚C, you are fine."
Said above me as well but if you are encoding a vid and check activity monitor, it will probably be over 100% as well.
Unless you have windows on there, it is impossible to see if TurboBoost has engaged or not.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:06 AM   #40
duervo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
Said above me as well but if you are encoding a vid and check activity monitor, it will probably be over 100% as well.
Unless you have windows on there, it is impossible to see if TurboBoost has engaged or not.
The best you'll be able to get is by using the Intel Power Gadget. It displays Power Usage and CPU Frequency stats. If you know the TurboBoost value of your CPU, you can find out if it's been engaged by monitoring the frequency with the tool.

http://software.intel.com/en-us/arti...-power-gadget/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-02.jpeg
Views:	10
Size:	132.4 KB
ID:	394852  
duervo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:17 AM   #41
Valkyre
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
This thread is confusing as hell...

rmbp has 8 cores?? I thought a quad core means 4 cores and 8 threads...

what is all this thing about 8 cores?
Valkyre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:21 AM   #42
Puevlo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
CPUs are just like muscles. If you don't use them they undergo atrophy. Stress them often.
Puevlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 04:25 AM   #43
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejadedmonkey View Post
Couldn't you do that dev > null terminal command 8 times to max out the CPU?
yes > /dev/null &

run that a few times
__________________
Official MR IRC
Look at me, I'm own a bunch of things and everyone must know about every single one.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:06 PM   #44
Erasmus
macrumors 68020
 
Erasmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyre View Post
This thread is confusing as hell...

rmbp has 8 cores?? I thought a quad core means 4 cores and 8 threads...

what is all this thing about 8 cores?
A thread is a piece of software code that is executed by the CPU. It has nothing to do with hardware. A single CPU core normally can run one thread at a time.

Hyperthreading allows a single CPU core to often act as if it is running two threads simultaneously, via a little extra funky hardware. It therefore appears to software to be two cores; even though really, it's only one.

This means that as far as hardware is concerned, the 15" MBPs have a 4 core CPU. As far as software running on it is concerned, it has an 8 core CPU. And depending on how that software is threaded, the performance of the CPU can be anywhere between that of a single core, and 8 cores.

As a related note, TurboBoost is designed to allow the CPU to overclock one core by as much as 50% by idling the other 3 (real cores matter here) for running poorly threaded software faster than it would otherwise. Its second objective is to allow the entire 4 core CPU to overclock by a much lower margin, in order to dynamically push the performance of the CPU to the limits of the computer's thermal management system (the fans and heat sinks).
__________________
Had: 450 MHz G4 Cube, then 15" Dual 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro
Have: 17" Quad 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro, Home-built Windows 4.2 GHz, SLI 780 PC
Want: 2014 Retina iPad Mini
Erasmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:27 PM   #45
Erasmus
macrumors 68020
 
Erasmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
Quote:
Originally Posted by duervo View Post
The best you'll be able to get is by using the Intel Power Gadget. It displays Power Usage and CPU Frequency stats. If you know the TurboBoost value of your CPU, you can find out if it's been engaged by monitoring the frequency with the tool.

http://software.intel.com/en-us/arti...-power-gadget/
Thanks for linking this, I didn't know it existed!

Apparently my quad 2.2GHz CPU idles at 800MHz, runs 2 processes at 3GHz, runs 4 processes at 2.7GHz, and runs at full load (8 yes-dev-null processes) at 2.5GHz.

A few hundred MHz lower than the maximum TB levels, but still a nice, totally automatic overclock
I would be very interested to see how the new rMBPs fare.
__________________
Had: 450 MHz G4 Cube, then 15" Dual 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro
Have: 17" Quad 2.2 GHz MacBook Pro, Home-built Windows 4.2 GHz, SLI 780 PC
Want: 2014 Retina iPad Mini
Erasmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:36 PM   #46
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erasmus View Post
Thanks for linking this, I didn't know it existed!

Apparently my quad 2.2GHz CPU idles at 800MHz, runs 2 processes at 3GHz, runs 4 processes at 2.7GHz, and runs at full load (8 yes-dev-null processes) at 2.5GHz.

A few hundred MHz lower than the maximum TB levels, but still a nice, totally automatic overclock
I would be very interested to see how the new rMBPs fare.
Quad 2.7:
idles @1.20ghz.
1 @3.6 (should be 3.7 i believe)
2 @3.5
4 @3.5
8 @3.3
Ploki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 06:38 PM   #47
Ledgem
macrumors 6502a
 
Ledgem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast USA
What your friend most likely was talking about was CPU burn-in. This only applied to building your own computer. You would install the processor, apply thermal paste to the heat sink, then seat the heat sink to the processor, and run the processor at full load for a few hours to a day; the theory behind burning in was that the heat would help the thermal paste to settle, spread, and bond perfectly, which would result in the absolute optimum transfer of heat from the CPU to the heat sink.

There's some debate about whether burn-in was ever warranted, especially with modern thermal paste. Suffice it to say, burn-in doesn't apply to us (unless you're servicing your own Macbook Pro and are changing out the heat sink).

TL;DR: you don't need to stress your CPU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squilly View Post
It's possible to stress the CPU over 100%?
Depending on what program you're using to monitor core usage, yes. Some programs view each core separately, and add the percentages; maxing out one core is 100%, maxing out two cores is 200%, and so on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyre View Post
This thread is confusing as hell...

rmbp has 8 cores?? I thought a quad core means 4 cores and 8 threads...

what is all this thing about 8 cores?
The retina MBP (and some MBPs before it) has four physical cores, but with Intel's hyperthreading technology, each core is recognized as having two logical cores (making for eight in total). As a very gross simplification, hyperthreading doubles up the instructions per CPU core. If you use software that states how many cores are available on the system (as certain 3D render suites do), you would see eight cores listed. This is also why the Activity Monitor shows eight graphs if you double-click on the CPU usage graph.

A quad-core processor with hyperthreading would lose out to a true octo-core processor; however, according to benchmarks a quad-core processor with hyperthreading will have around 25% better performance compared with a quad-core system without hyperthreading.
Ledgem is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: How much does Virtual Home 'Quick Unlock' feature drain the battery? easy-peasy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Mar 14, 2014 11:27 AM
rMBP 8GB vs 16GB for virtual Machine + autoCad Bnorton MacBook Pro 3 Aug 30, 2012 01:04 AM
What (virtual) resolution are you running your rMBP at? sth MacBook Pro 1 Aug 24, 2012 10:54 PM
Best VmWare Settings for rMBP. How many cores/ram do you assign? ducatiti MacBook Pro 7 Jul 22, 2012 10:11 PM
rMBP 2.6GHz i7 - max turbo on all cores? marcosscriven MacBook Pro 2 Jun 20, 2012 02:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC