Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:02 PM   #1
kylera
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Uses for Thunderbolt cable connected to iMac

I bought a Thunderbolt cable to connect my Air with my iMac for Target Display and Target Disk usage. Are there other uses for the connection besides these two?
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB

Last edited by kylera; Nov 11, 2012 at 11:19 PM.
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:52 PM   #2
jbzcar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylera View Post
I bought a Thunderbolt cable to connect my Air with my iMac for Target Display and Target Disk usage. Are there other uses for the connection besides these two?
It will be useful for any conceivable TB accessories you might purchase in the future.
jbzcar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 12:02 AM   #3
Idefix
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
and maybe it will function as a radio antenna while we're waiting for Thunderbolt accessories to appear...
Idefix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 01:10 AM   #4
kylera
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
So in the short term, at least with iMac connectivity, there aren't any other uses, I take it?
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 03:24 PM   #5
orangezorki
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Does the new iMac really have target display mode? I thought that died out a couple of years back, and before the advent of thunderbolt...

David
orangezorki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 03:26 PM   #6
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
I think TDM still works on the 27" iMacs.
peeaanuut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 10:47 PM   #7
kylera
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeaanuut View Post
I think TDM still works on the 27" iMacs.
Yup. At least the 2011 variant that I have works.
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC