Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:11 AM   #1
lukerumbelow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Server Remote Access

Hi!

I've been trying to setup remote access in our offices for a while now and can't for the life of me get it to work!

The server is running internally on an iMac and works perfectly as a local server. Everyone in the office can access it, work on files etc We need to be able to access our files whilst off site, say when working from home.

Our ISP is BT, we're running a BT Homehub 3 as our router. We have got 5 static IP's from BT and the iMac is setup with one of these.

I can see the server when offsite but I simply get a "Welcome to Server" when I input the IP address into Safari. This gives me three options, Calendar, Change Password and Profile Manager. If, when either on or off site I go to finder and cmd + k and enter the IP, it can't find the server.

File sharing is turned on, as is FTP which is set to share the entire file server. VPN is also configured to the iMac's IP.

I really need to get this sorted, so if anyone can help point me in the right direction or guide me as to what I need to do, that would be great!

Luke
lukerumbelow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:30 AM   #2
Jexta
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
You need to use the VPN to gain access to the LAN at your workplace.

In Network Preferences, click the plus and add a new interface. Choose VPN from the drop down and fill out the requisite information.

Then once you are offsite, choose to connect to the VPN and authenticate and you will have access to the local network at your office.
__________________
Apple Service Technician - NSW, Australia
Jexta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 07:23 AM   #3
lukerumbelow
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I've already setup VPN through the server app..? Do I need to do this too? Not a clue what half of the settings would be in the network preferences option.

EDIT: Ignore that.. I've read what you've said again and understand it now!

Last edited by lukerumbelow; Sep 20, 2013 at 07:40 AM.
lukerumbelow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 10:13 PM   #4
alexrmc92
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukerumbelow View Post
I've already setup VPN through the server app..? Do I need to do this too? Not a clue what half of the settings would be in the network preferences option.

EDIT: Ignore that.. I've read what you've said again and understand it now!
type this into safari

vnc://<servers static ip address>
alexrmc92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2013, 10:23 PM   #5
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Apples Remote Desktop works great for me since I have Macs in multiple locations, I have 4 offices - 3 work locations and home and as long as I have an internet connection all of the computers I have configured show up in one spot.

I can see all online and connect to any of them with a click or two.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 6+ Gold 128GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server / remote access watts2703 Mac mini 7 Jun 30, 2014 12:22 AM
Remote access/Server? watts2703 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 May 28, 2014 01:40 PM
How would I set a static ip for remote access if I don't have access to the router? pruppert OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Feb 5, 2014 07:05 PM
Someone used Safari remote login to access my computer. What did he have access to? zephonic OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 25, 2013 10:52 PM
How do I remote access ML Server with Windows like AFP? wally13 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 11 Apr 1, 2013 08:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC