Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2009, 03:57 AM   #26
HBOC
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PDX
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroBar View Post
Bimmi,

I assume you were looking for Leopard 10.5 for Single User. that's $200 on amazon.com.

but the 5 user family pack is around $150, and the box set with iLife and iWork '09 is the same.
That is a great deal if it is Leopard + iLife + iWork. I think just iLife and iWork by themselves is $80 each? If you need/want these programs, that would be the best bet!
__________________
500px
dustingentadventures.com
HBOC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 09:38 AM   #27
Eric S.
macrumors 68040
 
Eric S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroBar View Post
I assume you were looking for Leopard 10.5 for Single User. that's $200 on amazon.com.

but the 5 user family pack is around $150, and the box set with iLife and iWork '09 is the same.
I see the Family Pack listed on Amazon for $120 new.

Also check out this page:

Best Mac OS X 10.5, 10.6, and Mac Box Set Deals
__________________
laptop: 2011 MBP Core i5 2.3GHz/8GB/750GB/Intel 3000/10.6.8
desktop: Core i7 920 2.66GHz/4GB/640GB/XFX GeForce 9600 GSO/10.6.3
previous: Mac Plus, IIci, PB 100, Quadra 840av, PowerMac G4, etc.
Eric S. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2009, 10:57 AM   #28
Bimmi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Holy cow, the prices seem to be going up by the hour. Some places are charging over $200 for a single-user box. Madness!

The best prices I can still find are TechRestore for single-user and Trinity Software Distribution for the family pack. I don't suppose anyone here has ever dealt with these guys?
Bimmi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 10:51 AM   #29
Bimmi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Today's search turned up a number of resellers offering 10.5 boxes for some pretty stunning discounts. I went ahead and ordered this, though the cynic in me is wondering what the catch is. I'm willing to take the chance for thirty bux, though.

edit: out of stock (expletive deleted)

edit edit: bought the second-to-last Leopard box in town for full price... so, The End I guess!

Last edited by Bimmi; Sep 10, 2009 at 04:37 PM.
Bimmi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2010, 03:58 PM   #30
norskd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyguyman View Post
Actually, I wouldn't be surprised if they discounted the software. They often sell old machines at a discount to make way for new stock. Of course, your mileage may vary.

Then again, if I were you I'd just stick with Tiger. I always thought it was a much more stable OS than Leopard, and actually downgraded from Leopard to Tiger on my iBook.

There are too many programs and apps that won't run on tiger. How do if my system will accept leopard? I currently have 10.3.9.
norskd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2010, 06:15 PM   #31
Eric S.
macrumors 68040
 
Eric S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by norskd View Post
There are too many programs and apps that won't run on tiger. How do if my system will accept leopard? I currently have 10.3.9.
Did you mean to say "How do I know if my system will accept leopard"? You need a G5, or else a G4 that's at least 876MHz, to install Leopard (although there are workarounds to the installation limitation for slower G4s). Additionally you need at least 512MB RAM, although I would recommend at least 1GB.

When you say "too many programs and apps that won't run on tiger" do you mean ones that you can't upgrade from 10.3.9? Or do you mean ones that require Leopard as a minimum? Which apps would those be?
__________________
laptop: 2011 MBP Core i5 2.3GHz/8GB/750GB/Intel 3000/10.6.8
desktop: Core i7 920 2.66GHz/4GB/640GB/XFX GeForce 9600 GSO/10.6.3
previous: Mac Plus, IIci, PB 100, Quadra 840av, PowerMac G4, etc.

Last edited by Eric S.; Jan 11, 2010 at 06:54 PM.
Eric S. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2010, 07:47 PM   #32
alent1234
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric S. View Post
Did you mean to say "How do I know if my system will accept leopard"? You need a G5, or else a G4 that's at least 876MHz, to install Leopard (although there are workarounds to the installation limitation for slower G4s). Additionally you need at least 512MB RAM, although I would recommend at least 1GB.

When you say "too many programs and apps that won't run on tiger" do you mean ones that you can't upgrade from 10.3.9? Or do you mean ones that require Leopard as a minimum? Which apps would those be?
iTunes
alent1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2010, 08:01 PM   #33
Mugwumper
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fremont, CA
Send a message via AIM to Mugwumper Send a message via Yahoo to Mugwumper Send a message via Skype™ to Mugwumper
My $0.02 . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmi View Post
I'm pretty much resigned to another year with Ye Olde G5, and I'd like to get it properly set up with Leopard. Most of the retailers I've checked are sold out, however, and I'm seeing some nasty pricetags on the few that are left.

So, anyone know where I could get a single-user 10.5 install at a reasonable price?
I wish I had seen your post sooner - and these comments are from someone
who used both Tiger and Leopard on a G5, as well as observations from a
friend who has the same G5 and Tiger. Both systems were used for a variety
of tasks - web, iPhoto, iTunes, office apps, etc.

Basically, my experience was that Leopard really made my fans work
overtime, while my friend's Tiger G5 never had the problem. Both systems
were maxed out with 2GB RAM. And my Leopard G5 was slower in some
ways than his Tiger G5.

I see that you've gone ahead and bought Leopard, so you're "committed".
But you may decide to go back to Tiger, so keep your disks and 10.4.x
update files . . . ;^)

Good luck!
__________________
27" 2.8GHz iMac Quad i5, 15" 2.3GHz rMBP Quad i7, TV3, iPhone 5, iPod Touch
Mugwumper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2010, 10:32 PM   #34
Eric S.
macrumors 68040
 
Eric S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by alent1234 View Post
iTunes
iTunes won't run on Tiger?
__________________
laptop: 2011 MBP Core i5 2.3GHz/8GB/750GB/Intel 3000/10.6.8
desktop: Core i7 920 2.66GHz/4GB/640GB/XFX GeForce 9600 GSO/10.6.3
previous: Mac Plus, IIci, PB 100, Quadra 840av, PowerMac G4, etc.
Eric S. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 01:19 AM   #35
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric S. View Post
iTunes won't run on Tiger?
lol I don't know what thats supposed to mean either. iTunes will run on Mac OS 9.1
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 09:40 AM   #36
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
lol I don't know what thats supposed to mean either. iTunes will run on Mac OS 9.1
More importantly, the latest version of iTunes (for now) will run on Tiger, making that comment even more absurd.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 10:31 AM   #37
TJRiver
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric S. View Post
iTunes won't run on Tiger?
I will second that. The current version of iTunes runs fine in Tiger.
TJRiver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 11:42 AM   #38
norskd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric S. View Post
Did you mean to say "How do I know if my system will accept leopard"? You need a G5, or else a G4 that's at least 876MHz, to install Leopard (although there are workarounds to the installation limitation for slower G4s). Additionally you need at least 512MB RAM, although I would recommend at least 1GB.

When you say "too many programs and apps that won't run on tiger" do you mean ones that you can't upgrade from 10.3.9? Or do you mean ones that require Leopard as a minimum? Which apps would those be?
Yes, I meant to say, "How do I know if my system will accept Leopard?" I have a PowerBook G4, 1.5 GHz, 512 MB DDR SDRAM. I was trying to download a program from pdanet to enable me to tether my droid to my computer and use it for wireless internet. However, the program requires a minimum of os x 10.6; I currently have 10.3.9. Also, I've been unable to update Flash and other programs because my system is too old. I'm not tech savvy, so I need simple solutions. Upgrading the system seems easiest at this point. I just don't want to spend the money only to discover that my computer cannot run Leopard.
Thanks!
norskd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 01:18 PM   #39
Mal
macrumors 603
 
Mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by norskd View Post
Yes, I meant to say, "How do I know if my system will accept Leopard?" I have a PowerBook G4, 1.5 GHz, 512 MB DDR SDRAM. I was trying to download a program from pdanet to enable me to tether my droid to my computer and use it for wireless internet. However, the program requires a minimum of os x 10.6; I currently have 10.3.9. Also, I've been unable to update Flash and other programs because my system is too old. I'm not tech savvy, so I need simple solutions. Upgrading the system seems easiest at this point. I just don't want to spend the money only to discover that my computer cannot run Leopard.
Thanks!
Your system will accept Leopard, though don't even consider it without upgrading RAM first. However, if the software you need requires 10.6, you're out of luck anyways. 10.6 is Snow Leopard, which is incompatible with the PPC processors; you'd have to purchase a new machine instead.

jW
__________________
The Bearded Nerd
13" MacBook Pro; 64GB iPod touch
"It's a real burn, being right so often."
NoiseTrade.com/Walker
Mal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 04:07 PM   #40
norskd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mal View Post
Your system will accept Leopard, though don't even consider it without upgrading RAM first. However, if the software you need requires 10.6, you're out of luck anyways. 10.6 is Snow Leopard, which is incompatible with the PPC processors; you'd have to purchase a new machine instead.

jW
Just rechecked the requirements for the program I want to download and 10.5 is the minimum, so Leopard will work. Is it difficult to install more RAM? It may be more cost effective at this point to buy a new computer.
norskd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 05:51 PM   #41
nickthebubble
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
any idea of apple stores in dublin? ebay prices are ridiculous for this 10.5 disk????

im starting to really hate apple
nickthebubble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 06:06 PM   #42
stroked
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
I wanted Leopard for my iBook and looked on ebay, they were around $50. I just waited for a PPC Mac on Craigslist with a fresh install of Leopard. I bought a Powermac 933 MHz for $50, and with firewire and CCC, I now have Leopard instead of Tiger.

I was going to resale the Powermac, but I'm getting attached to it.
stroked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 09:10 AM   #43
iLucas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indiana
most posts here are old but
Has anyone found a place to buy leopard for less than 150?
im looking for a copy as well to use on my powermac g5
__________________
MacBook Pro Core i5, 8 GB, 256 GB SSD, HR-AG | iPad Mini | iPhone 5 | 11" MacBook Air | Mac Pro Quad Core

Check out my new blog about extra income: Right Here
iLucas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 12:35 PM   #44
mmisbin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroked View Post
I wanted Leopard for my iBook and looked on ebay, they were around $50. I just waited for a PPC Mac on Craigslist with a fresh install of Leopard. I bought a Powermac 933 MHz for $50, and with firewire and CCC, I now have Leopard instead of Tiger.

I was going to resale the Powermac, but I'm getting attached to it.
Hi, could you explain your post? How did you get the Leopard operating system from the powermac 933 to your iBook with firewire and CCC? What is CCC?
mmisbin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 12:47 PM   #45
stev3n
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmisbin View Post
Hi, could you explain your post? How did you get the Leopard operating system from the powermac 933 to your iBook with firewire and CCC? What is CCC?
CCC stands for Carbon Copy Cloner. CCC allows you to create a fully bootable copy of your HDD or clone it.
stev3n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 05:31 PM   #46
mmisbin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stev3n View Post
CCC stands for Carbon Copy Cloner. CCC allows you to create a fully bootable copy of your HDD or clone it.
I am confused, are you suggesting you just clone the hard drive with leopard onto your other drive?
mmisbin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 06:54 PM   #47
stroked
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmisbin View Post
I am confused, are you suggesting you just clone the hard drive with leopard onto your other drive?
yes. First you need to read up on making a bootable drive, for your specific Mac.
stroked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:29 PM   #48
MacAttack444
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Leopard 10.5 replacement DVD for sale

I just needed one for my old eMac. It's a PPC and Leopard is the newest that can install on it. I bought one from this website. http://leopardosx.webs.com/

It arrived in 2 days I did a fresh install, did combo updates afterwards. Way better than $200 on Amazon.
MacAttack444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need to buy Leopard brand new? eyeangle OS X 1 Jan 31, 2014 09:24 AM
Can I buy a non-retail copy of OS X 10.5 leopard to install on my Mac? Peterson8765 OS X 1 Dec 12, 2013 10:21 AM
Leopard | Where I can buy it? rjcalifornia PowerPC Macs 9 Mar 12, 2013 08:45 PM
How many would buy a polished up Snow Leopard? Krazy Bill OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Sep 19, 2012 09:44 PM
Where can i buy Keynote 5.0.5? (Snow leopard mac) macinfopls Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Sep 19, 2012 05:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps