Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:29 PM   #1
CameraTester
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Question How do I increase speed of my Macbook Pro?

Hi. I have a 2009 Macbook Pro, 5,5, 2.26ghz intel core 2 duo, 8gb of ram, a solid state drive (with system files and apps) and a 750gb 7200rpm (in a hard drive caddy in the old place of the dvd drive holding my user home folder)

It's not as fast as I would like it to be, and as I need it to be. I was thinking of overclocking it but that seems out of the question. I know since it has a solid state and a faster hard drive it should be a lot faster, but it's still not that fast.

I know there might not be anything I can do, but I just would like to know my options.

I thought about since I have a solid state drive, I could see if there is a way to give a section of the hard drive to act as ram somehow? Is there a way to do that?

And what else can I do to make it faster? Ram is maxed at 8gb.

Thanks for any help!
CameraTester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:31 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CameraTester View Post
It's not as fast as I would like it to be, and as I need it to be.
Then buy a faster computer.

If you're having performance issues, this may help:
Performance Tips For Mac OS X

Last edited by GGJstudios; Dec 17, 2012 at 07:37 PM.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:32 PM   #3
treyjustice
macrumors 65816
 
treyjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TX
Sorry nothing else you can do except upgrade really
__________________
32 GB iPhone 5s; Late 2013 13" rMbp 8 gb 256 gb
treyjustice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:35 PM   #4
SpyderBite
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Xanadu
Simple answer: buy a new Mac.

If you're poor and can't afford a new one; follow the advice from others in thread that differs from mine.
__________________
Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock
SpyderBite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:37 PM   #5
Wafflausages
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
You can download onyx and try cleaning your system
Wafflausages is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:50 PM   #6
T5BRICK
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by CameraTester View Post
I thought about since I have a solid state drive, I could see if there is a way to give a section of the hard drive to act as ram somehow? Is there a way to do that?
The OS does this automatically, it's called a swap file or virtual memory.

Have you thought about installing a newer SSD? That might help.

How about your RAM, what speed is it?
T5BRICK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC