Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 9, 2013, 10:15 AM   #1
alexxk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Software for Time-Lapse. Please recommend

Hello all,

I want to get into Timelapse and I would like to know what's the best software to use it once you have all your stills.

I know you can create timelapse with Adobe After Effects, Premiere and even Lightroom or Final Cut Pro X but are these the best or is there another one specifically to accomplish this?

Which ones would you recommend that is both easy to use or at least not too hard and at the same time powerful enough to create professional looking timelapse?

Thanks...
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 10:19 AM   #2
jamesjingyi
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
Quicktime Pro seems good... Check here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tO6yKd4lSPM
__________________
11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey, iPad Mini 32GB,
20GB free storage here
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr
jamesjingyi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 10:30 AM   #3
alexxk
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesjingyi View Post
Quicktime Pro seems good... Check here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tO6yKd4lSPM
Thanks for the reply. The problem with this is that it's way to simplistic. There is no title, there's no effects in transition from 1 scene to another and no music, etc...

I need a software that I can accomplish all this but it doesn't require me to go to school to actually learn the software... hehhe..

Here is an example of an awesome timelapse. Yes... I know this is VERY professional and probably took a long time to do it, but I want to at least get something similar in time..

http://vimeo.com/23237102
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 10:38 AM   #4
jamesjingyi
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
FCPX then You can do everything there
__________________
11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey, iPad Mini 32GB,
20GB free storage here
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr
jamesjingyi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 10:51 AM   #5
alexxk
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesjingyi View Post
FCPX then You can do everything there
Will look at it... thanks..
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 11:19 AM   #6
TimTheEnchanter
macrumors 6502a
 
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Check out LRTimelapse. Really helps with de-flickering and light transitions. It has a "confusing-at-first" workflow, but once you've done one or two it makes total sense. I use it with both Lightroom and Photoshop CS6 which has some good video capabilities and export options.
__________________
There are some who call me....Tim?
Steve Jobs 1955-2011 Rest My Friend
17" uMBP/iPod x3/iPhone5/iPad Air/Nikon D300–Sony NEX-7–NEX-3IR
RIP: too many Macs to list...AppleII-PMG5
TimTheEnchanter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 11:44 AM   #7
alexxk
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTheEnchanter View Post
Check out LRTimelapse. Really helps with de-flickering and light transitions. It has a "confusing-at-first" workflow, but once you've done one or two it makes total sense. I use it with both Lightroom and Photoshop CS6 which has some good video capabilities and export options.

Thanks.. will look at it as well. I'm trying using After Effects but I cannot get the right length of my timelapse which should be 6 sec...

Once I import the images and create a new composition.. it asks me for a "still Duration" if I put 0:00:00:01 I get a 4 seconds and if I put a 2 I get a 9 seconds..

I have 145 stills and I want to get 24 FPS which I did set up in After Effects and I cannot get the correct 6 second..

Driving me nuts...

Last edited by alexxk; Apr 9, 2013 at 12:56 PM.
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 12:49 PM   #8
TimTheEnchanter
macrumors 6502a
 
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I'm pretty new to timelapse too. A friend got me going who knows way more. He explained that you have 3 rates to consider; capture rate (frame rate in camera), input or consumption rate which determines the speed of actual images being shown per minute, then you have the output rate to export your video. It's a bit of trial and error to get them to work right.... if your head doesn't explode first. A few scotch or bourbons help a lot!
__________________
There are some who call me....Tim?
Steve Jobs 1955-2011 Rest My Friend
17" uMBP/iPod x3/iPhone5/iPad Air/Nikon D300–Sony NEX-7–NEX-3IR
RIP: too many Macs to list...AppleII-PMG5
TimTheEnchanter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 01:23 PM   #9
xStep
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lost in Minneapolis
As mentioned, you could use QuickTime Pro to create initial sequences and then something else for the other processses. I only suggest this because QTPro is so easy for that part of the process. iMovie could handle the other processes, unless you need very high end precision.
xStep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 02:07 PM   #10
alexxk
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xStep View Post
As mentioned, you could use QuickTime Pro to create initial sequences and then something else for the other processses. I only suggest this because QTPro is so easy for that part of the process. iMovie could handle the other processes, unless you need very high end precision.

I actually thought of that... but creating the movie itself with quicktime pro and then moving on to another app to add effects, music, intro, credits won't it degrade the quality of video every time we export??

EDIT - You know what??? I just tried and it turned out great. I actually used lightroom to create the timelapse video at 30FPS and used imovie to add title and music to it. Very good quality at 1080p

Thanks for all the replies..

Last edited by alexxk; Apr 9, 2013 at 02:27 PM.
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 02:30 PM   #11
andychelt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Just as an after thought, I've been using a free program called time lapse assembler which works pretty well for creating the initial movie, then you can move on to iMovie etc for titles/transitions.
andychelt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 12:43 AM   #12
LumbermanSVO
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kenmore, WA
Send a message via AIM to LumbermanSVO Send a message via MSN to LumbermanSVO Send a message via Yahoo to LumbermanSVO
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTheEnchanter View Post
Check out LRTimelapse. Really helps with de-flickering and light transitions. It has a "confusing-at-first" workflow, but once you've done one or two it makes total sense. I use it with both Lightroom and Photoshop CS6 which has some good video capabilities and export options.
I use this app with LR4 to do the initial image editing and cropping. I then use QuickTime Pro to assemble the referenced video file and just save the video file, but do NOT export it. I then throw this reference video file into iMovie to assemble clips, add music, titles and so on, then I export it to the final output. Maybe FCX is better than QTP/iMovie, I dunno haven't tried it yet.
__________________
Fear is not a stop sign
The Mobile Homeless Photographer
"It's not meant to feel right on your end, it's meant to look right on mine" -Sue Bryce
LumbermanSVO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 05:14 PM   #13
TimelapseJunkie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Time-lapse Software Survey results

I little while ago I hosted a survey asking what software folks used during the time-lapse process. See the lists of the results here:

http://www.learntimelapse.com/time-l...apse-software/

I keep the site as updated as I can.

-Ryan
TimelapseJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 07:47 AM   #14
alexxk
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimelapseJunkie View Post
I little while ago I hosted a survey asking what software folks used during the time-lapse process. See the lists of the results here:

http://www.learntimelapse.com/time-l...apse-software/

I keep the site as updated as I can.

-Ryan
Very helpful, thanks much!!
alexxk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 04:52 PM   #15
TimTheEnchanter
macrumors 6502a
 
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by LumbermanSVO View Post
I use this app with LR4 to do the initial image editing and cropping. I then use QuickTime Pro to assemble the referenced video file and just save the video file, but do NOT export it. I then throw this reference video file into iMovie to assemble clips, add music, titles and so on, then I export it to the final output. Maybe FCX is better than QTP/iMovie, I dunno haven't tried it yet.
Good to know a different workflow using LRTimelapse. I don't know if I want to go as far as FCX, I haven't gotten to a point where I'm putting together multiple clips. Thanks for the input!
__________________
There are some who call me....Tim?
Steve Jobs 1955-2011 Rest My Friend
17" uMBP/iPod x3/iPhone5/iPad Air/Nikon D300–Sony NEX-7–NEX-3IR
RIP: too many Macs to list...AppleII-PMG5
TimTheEnchanter is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC