Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 02:34 PM   #1
jharlin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
RAM questions

Hey, all -

I tried searching the forums, but didn't have much luck. I'm struggling to figure out how much and what kind of RAM I can put into my machine and was hoping for some help.

I have a Mac Pro:
Mid 2010
Processor 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 6 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E53)

Lots of people have been telling me to use Crucial.com to figure out how much memory and what kind to get.

However, Crucial keeps telling me I have 4 memory slots. My System Report keeps telling me I have 8 slots. Apple's website says that 8 slots should be expandable up to 64GB of RAM.

I'd love to max it out to 64GB, but I don't know what kind I can get. I've been cautioned against Kingston, but that's about all I know.

Can anyone help? I'm desperate right now.
jharlin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:06 PM   #2
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Here are the stats on your Mac:

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...ere-specs.html

They also have links to a site (macsales.com) that I've had good luck with.

Good luck, and don't be afraid to ask questions!!!
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:11 PM   #3
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Here is a good place to start your research on how much memory can your model take, just scroll down to the 2nd table. Since you have a 12-core model with 8 memory slots, using 8GB modules, you can have 64GB (8x8GB) in total. Using 16GB modules, you can have up to 96GB (6x16GB) usable. Most 8GB and 16GB ECC memory modules are also registered (or buffered), so they can not be mixed with unbuffered modules currently in your machine. I would not recommend OWC memory since they are way overpriced. If you are planning to install 8GB modules, it really doesn't matter which brand as long as you get lifetime warranty.

One more thing, Mac Pro memory is basically no different from memory modules used in other servers/workstations, but also has thermal sesors. Kingston, for example, just uses normal ECC RAM modules with TS and relabels them for Mac Pro.

Last edited by xcodeSyn; Dec 31, 2012 at 03:29 PM.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 02:41 AM   #4
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Since you do have the dual processor model you do have eight ram slots... four for each processor.

The recommended type of ram is 1333MHz DDR3 ECC and Apple-approved ram will have the thermal sensors. Some vendors will do bundle deals of multipacks of ram if bought at the same time, say double or quad packs.

One other question you may come up against is "triple channel vs filling it all up". Putting the ram in the lower three slots on each processor is theoretically the "optimum" configuration but it is only by a small margin. With ram, "more" is usually better than "faster"... but do you actually *need* 64Gb? Are you going to be dramatically changing your workflow when moving from your 6Gb to the new amount or do you just want more because it is more? Would you be able to manage with two 3x8Gb packs?

When comparing vendors, make sure you are looking at the warranties. The good brands have the good warranties.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:19 AM   #5
bernuli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jharlin View Post
Hey, all -

I tried searching the forums, but didn't have much luck. I'm struggling to figure out how much and what kind of RAM I can put into my machine and was hoping for some help.

I have a Mac Pro:
Mid 2010
Processor 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 6 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E53)

Can anyone help? I'm desperate right now.
I have used http://www.datamemorysystems.com/ for years, never had a single module from them go bad. Their website has a menu system to figure out what RAM is best for you machine. Or call them as they have great tech support and will answer the phone.


B
bernuli is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about RAM upgrade Georgij MacBook Pro 2 Nov 16, 2013 06:35 PM
Some iMac ram questions MiniD3 iMac 3 Sep 7, 2013 09:15 PM
iMac RAM questions mattmertz77 iMac 4 Jan 13, 2013 04:27 PM
Few HW questions regarding power and RAM comatory Mac Pro 3 Oct 10, 2012 03:48 PM
RAM Questions ndavid126 MacBook 10 Jul 18, 2012 11:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC