Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2013, 09:12 AM   #1
Demonface
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
T-Mobile iPhone 5 Help

Hello All,
I purchased a T-Mobile iPhone 5 yesterday but it came with 6.1.3 . I was wondering what would be the process of getting one with 6.1.2 ?

Last edited by Demonface; Apr 14, 2013 at 09:17 AM.
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 09:14 AM   #2
Shrink
macrumors Demi-God
 
Shrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonface View Post
Hello All,
I purchased a T-Mobile iPhone 5 yesterday but it came with 6.1.3 . I was wondering what would be the process of getting one with 6.1.2 ?
Just a suggestion...a more informative title often gets more useful responses. It helps folks know whether they can help or not.
__________________
Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein
Shrink is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 11:10 PM   #3
AppleFanatic10
macrumors 68000
 
AppleFanatic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles but missing San Diego </3
Send a message via AIM to AppleFanatic10 Send a message via Skype™ to AppleFanatic10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonface View Post
Hello All,
I purchased a T-Mobile iPhone 5 yesterday but it came with 6.1.3 . I was wondering what would be the process of getting one with 6.1.2 ?
Most likely there would have to be something wrong with the phone and you'd have to return it. But I highly doubt that you'll get one with 6.1.2
__________________
November 06.2010 - White Unibody MacBook , 2.4GHz, 500GB HD, 8GB RAM
Dec 2013 iPad Mini 16GB
Samsung Galaxy S3
RIP Grandma 5/10/1930 - 9/24/2012
AppleFanatic10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 11:10 PM   #4
9th Wonder
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Did you buy the phone from T-Mobile or Apple?
__________________
iPad with Retina Display, 32 GB Black
T-Mobile iPhone 5, 32 GB White
9th Wonder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 11:32 PM   #5
Demonface
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9th Wonder View Post
Did you buy the phone from T-Mobile or Apple?
T-Mobile

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleFanatic10 View Post
Most likely there would have to be something wrong with the phone and you'd have to return it. But I highly doubt that you'll get one with 6.1.2
oh , well I'll see if I can give them a call tomorrow and see what they say. Hopefully they can just swap the devices.
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 12:11 AM   #6
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
The chance is probably slim to none.
Jordan921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 01:28 AM   #7
9th Wonder
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonface View Post
T-Mobile[COLOR="#808080"]
Ah maybe that is why. I bought my T-Mobile version via the Apple store and got ios 6.1.2 today. Maybe T-Mobile only offers the iPhone 5 in ios 6.1.3?
__________________
iPad with Retina Display, 32 GB Black
T-Mobile iPhone 5, 32 GB White
9th Wonder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 02:41 AM   #8
midnightMachine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I'm sure T-Mobile has no way of controlling what software version comes shipped on the iPhones that they sell. And I seriously doubt even if they did have them, and they knew which ones had which os, that they would just exchange it based on that.. especially if they ask why, and you answer "to jailbreak it" (thats the only reason I can imagine you'd need 6.1.2)..
midnightMachine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 11:07 AM   #9
Demonface
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9th Wonder View Post
Ah maybe that is why. I bought my T-Mobile version via the Apple store and got ios 6.1.2 today. Maybe T-Mobile only offers the iPhone 5 in ios 6.1.3?
The display version has 6.1.2 .

----------

I spoke to someone a few minutes ago and they said No , They have no control of which OS is on the device.
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 11:23 AM   #10
CEmajr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
It seems pretty random.

I went to the apple store and bought an unlocked one yesterday and it had 6.1 on it. Got home and realized that it was the old model that doesn't support Tmobile AWS so I returned it today.

Exchanged for the Tmobile model and it has 6.1.2 on it. They also gave me a $25 Apple gift card. Pretty nice.

At the Tmobile store, all the ones we had came with 6.1.3 except the demo. The demo was on 6.1.2
CEmajr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 11:27 AM   #11
Akack
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: T E X A S
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9th Wonder View Post
Ah maybe that is why. I bought my T-Mobile version via the Apple store and got ios 6.1.2 today. Maybe T-Mobile only offers the iPhone 5 in ios 6.1.3?
Its random. I bought from T Mobile store and both had iOS 6.1.2.

1st one : had a chip so I exchanged it next day
2nd one: perfect out of box
__________________
Enough gadgets.
Akack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 07:05 PM   #12
Demonface
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
It seems pretty random.

I went to the apple store and bought an unlocked one yesterday and it had 6.1 on it. Got home and realized that it was the old model that doesn't support Tmobile AWS so I returned it today.

Exchanged for the Tmobile model and it has 6.1.2 on it. They also gave me a $25 Apple gift card. Pretty nice.

At the Tmobile store, all the ones we had came with 6.1.3 except the demo. The demo was on 6.1.2
Oh , I guess I'm not that lucky to get one with 6.1.2 =( .
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 08:49 PM   #13
rockitdog
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
What's the difference between 6.1.2 and 6.1.3? I'm assuming its. Jailbreak thing...
__________________
Yeah baby, I love when you talk all nerdy to me!
iPhone 5S - ME308LL/A |13" late 2012 MBP | Black Ipad 2
rockitdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 09:24 PM   #14
Demonface
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockitdog View Post
What's the difference between 6.1.2 and 6.1.3? I'm assuming its. Jailbreak thing...
The only difference is that 6.1.2 can be jailbroken 6.1.3 cant be jailbroken.
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC