Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 27, 2013, 07:00 AM   #1
Khryz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Cloning my HD using CCC

I am cloning my HD using CCC, to a new Samsung 840 SSD and an error keeps coming up that it can't backup a system.log file. After researching I found I can delete it and restart the backup as it is not necessary for the new SSD, or any log files for that matter.

But then that got me thinking, is there anything else I should exclude from my clone? Any non-essential system files? Should I exclude the entire "var" folder during the cloning process?

Thank you!
Khryz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 07:15 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Odd, I've used CCC and never had that sort of problem.

I''d not worry about working to exclude any other "system" sort of files as you may exclude a folder or file that you need. Its not like you're saving a lot of time or space by excluding them
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 07:34 AM   #3
Khryz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Odd, I've used CCC and never had that sort of problem.

I''d not worry about working to exclude any other "system" sort of files as you may exclude a folder or file that you need. Its not like you're saving a lot of time or space by excluding them
Thanks for the reply!

It is odd, but luckily it is an "expendable" file. I even checked my last few days of Time Machine backups and it wasn't there, it is only in the present.

And I won't exclude any other folder or files. I'll try deleting this log file and continuing with the clone to see if I get any similar issues.

Thanks!
Khryz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 07:37 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khryz View Post
Thanks for the reply!

It is odd, but luckily it is an "expendable" file. I even checked my last few days of Time Machine backups and it wasn't there, it is only in the present.

And I won't exclude any other folder or files. I'll try deleting this log file and continuing with the clone to see if I get any similar issues.

Thanks!
If you exclude var your bootable backup won't boot.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 09:58 AM   #5
Fishrrman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
"But then that got me thinking, is there anything else I should exclude from my clone? Any non-essential system files? Should I exclude the entire "var" folder during the cloning process?"

Let CCC backup EVERYthing. Obviously it had a problem with one file that you removed, and now, no more problems.

If you're trying to create a bootable "clone", that implies everything that is essential to make the volume "complete" -- both visible and invisible files.

I will _guess_ that there are a few items that CCC doesn't routinely copy, but that the app is smart enough to recognize which files those are….
Fishrrman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 10:02 AM   #6
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishrrman View Post
Let CCC backup EVERYthing.
That's what I do. Obviously, I could tell CCC to exclude the cache folders, the sleepimage file and the swap files but the work effort for that outways the risk of my being overly aggressive and excluding something I may regret later.

I love the simplicity of selecting the source/destination and knowing everything got copied.
maflynn is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 12:16 PM   #7
Weaselboy
Moderator
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khryz View Post
But then that got me thinking, is there anything else I should exclude from my clone? Any non-essential system files? Should I exclude the entire "var" folder during the cloning process?
Just leave CCC at the default settings. There actually is a long list of unnecessary items it excludes. List here.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CCC 3.4.7 on ML. does it still work well? bigpoppamac31 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Nov 3, 2013 08:24 PM
Ccc swiftflo Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Jul 24, 2013 06:47 AM
What's the best way to use CCC? kapalua12 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 May 9, 2013 02:59 PM
New SSD and CCC. MikeSantor MacBook Pro 3 Dec 14, 2012 09:04 AM
CCC configuration help alec6542 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Nov 25, 2012 10:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC