Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2013, 04:29 AM   #76
adder7712
macrumors 68000
 
adder7712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Anywhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kar98 View Post
Hey, 25 GB of free and so far uncensored storage, and it's syncing between my home Mac, the Work windows laptop and my iPad? Yes, one please
How do you get 25GB for free?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksgant View Post
I've never ever understood this attitude. Okay, other browsers have download managers. So? Does this mean because it's been done with another browser that Firefox should never ever implement it....ever?

It's like the idiotic arguments I heard when iOS got notifications. "Android has had that for a long time". So what. It's a good feature and I'm glad they put that in.
That attitude is quite rampant on many tech sites.
__________________
Custom PC (Windows 8.1), MacBook Aluminium (OS X Mavericks), iPad 3, Sony Xperia Z3, Samsung Galaxy Tab S 8.4
adder7712 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 10:32 AM   #77
Michael Goff
macrumors 68040
 
Michael Goff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adder7712 View Post
How do you get 25GB for free? .
If you had a hotmail account before a certain date, I forget exactly, you got 25GB free.

Forever.
__________________
Surface Pro 3 i5/256gb
Windows 8.1
Michael Goff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 10:43 AM   #78
Nunyabinez
macrumors 6502a
 
Nunyabinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Provo, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Goff View Post
If you had a hotmail account before a certain date, I forget exactly, you got 25GB free.

Forever.
I think there may have been several paths to this. I don't have a Hotmail account, but I was an early user of Windows Live Mesh. When they rolled it into Skydrive I got my 25GB.
__________________
iMac w/Retina 4GHz; 27" iMac, 3.4 GHz i7; 15" MBP, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo; 13" MBA 1.7 GHz i5; iPad (3rd Gen); iPad Mini; iPhone 6+;
Nunyabinez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 11:03 AM   #79
Michael Goff
macrumors 68040
 
Michael Goff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunyabinez View Post
I think there may have been several paths to this. I don't have a Hotmail account, but I was an early user of Windows Live Mesh. When they rolled it into Skydrive I got my 25GB.
Ah, s it was pretty much having a Microsoft account in general?
__________________
Surface Pro 3 i5/256gb
Windows 8.1
Michael Goff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 02:18 PM   #80
InfoTime
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebluepointe View Post
As I mentioned in an earlier post: Evernote Clearly. You don't need an Evernote account to use it unless you want to use the webclip feature.
Cool! Thanks again.
InfoTime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 07:32 AM   #81
goosnarrggh
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekboi View Post
Is it 64 bit yet?
At approximately the same time they stopped packing Universal PPC/Intel binaries, they started packaging fat binaries consisting of both 32-bit and 64-bit native Intel builds.
goosnarrggh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 02:42 AM   #82
InfoTime
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Any chance the new Firefox 20 is causing kernel panics?

A client of mine has a pretty clean iMac Core 2 Duo with 10.6.8 that started kernel panic-ing about two days ago. They can't think of anything they changed. Hardware extended test is clean.
InfoTime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 03:20 AM   #83
class77
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Firefox has a big ole bug in it. When you shut it down completely and try to open it the next day, it tries to reopen the old session. I've used Firefox as my browser for years and I've never experienced this. It's annoying as hell and I can't figure out how to make it stop
__________________
2011 Mac Mini, 2.7 Dual Core i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB, 10.7.3 24" iMac, 3.06GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 10.6.8 iPad 4 64G, iPad 3 64GB, iPad 32 GB  iPhone 5  Airport Extreme 5
class77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 06:49 PM   #84
C DM
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by class77 View Post
Firefox has a big ole bug in it. When you shut it down completely and try to open it the next day, it tries to reopen the old session. I've used Firefox as my browser for years and I've never experienced this. It's annoying as hell and I can't figure out how to make it stop
Doesn't happen on the machines that I've tried it on. Seems like a setting that got set somewhere and was saved. Check the settings for Firefox and see what it's set for as far as startup in the general section.
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 07:03 PM   #85
class77
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I have used Firefox as my default browser since 2009 and always updated each time a new version was available. This open tab problem just started with version 20 and has never happened before. I've not changed a single configuration in the startup menu. It's still to open to my Comcast start page
__________________
2011 Mac Mini, 2.7 Dual Core i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB, 10.7.3 24" iMac, 3.06GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 10.6.8 iPad 4 64G, iPad 3 64GB, iPad 32 GB  iPhone 5  Airport Extreme 5
class77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 07:58 PM   #86
C DM
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by class77 View Post
I have used Firefox as my default browser since 2009 and always updated each time a new version was available. This open tab problem just started with version 20 and has never happened before. I've not changed a single configuration in the startup menu. It's still to open to my Comcast start page
See if trying something from http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/754840 might help.
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 10:47 PM   #87
class77
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks, but these responses are 2 years old and I prefer not to monkey with settings that have proven not to be a problem until the current version of Firefox. Hopefully Version 21 will rid me of this bug.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini, 2.7 Dual Core i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB, 10.7.3 24" iMac, 3.06GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 10.6.8 iPad 4 64G, iPad 3 64GB, iPad 32 GB  iPhone 5  Airport Extreme 5
class77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 06:33 PM   #88
C DM
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by class77 View Post
Thanks, but these responses are 2 years old and I prefer not to monkey with settings that have proven not to be a problem until the current version of Firefox. Hopefully Version 21 will rid me of this bug.
The same settings still exist so nothing related to it needed to be updated in the last couple of years. It's just a change of one particular setting mainly. Nothing major at all (and it can be changed back easily). Certainly better than having that "bug".
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2013, 03:54 PM   #89
MagnusVonMagnum
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
This is a known issue with Firefox 20. It ONLY occurs when you close ALL windows first and THEN quit Firefox. When you restart, it will give the "Oops" message about restoring a session. If you quit Firefox with even one window open, it will not happen when you start Firefox. This ONLY happens with OSX since Windows quits when you click the close window button whereas in OSX Firefox keeps running in the background (and you can quit from the dock afterwards). Many of us close all the windows and only quit Firefox once in awhile (often from the dock) so that's why some people notice it and others INSIST it doesn't exist (because they quit from the menu). From what I've read, they already have a fix for it and it should appear with the next release.
MagnusVonMagnum is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2013, 02:38 PM   #90
C DM
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnusVonMagnum View Post
This is a known issue with Firefox 20. It ONLY occurs when you close ALL windows first and THEN quit Firefox. When you restart, it will give the "Oops" message about restoring a session. If you quit Firefox with even one window open, it will not happen when you start Firefox. This ONLY happens with OSX since Windows quits when you click the close window button whereas in OSX Firefox keeps running in the background (and you can quit from the dock afterwards). Many of us close all the windows and only quit Firefox once in awhile (often from the dock) so that's why some people notice it and others INSIST it doesn't exist (because they quit from the menu). From what I've read, they already have a fix for it and it should appear with the next release.
Interesting. I've been able to reproduce this finally--the trick is the multiple windows part and closing them all before quitting. I guess for me (and probably many others) this kind of behavior is fairly unusual since I mostly stick to one window with multiple tabs in it, and (whether or not I might have a single or actually multiple windows) if I'm quitting I just quit without closing all the windows prior to that.

That said, even with this issue, all I get is one tab with the error message and an option to restore the old tabs or simply to close that session restore tab--I don't automatically get all my previous tabs/windows reloaded on their own right away. Certainly not the expected behavior and essentially a bug, but it's far from being severe or really annoying I'd say.
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2013, 02:58 PM   #91
MagnusVonMagnum
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by C DM View Post
Certainly not the expected behavior and essentially a bug, but it's far from being severe or really annoying I'd say.
Sometimes it restores here and sometimes it gives the error. Either way, it's not a major bug. It's an annoying bug (for some of us). My mother has a Macbook Pro but isn't a big computer user. It was driving her crazy. Obviously, people who use Windows a lot and are used to the close window button also closing the program are going to tend to do that more often than people who have mostly used Macs. I simply like Firefox to come up faster (i.e. no delay if you just close the windows and leave it running, but it can start to eat memory over many days so I do quit once in awhile and that's when I notice it).
MagnusVonMagnum is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
private browsing J3STER Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 6 Nov 8, 2013 04:30 AM
Folx - Download Manager for Mac Allan Todd Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 6, 2012 06:38 PM
Private Browsing Dominique21 iPhone 10 Jun 19, 2012 08:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC