Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:22 PM   #1
OceanFrog
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
A strange question about Airplay Mirroring from MBA to Apple TV

This is probably a stupid question, but here goes anyway ...

I was thinking of buying an Apple TV. One of the main ways I'd use it would be to use airplay mirroring to watch movies from my MacBook Air on the Apple TV (for example MKV movies that are not supported by Apple TV ... I know, I know, but I dont want to spend time/effort converting formats).

However, I only have satellite broadband with very low download limits of 10gb/month. I'm already hitting those limits.

So here is my question ... will using airplay mirroring between the MBA and Apple TV use up my bandwidth allowance? Or is bandwidth used up by actually downloading from the Interwebs???

Apologies if this is a stupid question, but I cant find the answer anywhere.
OceanFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:24 PM   #2
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Bandwidth is only on the net

Example streaming from Netflix

Anything that stays inside your own network like MBA to Apple TV is not using your bandwith
Ratatapa is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:24 PM   #3
ezramoore
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Your download allowance should only be used up by downloads from the internet. In the case you describe you should be fine.

You should look into the Roku/Plex combination, instead of your proposed solution.
ezramoore is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:33 PM   #4
OceanFrog
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezramoore View Post
Your download allowance should only be used up by downloads from the internet. In the case you describe you should be fine.

You should look into the Roku/Plex combination, instead of your proposed solution.
Could you tell me more about this Roku/Plex combination?
OceanFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:54 PM   #5
ezramoore
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Roku makes streaming STBs (www.roku.com) like the XS 2. You can install the Plex (www.plexapp.com) client on the Roku box and stream from any Plex Server. You can install the Plex Server on any computer you want, and stream anything in your library to the Roku. The Roku also has H+/Netflix/etc built in.

I just bought an XS 2 for someone and it was $70 ($30 cheaper than the ATV). Plex is free.
ezramoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:55 PM   #6
wharzhee
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: texas
I just want to add...

I had streaming issues at home when I was airplay mirroring at 1080p. [such as lagging issues, distorted images, unsync-ed sound]
All is fine at 720p.

you would want to reconsider that option.

Last edited by wharzhee; Jan 13, 2013 at 06:13 PM.
wharzhee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:57 PM   #7
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
If he has a 1gb wired LAN he won't have peoblems
Ratatapa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 05:55 PM   #8
OceanFrog
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wharzhee View Post
I had streaming issues at home when I was airplay mirroring at 1080p. [such as lagging issues, distorted images, unsync-ed sound] ... All is fine at 720p.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratatapa View Post
If he has a 1gb wired LAN he won't have problems
I have satellite "broadband" ... that is my problem!!! My download speed is about 2.5mb/s, and latency/ping is around 800ms.

Will this be enough LAN/network capacity to use Apple TV properly?? Or will this even matter???
OceanFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:18 PM   #9
wharzhee
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by OceanFrog View Post
I have satellite "broadband" ... that is my problem!!! My download speed is about 2.5mb/s, and latency/ping is around 800ms.

Will this be enough LAN/network capacity to use Apple TV properly?? Or will this even matter???
if u're not into the iTunes eco, there are many other options than ATV.
As suggested by the other users.

Air-mirroring has no buffering time, so if the (local) network isnt fast enough, u'll have issues.

Doing stuff locally (such as using an ATV or a roku, with another computer in the same local network) would not touch ur limitation(10gb, if i remember reading correctly) - so u dont have to worry about the download speed and latency issues[that u mentioned - and u're worried abt].


update: personally about the wired stuff. even if the speed is good with wires. i don't want to go back to the old days when I have to attach lan wires to bed just to use the internet.
wharzhee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:20 PM   #10
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by OceanFrog View Post
I have satellite "broadband" ... that is my problem!!! My download speed is about 2.5mb/s, and latency/ping is around 800ms.

Will this be enough LAN/network capacity to use Apple TV properly?? Or will this even matter???
What is your home router
Ratatapa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 07:03 PM   #11
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by OceanFrog View Post
I have satellite "broadband" ... that is my problem!!! My download speed is about 2.5mb/s, and latency/ping is around 800ms.

Will this be enough LAN/network capacity to use Apple TV properly?? Or will this even matter???
You are confusing Internet speed, ur 2.5mb, to your intranet (much higher).

WIFI speed problems relates to a sub-optimal WIFI setup. WIFI is one of those things that many times requires extra effort on your part beyond it-just-works.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 07:04 PM   #12
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Just tell me your Router at home (not the ISP) and i'll tell you what you can do
Ratatapa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 07:48 PM   #13
OceanFrog
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratatapa View Post
Just tell me your Router at home (not the ISP) and i'll tell you what you can do
I'm using an Apple AirPort Extreme
OceanFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 07:52 PM   #14
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Which Generation? or which year if you prefer
Ratatapa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 08:18 PM   #15
OceanFrog
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratatapa View Post
Which Generation? or which year if you prefer
I bought it 18 months ago ... it's the 4th generation 802.11n firmware 7.6.1

Thanks for all the help btw. Beers on me if I ever meet you guys (especially Ratatapa)!!!
OceanFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 08:23 PM   #16
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Ok let's try not to ****ed up this explanation

Your AirPort Extreme has the 5ghz wifi and gigabit LAN

Now to stream here is what you can do

If you have an Apple TV 2 nd gen

You can config it on wifi( on the 5ghz band or with the Ethernet cable and stream 720p no problems)

Apple TV 2nd gen cannot do 1080p


If you have the 3rd gen

You can config it on wifi( on the 5ghz band or with the Ethernet cable and stream 720p no problems)

But if you want 1080p I suggest you use the Ethernet cable to use the 1gigabyte speed

----------

Also going to bed so won't answer till tomorrow if you have another question
Ratatapa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:34 AM   #17
OceanFrog
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
@ Ratatapa ... thank you
OceanFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 05:30 AM   #18
Ratatapa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Np
Ratatapa is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV 3 + AirPort Extreme 5G + 2012 MBA = Laggy AirPlay mirroring Narial Taster Apple TV and Home Theater 17 Dec 17, 2012 07:19 PM
MBA 11" i5/i7 AirPlay mirroring performance? dol4n MacBook Air 10 Sep 10, 2012 08:00 AM
Strange bug using VLC and Airplay Mirroring loboreeves Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Jul 29, 2012 07:48 PM
AirPlay mirroring on Mountain Lion not available on 2010 MBA? saintforlife MacBook Air 13 Jul 28, 2012 05:52 PM
why is airplay mirroring not working on MBA ? keevill OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 17 Jul 27, 2012 03:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC