Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2013, 03:09 PM   #251
hayesk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestonHarvey1 View Post
Why is this so hard to get? The wallpaper is just a proxy for what he's talking about. You can't lay out a bunch of apps spanning his 6-monitor setup in one space, then a completely different set of apps spanning the array on another space, and then switch between those two spaces. That context is lost entirely with this arrangement.
Then why didn't he do that? It would have been easy to do. Why would he purposefully abstract his problem?

And seriously, everyone bitched and moaned about all spaces switching together. They all wanted to do it on an individual screen basis. Now they're apparently getting that and it's wrong all of a sudden? Wow.
hayesk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 03:26 PM   #252
calaverasgrande
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ?
oh my god you cant be serious!
I've been working on 2 monitors since...forever. It simply isn't an option to not be able to expand an app to 2 (or more) windows.
Seriously, I will not be going to Mavericks if this is not fixed.
From HTML, CSS and XML editing to Excel to Logic Pro and FCP. I use two monitors on all my desktops and laptops except the Mac mini in my living room.
This is such a boneheaded stupid thing to do!
And this was to fix the "full screen" option which I bet most of us never use.
I know I only use it when watching a final edit with someone or for the rare times I watch Hulu or Netflix on one of my laptops.
calaverasgrande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 03:30 PM   #253
beaniemyman
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
wow, that's awesome. gotta get an apple computer as soon as possible.
beaniemyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 03:45 PM   #254
pcmxa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ABQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayesk View Post
Then why didn't he do that? It would have been easy to do. Why would he purposefully abstract his problem?

And seriously, everyone bitched and moaned about all spaces switching together. They all wanted to do it on an individual screen basis. Now they're apparently getting that and it's wrong all of a sudden? Wow.
Don't know the exact reason he didn't, but it could be 1. Assuming intelligence on the part of the viewer and 2. As people have noted, not wanting to show sensitive work to an audience nor set up a specific demo since it was just a quick illustration not designed to go out to an international tech audience.

Not everyone bitched about it. Many did. I didn't. Many others didn't There is no uniformity in macrumors land. I don't like full screen apps killing my secondary monitors. So i didn't use them. I would prefer a grid of spaces (more efficient to move between them) over a row, so complained about that with Lion. But it is a deal killer for me to ONLY be able to have a space per monitor setup. Luckily that doesn't look like it is the case with Mavericks. So this is an improvement, as long as Apple retains the option (which they have not always been known to do).

Noting possible problems with a setup isn't the same as saying either way is wrong. Just points out issues people using certain use scenarios should consider. For that, the maker of the video gets his accent mocked, his set-up derided, and his use scenario ridiculed. Welcome to Macrumors.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 Quad 2.8 24GB RAM 4x1 TB HDsATI 5770, Macbook Pro (2009) 15" 8GB RAM 500GB HD, iPod Touch 4g 64GB, Mac Mini (Mid 2010) 2.4 GhZ 4GB RAM 320GB HD
pcmxa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 03:58 PM   #255
calaverasgrande
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by donutbagel View Post
Nobody should really need one window to span multiple screens. Still, there should be a button you can hold while dragging a window if you really want it to go across screens.
I use dozens of applications that I NEED to span multiple windows.
Creative Suite, FCP, Logic Pro, Excel, etc.

Who cares if your wallpaper can span multiple monitors? That is nice, and I was doing that on a Windows PC in 1999, but hardly anything to cry about.
I am more concerned that my workflow and the workflow of people in the Graphics dept will be broken if we upgrade.
calaverasgrande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 03:58 PM   #256
Dudical
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayesk View Post
Then why didn't he do that? It would have been easy to do. Why would he purposefully abstract his problem?
He made the video for his stock trading buddies on his YouTube channel to tell them of things to come in 10.9, since stock traders tend to use a lot of monitors. He likely assumed a baseline level of intelligence in his audience that's clearly missing in this thread. I saw the video and I immediately got it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayesk View Post
They all wanted to do it on an individual screen basis.
Who is "they"? I would like the option to have individual switching or universal switching, perhaps by holding down a modifier key.
Dudical is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 04:04 PM   #257
almirramic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Am I self-centered when I say 6 monitors hooked up to one Mac is not really your ideal real life demo environment?
almirramic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 04:05 PM   #258
Dudical
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by almirramic View Post
Am I self-centered when I say 6 monitors hooked up to one Mac is not really your ideal real life demo environment?
It's not an ideal real life demo. It's a demo for stock traders, who routinely use 6 (or more) monitors. Check his YouTube channel.
Dudical is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 05:08 PM   #259
calaverasgrande
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ?
honestly, outside of watching movies and playing video games what on earth do you need full screen mode for?
Most of us in video production run a completely separate monitor for the actual video footage. The main monitor is for the timeline, mixer and various pallets.
I actually find full screen mode more annoying than it is useless.
calaverasgrande is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 05:09 PM   #260
donutbagel
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by calaverasgrande View Post
I use dozens of applications that I NEED to span multiple windows.
Creative Suite, FCP, Logic Pro, Excel, etc.

Who cares if your wallpaper can span multiple monitors? That is nice, and I was doing that on a Windows PC in 1999, but hardly anything to cry about.
I am more concerned that my workflow and the workflow of people in the Graphics dept will be broken if we upgrade.
Are you talking about spanning one single window on different screens or multiple windows? I don't know about FCP, but FCE puts everything in its own window, and I usually put the Viewer window on my second monitor. I don't really see how it would work well to put the Viewer in the middle of 2 screens unless there is a really tiny bezel between them.
donutbagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 08:56 PM   #261
dysamoria
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Shouldn't it have been this way from day one of Lion? 10.6.x had proper multi-screen behavior. It was Lion that broke it. So now, three versions later, they fix what they broke and are listing it as a feature?

I like OSX, but this is just retarded behavior.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by calaverasgrande View Post
honestly, outside of watching movies and playing video games what on earth do you need full screen mode for?
Most of us in video production run a completely separate monitor for the actual video footage. The main monitor is for the timeline, mixer and various pallets.
I actually find full screen mode more annoying than it is useless.
Full screen mode is awesome. Not only is there less waste of screen space, i love swiping to go from one app to another. It's faster and less hand motions than Command-Tab switching.
dysamoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 09:02 PM   #262
skier777
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakey91 View Post
Hes picking up on flaws using this feature with 6 displays... how many people use 6 displays really?

Im looking forward to this, I can have a movie fullscreened on my TV while browsing on my mac at the same time.
Not many, but for those who do, why make it an issue? if you have two, three or four displays this issue still limits the functionality of a multi screen display.
skier777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2013, 10:06 PM   #263
WestonHarvey1
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayesk View Post
Then why didn't he do that? It would have been easy to do. Why would he purposefully abstract his problem?

And seriously, everyone bitched and moaned about all spaces switching together. They all wanted to do it on an individual screen basis. Now they're apparently getting that and it's wrong all of a sudden? Wow.
The people bitching now aren't the same people. They're the people who were happier with how it was.

The Mountain Lion way and the Mavericks way are both viable implementations. It will be good if Apple keeps the option for either in the release.

Screen management is an incredibly hard problem when you get into the details.
WestonHarvey1 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 04:01 AM   #264
everything-i
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpoppamac31 View Post
I think dragging from multiple "screens" and multiple "spaces" is different. Here's a video I found of multiple displays in SL.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AKlb9SgqAg ... It's only dual display but it kinda makes the point. In SL when you had multiple displays they were all extensions of the same space. Now Apple has incorporated the Spaces preference into Multiple Displays so each display is it's own space rather then an extension of the same space. The SL style stills seems to be the best way and it can appeal to those who want there desktop picture to cover all the display at once as one big pic like the guy in the video pointed out.
I suppose if you want to integrate full screen apps it all becomes far more complex and that is what they have tried to address with the Mavericks approach. I think this approach will be what most users want but the ultimate would be a facility to leave some screens as individual spaces and allow groups of screens to be configured as a single space. That would give maximum flexibility for users to define exactly the scheme they want with setups like in the video.
everything-i is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 04:13 AM   #265
marciton
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jravin View Post
It is a setting in System Prefs that you can click on or off. If you like the old way, just choose that setting.
Where ? I don't find it?
marciton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 11:39 AM   #266
theuserjohnny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestonHarvey1 View Post
It's not the wallpaper. It is not being able to switch all monitors at the same time. You can't cover an array of monitors with a single space, and switch between spaces like you can now.
That was my biggest gripe with using multiple screens. I would want to switch on one monitor but it would switch on the other as well and it just got annoying so I just stopped using multiple screens.

So happy they changed it!
__________________
2013 13' Macbook Air, 1.3GHz, 4GBRAM, 256GBSSD
2012 15" rMBP, 2.7GHz, 16GBRAM, 768GBSSD
2006 13" Macbook (white), 2.16GHz, 3GBRAM, 120GBHD
Google Nexus 4 16GB
theuserjohnny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 11:55 AM   #267
vladi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
When working with DAW in arrangement view being able to span it across multiple windows is actually a great feature
vladi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 06:32 PM   #268
teknishn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I want to know how he actually switched it back to Mountain Lion mode vs the new mode.
teknishn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2013, 08:06 PM   #269
Fafnir!!!
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Multi-Monitors & Dim witted Marericks

I have 2 27" monitors. Being able to spread Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Illustrator, FCP, InDesign across 2 monitors is a godsend! Being FORCED to deal with 1 application/1 screen is simply put.... Dim Witted and a definite deal breaker! I could care less about backgrounds! I just wish somebody designed the windows that are open so you could cover up the background/desktop behind the application that's gloriously spread across 2 monitors.

Heaven help us from programers/focus groups... or is it the marketing guru's?
Fafnir!!! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2013, 12:18 AM   #270
AusS2000
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I'm with Fafnir and calaverasgrande. Mavericks solved a problem that I just don't experience, and in the process made multiple monitors far less useable.

I use 2 23" monitors. I work in HTML, javascipt and a development environment called Terascribe. I like to have multiple apps open (BBEdit, Terascribe, and a browser)each with several windows and like to have them available across both monitors.

I like the Menu bar and dock on both monitors. I don't like not being able to have a window span multiple monitors.

I never use Spaces or Full Screen mode.

From the video I get that in pre-release versions you could switch between Snow Leopard and Mavericks display handling. I can't believe they took this out.

Pretty sure someone will come up with a hack to let you switch between modes, and maybe even turn on or off Mavericks features. I very much look forward to it.

And for all those denigrating the video and it's publisher: Get over yourselves. Yeah the guy has a great set up. Being a spoilt brat about it ain't going to change yours.
AusS2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2013, 12:30 AM   #271
adnbek
macrumors 65816
 
adnbek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknishn View Post
I want to know how he actually switched it back to Mountain Lion mode vs the new mode.
It's an option under system preferences. (Mission control > displays have separate spaces)
adnbek is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Lion to Mavericks? westcoastin Mac mini 24 May 22, 2014 01:25 PM
Apple Releases OS X Security Update for Mavericks, Mountain Lion, and Lion Users MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 36 Apr 23, 2014 02:54 PM
Mavericks to Mountain Lion Angitop OS X 5 Dec 11, 2013 04:23 PM
Mountain Lion vs Mavericks Cyborg21 OS X 5 Oct 28, 2013 12:41 AM
Differences in multi-touch gestures between Snow Leopard and Mountain Lion? saintforlife OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 25, 2012 10:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC