Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2011, 07:14 AM   #26
spyroskoun
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I am really satisfied with my 1 ssd I can't imagine with two ssd in raid0 happened.
Excelent job thanks for sharing
spyroskoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 01:01 PM   #27
motoxer913
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
add SSD during 1TB Seagate recall

I've been going back and forth between installing SSD myself and sending to OWC for turnkey. But I read somewhere that Apple Certified Techs will add an SSD for you and then I remembered that I have a recall on my internal 1TB Seagate drive in my 27" iMac (2011). So then I started thinking if I could find a tech to do the recall and add the SSD at the same time that would be great.
OWC cannot do the warranty work, so that rules them out.
Apple Store will do the warranty work, but won't add the SSD.
So then I called my local Simply Mac store who are authorized to do the recall work AND are happy to install the SSD...AWESOME!!
I just ordered a 6G SSD from OWC and as soon as I get it will deliver the iMac and the SSD to Simply Mac to do both pieces of work at the same time. Can't wait!
motoxer913 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 01:27 PM   #28
muski
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoxer913 View Post
I've been going back and forth between installing SSD myself and sending to OWC for turnkey. But I read somewhere that Apple Certified Techs will add an SSD for you and then I remembered that I have a recall on my internal 1TB Seagate drive in my 27" iMac (2011). So then I started thinking if I could find a tech to do the recall and add the SSD at the same time that would be great.
OWC cannot do the warranty work, so that rules them out.
Apple Store will do the warranty work, but won't add the SSD.
So then I called my local Simply Mac store who are authorized to do the recall work AND are happy to install the SSD...AWESOME!!
I just ordered a 6G SSD from OWC and as soon as I get it will deliver the iMac and the SSD to Simply Mac to do both pieces of work at the same time. Can't wait!
This a great solution for installing one SATA III SSD (which will be 2x faster than the Apple-supplied SATA II SSD). But I wonder if SimplyMac can install 2 SSDs (and leave in the HDD) for SSD RAID 0 and still keep the machine under warranty.
muski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 06:09 PM   #29
Xenophyte
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
About to perform this upgrade! :o

Thanks for this post th0rr! The detailed instructions look good if a bit scary

I am planning to use the iMac 27" (mid 2011) 3.4ghz to replace my Mac Pro 2010 tower for playing live VJ shows. I play HD video content (1080p) in *many* simultaneous layers, which is extremely demanding on disk transfer speeds.

After much research on SSDs, I have decided on the OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOPs edition, as this looks to be about 50Mb/sec faster than OWC Mercury Extreme 6G on incompressible data. Since I will be doing mostly compressed video, nearly all the data transfer will be incompressible.

I checked with OWC and they weren't aware that RAID 0 SSDs on a 2011 iMac was possible... I pointed them to this thread

I will be replacing the hard drive with a 3TB Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000, which is not quite as good as the Ultrastar enterprise version of the drive, but perhaps the second-best 3TB drive on the market. I have Ultrastars in my RAID system.

One thing I'm concerned about is the thermal sensor on the hard drive: It looks like OWC is using sensors from Gravis.de to remedy the reporting problems in Apple Hardware Test and the fan-speed issues. I may have to install Fan Control or similar unless someone can point me to a hardware sensor. Ifixit.com did not return any results on "optical sensor" for the 2011 iMac

Well, I'll let you guys know how it goes - I'm a bit nervous on this upgrade but have built 5 PCs and tinkered with many Macs, so I should be okay following the instructions carefully. Wish me well!
Xenophyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 11:41 PM   #30
Xenophyte
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenophyte View Post
One thing I'm concerned about is the thermal sensor on the hard drive: It looks like OWC is using sensors from Gravis.de to remedy the reporting problems in Apple Hardware Test and the fan-speed issues. I may have to install Fan Control or similar unless someone can point me to a hardware sensor. Ifixit.com did not return any results on "optical sensor" for the 2011 iMac
I am told on an Apple support forum that the iMac 2011 27" does not use a thermal sensor via a special cable on the hard drive -- can anyone verify this?

Update:

Found @: http://www.hardmac.com/news/2011/05/...-the-2011-imac

"It is the solution provided by Apple on the models coming with an SSD: short-circuit pins 2 and 7 on the power supply cable.
...
[On the] 2011 model ... the [disk temperature?] information now goes through pin 11 of the power supply connector, which is normally used to light-up a LED during disk activity. In prodder to change the use of that pin, a specific firmware was needed, which explains the reason that only disks sold by Apple in the iMac don't have any problem."

Last edited by Xenophyte; Mar 2, 2012 at 05:48 PM.
Xenophyte is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 11:25 PM   #31
bozzygti
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
i have 2011 imac 27 i7 just put ssd in..

i just took my 3.5 drive out and made custom bracket from apples factory one for the owc ssd 6g hard drive.. i had a problem with the fan ramping up so i look all around and i found that company call hdd fan control had the fix so i bought it.. it does the job.. i just wish i new how one day..now I'm going to make a new bracket to but two ssd in the 3.5 slot..
http://www.hddfancontrol.com/Users/c...p/IMG_4795.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	imac.jpg
Views:	398
Size:	1.22 MB
ID:	329483   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4795.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	1.21 MB
ID:	329484  
bozzygti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 09:09 AM   #32
Drag'nGT
macrumors 68000
 
Drag'nGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
This is exactly the thread I was looking for. I just got a 128gb SSD as a gift and really thought the safest thing for me to do is sell it and get one 256gb SSD. But then I thought that I could buy another and put it in Raid 0. To those of you with two drives in Raid 0, how reliable is the software raid in Mac OS and have you had good luck with your drives?

Do people warn about Raid 0 no matter what drive (hdd/ssd) you use?
What steps do you take to protect against the drive failing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bozzygti View Post
i just took my 3.5 drive out and made custom bracket from apples factory one for the owc ssd 6g hard drive.. i had a problem with the fan ramping up so i look all around and i found that company call hdd fan control had the fix so i bought it.. it does the job.. i just wish i new how one day..now I'm going to make a new bracket to but two ssd in the 3.5 slot..
http://www.hddfancontrol.com/Users/c...p/IMG_4795.jpg
Would you happen to have a guide on what you did to get two drives to use that mount? Or more pics of the final version? Also, did you just simply use the wires from the optical drive and not have to take the logic board out?
__________________
You had me at
In love with my rMBP.
Drag'nGT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 02:41 PM   #33
Gebekophli
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Berlin-Germany
Not two SSDs in the GPU airway without pressure walls

Dear Threadstarter th0rr,

Your advice, how to CONNECT the two SSDs is really good. You get the both SSDs at the SATA III ports and change the HDD to the SATA II port of the former ODD.
You leave the HDD power Connector, which is a special construction, not a SATA POWER plug, untouched so you will not get any fan-speed problems. So far everything is okay.

But this is not okay, cause it will or it could be the source of damage the GPU.
"Once you have all the cables in place I recommend you to remove that fake SSD wall so you gain enough space for two SSDs".

But, this advice is not acceptable, cause you corrupt the GPU cooling system, when you remove the "fake SSD wall". The name of that wall is "pressure wall" and Apple needed 4 or 5 years to construct them, in order to prevent recirculating hot air in the iMacs. I showed this parts in this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...1101370&page=7

(There is Hope for iMac 27" Display - Black Spots/Smudges/Dust in the display FIXED!)

It is not a thread about the installation of two SSDs, but about wrong airflow in iMacs. please look at the pictures in #156 and learn the essentials about high and low pressure side of the airflow in an iMac.

The first photo: If you remove the pressure wall No. 2, the airflow is no more directed right through the GPU heatsink of the heatpipe. If you don't mount the SSD on the three sockets you can see in the photo, you will corrupt the airflow underneath.

The fourth photo: The second SSD does definitely not belong into the GPU airway space too. It has its own place between the GPU heatsink and the HDD, where the original Apple SSDs is mounted. Please look at the INTEL 510 SSD. It is taped to the back wall, no original SSD pressure wall, but the SSD is in the "bay" of the "fake SSD wall" which you should not remove.
The HDD is not mounted in this picture, but it fits into its original place as before.

All the other posts it the thread are dealing with the airflow in an iMac, which is not to neglect.

My advice is: First SSD needs a bracket to mount it on the sockets.
Second SSD has its place there, where Apple mounts the SSD originally.

Last edited by Gebekophli; May 13, 2012 at 02:47 PM. Reason: spelling mistakes by autocorrecture
Gebekophli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2012, 06:15 PM   #34
nathanjbrown
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bozzygti View Post
i just took my 3.5 drive out and made custom bracket from apples factory one for the owc ssd 6g hard drive.. i had a problem with the fan ramping up so i look all around and i found that company call hdd fan control had the fix so i bought it.. it does the job.. i just wish i new how one day..now I'm going to make a new bracket to but two ssd in the 3.5 slot..
http://www.hddfancontrol.com/Users/c...p/IMG_4795.jpg
Hi bozzygti,

Did you manage to fit two SSDs into your iMac using a custom bracket? I plan on installing at least one SSD using a similar customized bracket as you pictured. I'd be interested to know if two fit within that bracket. I'm not a fan of installing a second SSD with double-sided tape.

Thanks!

Nathan
nathanjbrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 12:15 PM   #35
patned
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
block size / fans

I have bought 2 x Kingston HyperX (blue one with latest firmware) and build them in my iMac 27 mid 2011, but I was wondering what blocksize you used and why? I found this URL: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/sto...d-raid0_2.html and as far I can see 32Kb block size (default value in IOS) is not so bad.

I also noticed that my fans were spinning faster then they use to spin with the 7200rpm harddrive. So I bought http://www.hddfancontrol.com/ and the fans are not spinning anymore, but will start when 50 degrees celcius is reach, and still have to test for the next days if this will occurs. But I do not know why the HDD sensor is not able to sens the temp anymore?

I hope you have some answers for me...
patned is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 08:11 PM   #36
amd is the best
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by th0rr View Post
I tested speed of my disks before the update of program DiskSpeedTest. I remember that they wrote in the updated version that they made some tweaks to tests and should now show results more accurately.

If I repeat the test I got similar results as you guys. Only half speed when writing data. Should we try any other disk speed software? Any suggestions?

Edit: I started googling after taking another Disk Speed Test and found interesting comments about the update of a program on the Mac App Store application page:



and this one:



Source: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/black...25264550?mt=12

So is completely possible what they're saying.
Thank you very much for the write up and explanation of why the new version of BlackMagic Disk speed test seems off. I was worried that there was something wrong with my OCZ Vertex 3 (not in raid) when it's reading much lower on this tool. Xbench and AJA System test both read normal speeds for my drive though.

Subscribing
__________________
Mid 2011 27" i7 3.4 iMac, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 16GB memory
Mid 2012 11" i7 2.0 MacBook Air 256GB, 8GB memory
iPhone 5 16GB, Apple TV2, Airport Extreme5, Airport Express2 (X2)
amd is the best is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:07 AM   #37
DrJack6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I forgot to look how old this forum is but anyway... Bro you went through a lot to install that. I did it too. But without removing the logic board... Just hook ssd1 up to the top sata 3 port. Remove the optical drive. Use mini sata to sata adapter cable to re-hook the optical drives connector to the hard drive. Re-route the hard drive cable to the 2nd ssd. That method took 15 minutes and no logic board removal or cable customization. Just for future reference.
DrJack6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:35 AM   #38
Yougotcarved
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Wow those R/W speeds are amazing! Congratulations I'm well impressed.

Question for you guys: I love those speeds, but I currently have a Fusion drive. Would it make a big difference to have my boot drive as RAID 0 SSDs or would it be better just to get an external with those high speeds since its mainly file transfer that would benefit from those speeds as opposed to opening apps.
Yougotcarved is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 09:58 AM   #39
DrJack6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Remember this is 2011 not 2012. I think you have a 2012
DrJack6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 10:18 AM   #40
itsamacthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Thats an awesome MOD
itsamacthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:37 PM   #41
DrJack6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
This is a REAL Imac.

View the attached image. Thats real Imac Speed. And a hot girlfriend just to rub it in lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (3).JPG
Views:	103
Size:	2.18 MB
ID:	396989  
DrJack6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 07:10 PM   #42
Mike in Kansas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Metro Kansas City
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJack6 View Post
View the attached image. Thats real Imac Speed. And a hot girlfriend just to rub it in lol
I think somebody is over-compensating for something....
__________________
13" 2012 MBA/i7/8GB/256GB
24" 2008 iMac/2.8GHz/6GB/240GB SSD & 2TB FW800 HDD "Fused"
2GB TC; ATV 3; 32GB iPad 4; iPhone 5
Nikon D300 / Nikkor 35mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8, 70-300mm VR / Sigma 10-20mm
Mike in Kansas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2013, 08:33 AM   #43
Bibi40k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Question windows on raid partition

Hi,
does anyone managed to install windows on this Raid partition with or without bootcamp ?
Bibi40k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2013, 10:51 AM   #44
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Look at that speed test! Wow.

Do you notice any difference over 1 SSD?
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Tags
ferme, imac, owc, raid 0, ssd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27" (mid 2011) two SSD's in RAID 0 config + HDD th0rr iMac 2 Aug 26, 2011 01:30 PM
21.5" - SSD in place of existing HDD? ng7apoc iMac 4 Feb 5, 2011 12:26 PM
How to control the Max temp of fans, and booting off an external HDD Isometric Bacon iMac 6 Nov 21, 2010 03:51 PM
Experiment: Dual 64GB SSD in RAID 0... Bibin MacBook Pro 14 May 11, 2010 06:19 PM
17" MBP with 2 Samsung 256Gb SSDs in RAID 0 UNO MacBook Pro 17 Feb 16, 2010 08:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC