Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:07 AM   #1
Carla748
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Activating new ATT iPhone 5s

I used my husbands upgrade to order a new 5s from Apple.com for myself. It might be arriving tomorrow and I want to activate it with my phone number.

Do I have to take it to ATT Store or can I do it online? it was ordered with my husbands phone number but want it activated with my phone number .

If I have to go to the ATT store to activate it do i need to bring both phones or just mine?
Carla748 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:10 AM   #2
user-name-here
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
You can just do it from the comfort of your home, no need to go down to the ATT store.
user-name-here is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:10 AM   #3
JustSoldOut
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston
Login to your AT&T account to activate the new 5S, and there will be a number to call AT&T to activate the other line.
JustSoldOut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:13 AM   #4
Carla748
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustSoldOut View Post
Login to your AT&T account to activate the new 5S, and there will be a number to call AT&T to activate the other line.
I'm only activating one phone - my husband is keeping his the same. Does the new 5s have to be activated on his line first and then switched to mine, or can i just activate it on my line?
Carla748 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:31 AM   #5
EarthDawn
macrumors 6502a
 
EarthDawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Long-eye Land, NY
@Carla748

I have done it many times. I have a family plan and we all upgrade on someone elses line.

You dont need to goto the store though.

I don't remember if I turned on the new phone first BUT just open it up and have it out. They will need the TINY #'s off the box and the sim # etc...

Just call them up and they can transfer the upgrade over.

On my plan 2 phones have unlimited and 1 has the 2gig plan. We have never lost a grandfathered unlimited plan or had any issues. IF you feel the person on the phone with you is not 100% sure what they are doing just hang up, you got disconnected right , then call back and you will get someone else for sure. Just tell them what you are doing and got disconnected. I say all that as someone who is not sure can make a mess and you will have to goto the AT&T store.

Bottom line is YES they can and it takes about 10 minutes at most.
__________________
Bring it down to the corner ....
EarthDawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:38 AM   #6
Carla748
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks Earth Dawn- I pick up my new 5s gold 64 gb phone at UPS in the morning and then I'll call ATT to activate.
Carla748 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:40 AM   #7
PingPongPlayer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carla748 View Post
Thanks Earth Dawn- I pick up my new 5s gold 64 gb phone at UPS in the morning and then I'll call ATT to activate.
Provide them with the IMEI of the new device along w/ the SIM card that was included in the phone.
PingPongPlayer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 01:49 AM   #8
sdsvtdriver
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego
Or the easier way is to turn on the phone, activate it, then put that SIM in your husbands phone and put your SIM in the 5s. Be aware as soon as you activate the phone, your husbands current phone will deactivate, so make sure he's home and his phone takes the nano SIM
sdsvtdriver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2013, 02:58 AM   #9
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Just put your SIM card and connect to iTunes to activate.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help number port- Iphone 5 att prepaid to att postpaid family plan donkeycrushr iPhone 8 Apr 1, 2014 01:39 AM
Buying ATT iPhone at apple store without activating MacDadd3 iPhone 4 Nov 30, 2013 02:40 PM
Activating iPhone bought with other lines upgrade, activation ATT question? jonfarr iPhone 9 Sep 23, 2013 04:24 PM
iPhone 4s ATT not activating, even with ATT sim gd6 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Dec 11, 2012 10:29 PM
iOS 6 beta 3: Activating FaceTime on Cellular requires activation from ATT? afsandiego iOS 6 25 Jul 17, 2012 10:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC