Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2013, 03:39 AM   #1
stani74
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Mackbook Air doesn't start

Hallo all. I'm new in here. I write you from Italy. This is my first post and I have a question for all of you.
I read about MBA with pronlems on the startup process on the power button but all were for water.
My problem is different. I have my MBA (end of 2010 RAM 4Gb SSD 250 Gb) and it doesn't startup when I push the power button.
Water never goes on the MBA but, from 2/3 months the problem is more and more big. On 10 times I try to power up it, it starts perhaps 1 time.
I tried all reset pram... Etc etc i tried all buttons combinations and even to format it and reinstall operation sydtem (mountain lion) but nothing.
Last evening I installed xscan and chessmate (two diagnostics programs) and I saw some strange. The MBA goes in stop mode and escape from stop mode more quickly and even when i shut down the MBA it seems to has not the problem (for now).
Before reinstall Mountain Lion last night, i tried to reinstall from the flash card usb, in the box with MBA, and it seemed working good.
I really can't understand what can it be and even what i can do to resolve the problem.
Thank to all. Sorry for my bad english.
stani74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 03:52 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
It sounds like your SSD might be faulty, but it could be something else too. Can you run the Apple Hardware Tests?:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1509?v...S&locale=en_US


If you can run them, it may give us an idea as to what piece of hardware is causing these issues...it could even be RAM. Post back with the test results if you are able to complete the tests.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:00 AM   #3
stani74
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I don't know if it can ben the SSD cause when the MBA starts, all seem work properly. It is very very fast and it seems to have not problems.

I tried the start with pushing the "D" button but it doesn't work (SSD bought with the MBA) and when i tried with "option and "D" button" the MBA connect but it returns the message that it doesn't work on my machine.



Thank you very much

Last edited by stani74; Feb 8, 2013 at 04:13 AM.
stani74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:17 AM   #4
stani74
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
The MBA was bought with Snow Leopard
stani74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 02:01 AM   #5
stani74
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I found out the USB key with the original system SL and I tried with start with D and it made the hardware test.

it seems that the MBA doesn't have hardware problems but it has.

even today, before start I had to try many many times
stani74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 02:57 AM   #6
stani74
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
found error

4SNS/1/40000001:YPOR-6.343
stani74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 03:19 PM   #7
stani74
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Help me please!!!
stani74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 05:02 PM   #8
abz1981
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stani74 View Post
Help me please!!!
Dude why don't you make an appointment with your local apple genius and get them to look at the issue?
__________________
13.3" Macbook Air 2011, 1.7GHz, 4 GB RAM, 128GB flash storage; Apple Iphone 5 16GIG Black.
abz1981 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:31 PM   #9
Thors.Hammer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by abz1981 View Post
Dude why don't you make an appointment with your local apple genius and get them to look at the issue?
I second the motion.
Thors.Hammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 06:41 PM   #10
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by abz1981 View Post
Dude why don't you make an appointment with your local apple genius and get them to look at the issue?
Because is gonna cost$$? But I hear if you are nice, and make a midweek (not-busy) visit they may give u a free quick (5 minutes?) assessment.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 03:05 AM   #11
abz1981
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
My understanding is at the Genius Bar they can still give you free technical assistance even though you are outside warranty. However if its something that needs a warranty related repair then they will give you a repair quotation.
abz1981 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 05:24 AM   #12
stani74
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
If I asked you it was cause on saturday morning i went to the genius point near Milan. They connected my MBA and all the first quick tests were good but it has always problems starting.

I decided to leave it to them but when I returned home I saw that the in paper they gave me it is written the substitution with a logic board different from mine.

My config is MBA late 2010 2,1 4 Gb ram ssd 256gb.

Now in the paper is written 1,86 cpu 2 Gb ram

I hope to have back the same machine I gave them. Not another.

I payed lot of money for this configuration and i used tge MBA not many times.

After i saw that i looked in internet for a logic board like the one i have installed and perhaps i found out one.

I don't know what to do.

Is it possible that they haven't the same logic board i have installed or they only looked bad to my configuration?
stani74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are all mackbook air cases the same like the new models to the old ones? Cjshino MacBook Air 2 Dec 13, 2012 05:05 PM
Quicksilver doesn't start at boot up. Jenni8 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 10 Sep 28, 2012 03:38 PM
Mackbook air - college kid and durability shenfrey MacBook Air 23 Sep 18, 2012 06:42 PM
Download doesn't start! WesleyUden OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 25, 2012 08:24 PM
After doing an update doesn't want to start visualarchitekt iMac 6 Jun 12, 2012 06:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC