Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2013, 11:23 AM   #126
utekineir
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tudyniuz View Post
Is there anyone with a top of the line Macbook Pro Retina playing this game? I'm very curious if it runs with all the options at maximum? And I don't mean 1080p, but the max resolution that the Mac offers.
lol

no

base or top end rmbp you still have the same 650m,

and that isn't pushing retina resolution at max settings.
utekineir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 01:44 PM   #127
sportster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Katy, TX
I've been thinking of picking up this game. Looking to ditch my WoW monthly charge.

I'm still on the fence with it though. I see the Mac cliant is still listed as a beta, and I've read that there are still alot of little issues with it in the mac version. I'm not really interested in bootcamp right now.

I will be playing it off a brand new Mac Mini i7 2.6, with 16gb of ram.

Should I hold off for a while or just buy it now and play?
sportster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 04:17 PM   #128
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportster View Post
I've been thinking of picking up this game. Looking to ditch my WoW monthly charge.

I'm still on the fence with it though. I see the Mac cliant is still listed as a beta, and I've read that there are still alot of little issues with it in the mac version. I'm not really interested in bootcamp right now.

I will be playing it off a brand new Mac Mini i7 2.6, with 16gb of ram.

Should I hold off for a while or just buy it now and play?
Haven't tested it myself, but with that HD4000 I'd stick to WoW if I were you.
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 04:57 PM   #129
Miharu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
You can probably play it, but I wouldn't run it at amazingly high resolution, and of course all settings have to be at the lowest possible.
Miharu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 02:21 AM   #130
tudyniuz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Amsterdam
It's mostly playable on the 11" Air with maxed out specs with the same Intel HD4000 graphics card. Check the previous page for screenshots.
__________________
Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee.
tudyniuz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 06:38 AM   #131
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tudyniuz View Post
It's mostly playable on the 11" Air with maxed out specs with the same Intel HD4000 graphics card. Check the previous page for screenshots.
hmmm,

the game is very visual demanding. I dont believe the game can be very playable with maxed out specs on a HD4000!
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 06:44 AM   #132
tudyniuz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Amsterdam
On the lowest settings it's perfectly fine, but on medium it sometimes struggles. I've been mostly playing it on medium and it's been pretty ok until now.

There are some areas which are very demanding. In some swamps and lakes the FPS drops, but inside cities it's very ok. This is mostly because there is less area to be rendered compared to the entire map as it happens when you're outside of a city.

I wouldn't recommend playing it on a machine with this type of video card, but it is playable. It's ok on my 11" Air because the screen is also small and you can lower the settings without losing that much detail, but on a bigger screen it would become a problem.

I think it would be fine on a MBP with dedicated graphics, or even better, an iMac.
__________________
Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee.
tudyniuz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 10:56 PM   #133
xVeinx
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
I haven't tried it on my mac mini yet (HD 3000), but you can run the game in a window. My suggestion would be to lower the details and run it in a smaller window so the number of pixels being rendered decreases. It's worth a shot. I run the Mac client on my iMac and it's nice. Haven't had a single issue yet.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini; 2011 iMac 21"
xVeinx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 11:24 AM   #134
sportster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by SingularityG View Post
Haven't tested it myself, but with that HD4000 I'd stick to WoW if I were you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tudyniuz View Post

I wouldn't recommend playing it on a machine with this type of video card, but it is playable. It's ok on my 11" Air because the screen is also small and you can lower the settings without losing that much detail, but on a bigger screen it would become a problem.
I'm thinking I may hold off on the game for a while. The Mac Mini is planned on being a temporary solution, till I can get a new iMac. My last iMac was 6 years old, the wife bought me a new 27" Thunderbolt Display so I picked up a mini cheap to be able to use the display.

I wish they had an option to play a demo or trial version of Guild Wars...
sportster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 07:21 AM   #135
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportster View Post
I'm thinking I may hold off on the game for a while. The Mac Mini is planned on being a temporary solution, till I can get a new iMac. My last iMac was 6 years old, the wife bought me a new 27" Thunderbolt Display so I picked up a mini cheap to be able to use the display.

I wish they had an option to play a demo or trial version of Guild Wars...
but the mini has no actual graphics card mate, thats not good for modern games(that are demanding)!
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2013, 10:25 AM   #136
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
From a tech support on the Mac GW2 forum posted a week ago;

Quote:
Hey guys – I know you all really, really, want an update. I’m still in the process of collecting a lot of data in regards to known issues and whatnot and forwarding this all to the appropriate “Mac guys/gals” but at this time I really don’t have any new information to provide. The second I hear something I will be sure to let you all know!


It seems like people are feeling frustrated. As should they. The question is - can they really do anything substantial at this point?
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2013, 11:07 AM   #137
Miharu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
They can't really do much as the whole thing is just a cider port. All the developing ever requires was putting the game in a wrapper, and I'm sure anyone can do that (and many people have for many games, which can be found from the internets).
Miharu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2013, 05:55 PM   #138
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by luffytubby View Post
From a tech support on the Mac GW2 forum posted a week ago;

It seems like people are feeling frustrated. As should they. The question is - can they really do anything substantial at this point?
I doubt it. I tried it recently on a mid-2011 27" iMac i5 3.1, 12 gigs RAM, Radeon 6970m 1 gig RAM.

The performance was terrible in my opinion. To get it playable I needed to run it at 1080p and low to medium settings and then it wasn't too bad but it didn't look all that great either. It kind of soured me on playing it. Everything else I run on this machine plays great so far, most recently Crysis at high settings in bootcamp was awesome and looked a hell of a lot better than GW2 despite its age. And that game still taxes modern hardware if you try to max it but on high it still looked fantastic.

The graphics for GW2 seem nice but I didn't think they were particularly remarkable enough to justify being extremely demanding leaving me to think the Cider port is the problem. I did not try it with Bootcamp to compare however. One huge download of the game was enough and I've since deleted bootcamp. It's Mac or bust around here.

Fortunately, I enjoy World of Warcraft which runs on ultra at 1440p smoothly for me. I've also noted that both LoTRO and DDO which are nice looking games run smoothly on this system on high settings.

For someone wanting to play in OS X, I don't think GW2 is worthwhile personally unless you are okay with low detail settings or have the latest 27" iMac with the best GPU option in it. You "might" get a decent experience that way.

Last edited by Dirtyharry50; Dec 1, 2013 at 06:00 PM.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2013, 06:15 PM   #139
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
I doubt it. I tried it recently on a mid-2011 27" iMac i5 3.1, 12 gigs RAM, Radeon 6970m 1 gig RAM.

The performance was terrible in my opinion. To get it playable I needed to run it at 1080p and low to medium settings and then it wasn't too bad but it didn't look all that great either. It kind of soured me on playing it. Everything else I run on this machine plays great so far, most recently Crysis at high settings in bootcamp was awesome and looked a hell of a lot better than GW2 despite its age. And that game still taxes modern hardware if you try to max it but on high it still looked fantastic.

The graphics for GW2 seem nice but I didn't think they were particularly remarkable enough to justify being extremely demanding leaving me to think the Cider port is the problem. I did not try it with Bootcamp to compare however. One huge download of the game was enough and I've since deleted bootcamp. It's Mac or bust around here.

Fortunately, I enjoy World of Warcraft which runs on ultra at 1440p smoothly for me. I've also noted that both LoTRO and DDO which are nice looking games run smoothly on this system on high settings.

For someone wanting to play in OS X, I don't think GW2 is worthwhile personally unless you are okay with low detail settings or have the latest 27" iMac with the best GPU option in it. You "might" get a decent experience that way.
That is such a shame that there has been no improvements so far. It really is a terrific game with unprecedented value. The updates they have released every 2 weeks all year have been fantastic! Maybe something will happen later once more devs get into OpenCL!
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Network problem playing Guild Wars 1 on Mac Noetics Mac and PC Games 1 Mar 28, 2014 04:44 AM
OS X: guild wars 2 mac beta fps fluctuates anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 26, 2012 07:58 AM
OS X: Guild Wars 2 Mac beta FPS? anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 0 Nov 18, 2012 08:05 PM
Guild Wars 2 Arrives on Mac With Beta Client Release MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 126 Oct 20, 2012 11:02 PM
Guild Wars 2 - native OSX client beta available robo456 Mac and PC Games 36 Sep 21, 2012 10:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC