Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 01:16 AM   #51
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
The Emperor has no pants

And you have a GTX570

There are 2 completely different versions of 560 Ti.

One is a 560 that is up clocked, the other is a 570 that is detuned.

You probably have the 570 version that has a single section disabled. They made up for this by upping clocks, etc.

I have a fleet of EFI 550 and 560 cards here ready to market but not enough helpers to sell them. The guy who was supposed to seems too busy changing diapers and picking Vidalia Onions. In that fleet I have several 560Ti cards. And I can attest that some are really 570s (device id of 1087)

570s have better OpenCl & CUDA than 670s. Looks like you have one of them.

As tough as it is to fathom, the 570 & 580 will remain the CUDA & OpenCl "golden child" cards until the GTX7xx cards come out. 670 & 680 will be more for the Borderlands 2 & League of Legends crowd. ( fyi, I play Borderlands 2)
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 01:25 AM   #52
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
The GTX 680 (GK104) isn't that much faster than a GTX 560 Ti 448 (GF110) in GPGPU workloads. The 680 is more of a gaming card, and sacrificed the GPGPU performance for much higher gaming performance. That's why we've been recommending the GTX 570 for folks who only care about OpenCL or CUDA, and the GTX 680 for those who care more about games.
I know it's an awesome card probably the best card out there right now, that's why I asked the question about it working properly.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:03 PM   #53
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
In that fleet I have several 560Ti cards. And I can attest that some are really 570s (device id of 1087)
Yeah the GTX 560 Ti 448 is the stripped-down GF110, while the GTX 560 Ti is a GF114, as I understand it.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:08 PM   #54
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Yeah the GTX 560 Ti 448 is the stripped-down GF110, while the GTX 560 Ti is a GF114, as I understand it.
I was playing around and trying to flash my Windows overclocks on to it today and that is the device ID that came up.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 07:13 AM   #55
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Here is my new Apple 5770...

**edit** never mind that was the simple scene
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-02-06 at 2.09.28 PM.png
Views:	16
Size:	30.2 KB
ID:	394879  
GermanyChris is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 11:22 AM   #56
digitalgum
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
There are 3 shots from Hexedit, one showing the header where you can see overall length of the file. You should verify that the length DOES NOT CHANGE AT ALL during your fix. I also have included the string you search for and how it looks once it has been replaced. And then I show the screen from Disk Utility where the permissions are being repaired.
With the release of OSX 10.8.3 do we need to apply this hack still...

Are the 6xx 4gb cards being supported??

Curious as I am looking into ASUS GTX 670-DC2-4GD5 DirectCU II as finding a gtx 570 is taking too long (for CUDA and openCL)

digitalgum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2013, 12:23 PM   #57
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by comatory View Post
From what I know CUDA is only support in Adobe products, Final Cut Pro X uses GPU in some other manner.
Search this doc for "CUDA": http://www.nvidia.com/docs/IO/123576...log-lowres.pdf

Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 12:01 PM   #58
alanwheeler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
gigabyte gtx 680 4gb

Quote:
Originally Posted by cristtiah View Post
anyone out there?

MSI GTX 680 4GB have been in newegg's shopping cart bin for 4 days now lol
Using 10.8.4 on my GB motherboard, 3770K 32 gb ram works out of the box,
even shows exact card with 4096 gb in about this mac! only problem I'm having is openCl is slow, when tested only does a bit better then my radeon 6870 1GB card! tried the openCl edit, no luck! runs more the twice as fast on the pc side!
any help?
Thanks
Alan
alanwheeler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 12:11 PM   #59
alanwheeler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
GTX 680 4GB (gigabyte card)

Okay, Just installed this card, works out of the box and system reports it properly , no problems, full boot screen with graphics enabler yes or no!
start ups are much faster then my Radeon 6870 with 1 GB ram, the wheel on startup spins less then twice! Radeon 5.5 times, Anyway the thing is it does not test well, openCl ocean wave test is around 560, should be around 1400, I tried the openCl edit and still the same,
System is a Gigabyte board, 3770K, 32 Gb ram, OS 10.8.4

Any help would be great, but again, this card works 100% otherwise
alanwheeler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 12:26 PM   #60
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanwheeler View Post
start ups are much faster then my Radeon 6870 with 1 GB ram...
Holy placebo Alan!
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333

Last edited by derbothaus; Jul 14, 2013 at 01:21 PM.
derbothaus is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleep issues with 5.1 and GTX 680 4GB Lucas Godfrey Mac Pro 8 Feb 6, 2014 08:56 AM
GTX 680 4GB Classified issues on mac 3,1 BlueQube Mac Pro 1 Oct 27, 2013 06:49 AM
GTX 670 4 GB - How to enable CUDA and openCL xav8tor Mac Pro 23 Jan 1, 2013 11:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC