Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:05 PM   #1
mstruve
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Is it possible to reuse my old micro sim?

Hi, I've just got an iPhone 5 and am selling my 4s to my brother. I've transferred my number to the new nano sim so the old micro sim is effectively 'blank'.

Is it possible for my brother to transfer his number to the micro sim or does he need a new SIM card?

Thanks
mstruve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:06 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
No, he will need a new micro sim.
You can only transfer the number to unactivated sims.
Your old one was already activated with a different number before so you cant change it now.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:06 PM   #3
mstruve
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ok thanks very much.
mstruve is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:07 PM   #4
needfx
macrumors 68020
 
needfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: macrumors apparently
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstruve View Post
Hi, I've just got an iPhone 5 and am selling my 4s to my brother. I've transferred my number to the new nano sim so the old micro sim is effectively 'blank'.

Is it possible for my brother to transfer his number to the micro sim or does he need a new SIM card?

Thanks
I can hardly see a carrier reusing a sim, but what the hey, give it a go
__________________
flickr, amphipolis
needfx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:08 PM   #5
XboxMySocks
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
No, he will need a new micro sim.
You can only transfer the number to unactivated sims.
Your old one was already activated with a different number before so you cant change it now.
This is completely wrong. You can activate the SIM with any number, you just have to be authourised under the the original account. Don't buy a new one
__________________
Out of Warranty Replacements:
iPad mini Retina: $249; iPad Air, 3 & 4: $299; iPad mini: $219; iPad 2: $249; iPhone 6+: $369; iPhone 6: $329; iPhone 5: $299; iPhone 4S: $199; iPhone 4: $169
XboxMySocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:11 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxMySocks View Post
This is completely wrong. You can activate the SIM with any number, you just have to be authourised under the the original account. Don't buy a new one
That's what AT&T told me when I contacted them so that's what I passed down to him. You can activate it with any number as long as it wasnt used prior and activated with a different number.
And you dont buy Sims here in the US, the carrier provides them free.
Either way I'd call them up and ask.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:11 PM   #7
mstruve
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ok that's confusing. What do you mean by authorised under the original account?

Thanks
mstruve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:13 PM   #8
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
The account holder has to authorize you to administer the account.
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:15 PM   #9
mstruve
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
So I would have to authorise him to use the micro sim? How would I do that?
mstruve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:22 PM   #10
mstruve
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ok I just checked with the carrier (O2 uk) and they said that once the number has been transferred the old sim is deactivated and can't be used again.

Hope that clears things up.
mstruve is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:27 PM   #11
XboxMySocks
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstruve View Post
Ok I just checked with the carrier (O2 uk) and they said that once the number has been transferred the old sim is deactivated and can't be used again.

Hope that clears things up.
Hrm. Things must operate different here. We have 4 or 5 SIM's lying around and just recently authourised a MiniSIM on my iPhone 5.
__________________
Out of Warranty Replacements:
iPad mini Retina: $249; iPad Air, 3 & 4: $299; iPad mini: $219; iPad 2: $249; iPhone 6+: $369; iPhone 6: $329; iPhone 5: $299; iPhone 4S: $199; iPhone 4: $169
XboxMySocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:29 PM   #12
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxMySocks View Post
Hrm. Things must operate different here. We have 4 or 5 SIM's lying around and just recently authourised a MiniSIM on my iPhone 5.
A minisim? Only a nanosim fits in the i5.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:31 PM   #13
mstruve
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yeah I'm still not convinced tbh. Don't see why a sim would be completely deactivated and useless just because its not associated with an account temporarily. Might give it a go anyway.
mstruve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 02:45 PM   #14
Vegasryn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstruve View Post
Yeah I'm still not convinced tbh. Don't see why a sim would be completely deactivated and useless just because its not associated with an account temporarily. Might give it a go anyway.
the new Nano Sims can be deactivated and reassigned a new number after a 24 hour period - all other SIMS - regular size and the microsim used in iPhone 4 and 4s can NOT be reused after an initial activation
__________________
I'd Love To Make A Signature, But I Don't See A Place To Sign
Vegasryn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 03:20 PM   #15
mstruve
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ok that seems pretty conclusive then. Thanks very much.
mstruve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 04:01 PM   #16
XboxMySocks
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegasryn View Post
the new Nano Sims can be deactivated and reassigned a new number after a 24 hour period - all other SIMS - regular size and the microsim used in iPhone 4 and 4s can NOT be reused after an initial activation
This isn't true... I JUST activated a MiniSIM that I've had laying around for quite a few years and used it on my iPhone 5. Carriers just don't want to activate cards you already have and they want you to spend $10 on a new SIM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
A minisim? Only a nanosim fits in the i5.
Yes, I cut it down.
__________________
Out of Warranty Replacements:
iPad mini Retina: $249; iPad Air, 3 & 4: $299; iPad mini: $219; iPad 2: $249; iPhone 6+: $369; iPhone 6: $329; iPhone 5: $299; iPhone 4S: $199; iPhone 4: $169
XboxMySocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 04:31 PM   #17
Vegasryn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxMySocks View Post
This isn't true... I JUST activated a MiniSIM that I've had laying around for quite a few years and used it on my iPhone 5. Carriers just don't want to activate cards you already have and they want you to spend $10 on a new SIM



Yes, I cut it down.
Are you in the US? Other than the new nano sims, the carriers here wont reactivate an old already previously activated sim
__________________
I'd Love To Make A Signature, But I Don't See A Place To Sign
Vegasryn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 04:35 PM   #18
XboxMySocks
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegasryn View Post
Are you in the US? Other than the new nano sims, the carriers here wont reactivate an old already previously activated sim
Yep, like I said, because they want you to buy new ones. They CAN. But they won't. I'm in Canada
__________________
Out of Warranty Replacements:
iPad mini Retina: $249; iPad Air, 3 & 4: $299; iPad mini: $219; iPad 2: $249; iPhone 6+: $369; iPhone 6: $329; iPhone 5: $299; iPhone 4S: $199; iPhone 4: $169
XboxMySocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 05:05 PM   #19
Kisey
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'm with AT&T and I know for a fact they will not activate a previously used SIM (I just tried a few days ago). And I know it's not because they want you to buy a new one because they don't charge for SIMs in the first place.
Kisey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 05:42 PM   #20
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kisey View Post
I'm with AT&T and I know for a fact they will not activate a previously used SIM (I just tried a few days ago). And I know it's not because they want you to buy a new one because they don't charge for SIMs in the first place.
Exactly.
In the US they don't charge for sims unless you're on prepaid and even then it's 99cents.
So if anything they're wasting their own money and probably the customers time going to the store.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2012, 05:44 PM   #21
XboxMySocks
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kisey View Post
I'm with AT&T and I know for a fact they will not activate a previously used SIM (I just tried a few days ago). And I know it's not because they want you to buy a new one because they don't charge for SIMs in the first place.
Strange. They will activate them here in Canada regardless of their age.
__________________
Out of Warranty Replacements:
iPad mini Retina: $249; iPad Air, 3 & 4: $299; iPad mini: $219; iPad 2: $249; iPhone 6+: $369; iPhone 6: $329; iPhone 5: $299; iPhone 4S: $199; iPhone 4: $169
XboxMySocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micro-SIM, Nano-SIM, and now Pico-sim? sizzlin321 iPhone 5 Dec 6, 2012 08:20 PM
AT&T tried to charge me activation fees because I switched my micro sim to nano sim! aziatiklover iPhone 0 Oct 26, 2012 01:03 AM
CONFIRMED: Cutting AT& Micro-SIM to Nano-SIM size works! cbcarbaj iPhone 0 Sep 23, 2012 03:17 PM
Verizon iPhone5 nano SIM removable - micro SIM compatible? Robertsmania iPhone 18 Sep 16, 2012 07:23 PM
How to cut down and sand your SIM or Micro SIM to a Nano SIM for iPhone 5 codeus iPhone 7 Sep 14, 2012 09:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC