Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 15, 2012, 05:07 AM   #26
Tobias Funke
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazednSleepy View Post
Don't you love it when OP makes a thread and never replies to anyone?

lol
I know!!!

Its almost as pointless as posts that have nothing to do with the thread!
Tobias Funke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 05:21 AM   #27
Abazigal
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
This is why RAM should not be soldered in.
Why? If you didn't need 32gb ram now, what are the odds you will need it 2-3 years down the road?
Abazigal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 05:38 AM   #28
Joseph Farrugia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Malta (EU)
so we don't need email, TB+ HDDs………

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puevlo View Post
32GB of RAM is too much for one computer. No one can have that many applications open at one time.

……because we have snail mail & floppy disks, right?

The sad thing isn't that you are so blatantly, hopelessy wrong;
it is that you are so arrogantly selfish in ass-uming that your needs must be the needs of all computer users in the world.
Joseph Farrugia is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 06:21 AM   #29
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abazigal View Post
Why? If you didn't need 32gb ram now, what are the odds you will need it 2-3 years down the road?
Because of continuously increasing application and OS bloat.

You also shouldn't only count the native OS requirements, but those of a guest as well.
cube is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 08:37 AM   #30
bogatyr
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iRyu View Post
then u shouldn't use a laptop to do that.
Why? Some of us have laptops for a reason - travel. If you're an engineer and you travel all the time a W520 or W530 from Lenovo with 32GB of RAM and a 2000M GPU is an excellent machine.
bogatyr is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 01:35 PM   #31
gatortpk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puevlo View Post
32GB of RAM is too much for one computer. No one can have that many applications open at one time.
We've seen this statement for decades. Except in the past, people weren't talking about 32 GB of RAM. Just 3 years ago, people were saying 16 GB is too much for a laptop to ever use. (I actually have 16 GB in my iMac now, I know it's not a laptop, but I very often go over 8 GB, so the next step is either 12 or 16 GB anyway)

I remember reading in a magazine, MacUser or MacWorld, and the author of an article said something with sarcasm - "Sure I'd like to have a laptop with Two CPUs and 256 MB of RAM and why not throw in 10 GB hard drive that I'll never be able to fill up." (This was likely less than 16 years ago)

So in our near future, 1 TB of Flash storage and 32GB of RAM and 8-16 core SoC CPUs could be on our iPhones. If storage capacity doubles every year, which it has! (except with the iPhone 4) Then we'll have 1 TB of flash storage in 2015. (2011 - 64GB, 2012 - 128GB, 2013 - 256GB, 2014 - 512GB, etc.) Also, if we have a Quad-Core iPhone this year, then the number of cores would be doubling for the third year too, 2010 iPhone 4 with 1 core, 2011 iPhone 4S with 2 cores, 2012 new iPhone with 4 cores, etc.
__________________
27" iMac 2.8GHz Quad Core i7, 32GB RAM; 15" MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Core 2 Duo, 6GB; Third Generation iPad 64GB AT&T; iPhone 5 64GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; 2 x Apple TV (3rd Generation)
gatortpk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:41 PM   #32
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
does anyone know if the mbp, with it's 2 ram slots, can accommodate 2x16 when they become available? is it doable with the ivy bridge hardware?
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:44 PM   #33
Boe11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirThis View Post
If you're asking about the limit, then yes Ivy Bridge can handle 32GB. The Lenovo w530 supports it in the BTO options.
I had a W530 with 32gb for a couple weeks before going back to an rMBP. Great machine.
Boe11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:48 PM   #34
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boe11 View Post
I had a W530 with 32gb for a couple weeks before going back to an rMBP. Great machine.
how many ram slots did the w350 have
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 06:01 PM   #35
Boe11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukebound85 View Post
how many ram slots did the w350 have
4. 2 on the bottom and 2 under the keyboard. Really a nice machine to work on and upgrade. I had 4 8gb corsair 1600mhz sticks from newegg in it, as well as a 256 M4 and a 1tb drive in the ODD bay, and the usb3 mini dock. It was a work horse and as close to a true desktop replacement that I've seen, and all for around $2000. I like what Lenovo is doing these days.
Boe11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:30 PM   #36
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boe11 View Post
I like what Lenovo is doing these days.
Are they shipping OS X? Then so what! (had to say it)
Aside from that I do agree that Lenovo sucks less these days than their plastic brethren. Built like tanks and now someone decided to hire a stylist.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:37 PM   #37
Boe11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
Are they shipping OS X? Then so what! (had to say it)
Aside from that I do agree that Lenovo sucks less these days than their plastic brethren. Built like tanks and now someone decided to hire a stylist.
Hah, yeah. I really liked it on paper, but I just couldn't get over the fact that it looked and felt exactly like the thinkpad I had 10 years ago. I'm sure it could withstand a lot of abuse, but it's just tough to beat the fit and finish of the macbooks.
Boe11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:48 PM   #38
mankymanning
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boe11 View Post
I had a W530 with 32gb for a couple weeks before going back to an rMBP. Great machine.
I have just switched from a 2011 MBP to a W530 with 32GB RAM. It pains me to leave Mac land on my work machine but I need the RAM, I do loads of work in virtual machines, I often need 2 or 3 open at once where one needs 16GB of RAM alone.

I know users requiring 32GB are a very small niche but we exist. I think the thing I miss most is the Macbook's trackpad.

The Lenovo is a great laptop though, much better than a Dell Precision a colleague recently bought.

Still got my 32GB iMac at home though
__________________
Late 2013 15" 2.6GHz rMBP 16GB/1TB, 27" 3.4GHz iMac 32GB, Alu Mac mini 8GB, iPhone 5S
mankymanning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:56 PM   #39
vpro
macrumors 6502a
 
vpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
oh my friend you are so wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puevlo View Post
32GB of RAM is too much for one computer. No one can have that many applications open at one time.
you should be able to and can have as many apps running as you like - that should be your right if you so desire, no one should dictate otherwise.

thank you.
__________________
15" 2.8Ghz 16GB, 1TB|17" 2.5Ghz 16GB, 520GB SSD+980GB RAID|Mac Pro 3.0GHz 32GB, 1TB
vpro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:38 PM   #40
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puevlo View Post
32GB of RAM is too much for one computer. No one can have that many applications open at one time.
Huh, I thought 40k was the most memory anyone would ever need.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iRyu View Post
then u shouldn't use a laptop to do that.
?? Do you think a desktop with 8 GB would do better?
Interstella5555 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:25 PM   #41
Boe11
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mankymanning View Post
I have just switched from a 2011 MBP to a W530 with 32GB RAM. It pains me to leave Mac land on my work machine but I need the RAM, I do loads of work in virtual machines, I often need 2 or 3 open at once where one needs 16GB of RAM alone.

I know users requiring 32GB are a very small niche but we exist. I think the thing I miss most is the Macbook's trackpad.

The Lenovo is a great laptop though, much better than a Dell Precision a colleague recently bought.

Still got my 32GB iMac at home though
It really is a great rig. The form factor/aesthetics are a little off-putting at first but you soon realize that it's not due a lack of engineering, it's purposeful. The thing is built like a tank, has fantastic cooling and the upgrade potential is in a league of its own. The touch pad is really the big achilles' heal for all windows machines. Macbooks are worlds ahead in that regard. I'm using a mouse the vast majority of the time, so it's not a big deal, but every time I needed to use the touchpad in a pinch, it was pretty painful.

I'm actually considering going back to the thinkpad after a couple weeks with the rMBP. Editing (video) on the thinkpad was just so seamless and fun -- probably do to the mercury engine and premiere pro. FCP X on the rMBP just can't (or at least hasn't so far) offer anywhere near that smooth/fast an experience. It hangs and feels sluggish most of the time. I've heard people are sticking larger SSDs in the thinkpad mSata slot and using that as their scratch disks and it absolutely screams. 2 SSDs, a spinning drive for storage, and 32gb of memory, for less money than the rMBP. Really hard to make an argument against it for a mobile work horse machine.

Hope you enjoy yours!
Boe11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ivy Bridge E alot like Sandy Bridge E deconstruct60 Mac Pro 18 Nov 5, 2012 12:28 PM
Ivy Bridge v/s Sandy Bridge & why Apple might skip Ivy for iMac ? mjoshi123 iMac 6 Sep 15, 2012 11:27 AM
ivy bridge and usb 2.0 vs sandy bridge and 3.0 aPple nErd iMac 6 Jul 25, 2012 05:16 PM
Ivy Bridge vrs Sandy Bridge macbook pro smeeg128 MacBook Pro 5 Jul 6, 2012 12:58 AM
2.8 i7 2011 (Sandy Bridge) or 2.5 i5 (2012) Ivy Bridge Trvlngnrs MacBook Pro 6 Jun 29, 2012 08:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC