Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:11 AM   #1
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
HMDI or VGA or DVI for my Mac mini?

I'm getting a new TV tomorrow that I'll use with my Mac mini and just came across the idea of getting a DVI-HDMI adaptor instead of using my current DVI-VGA setup. Will it be worth it though? Either way I'm going to have a 1920x1080 resolution, so will I actually be able to tell a difference worth buying a $15-$25 connector? Also, something about the TV I'm getting is a little confusing. The descriptions and specs say it has a DVI port, but the picture of the ports just shows two HDMI ports next two each other with one saying "HDMI/DVI." The last time I checked you can't plug a DVI cord into an HDMI port, unless they're implying that HMDI port is the only one I can use with a DVI-HDMI adaptor, which would be kind of stupid.

Thank you! ="^_^"=
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:21 AM   #2
BeatCrazy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
You'll just need to run HDMI straight from the mini, to that television. No adapters needed, and that set doesn't have DVI.
BeatCrazy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:26 AM   #3
iParis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeatCrazy View Post
You'll just need to run HDMI straight from the mini, to that television. No adapters needed, and that set doesn't have DVI.
Maybe I should have clarified this, but my Mac mini is far from recent. It's from 2006. It's only video port is DVI. If it was a recent model I wouldn't be able to use a DVI port in the first place. I think got that TV doesn't have DVI, I just wonder if they mean something else or at least why it says that.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.4

Last edited by iParis; Jan 11, 2013 at 11:31 AM.
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:36 AM   #4
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I got a DVI to HDMI cable. It was less bulky than using an adapter and less expensive than buying an HDMI cable + DVI adapter.

I've never seen anything like your TV's labeling, but at least you know one of the HDMI ports intended for DVI.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:40 AM   #5
iParis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
I got a DVI to HDMI cable. It was less bulky than using an adapter and less expensive than buying an HDMI cable + DVI adapter.
Oh, well maybe I might end up doing that. Though I don't see it as big of a deal to switch my HDMI cable around from my xbox to Mac mini. Does the DVI to HDMI cable transfer audio? I know mini-DVI doesn't support audio, but maybe it's different. Did you ever see the picture connected via VGA at some point? I don't think HDMI was too popular when our Macs came out, haha.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:45 AM   #6
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
Oh, well maybe I might end up doing that. Though I don't see it as big of a deal to switch my HDMI cable around from my xbox to Mac mini. Does the DVI to HDMI cable transfer audio? I know mini-DVI doesn't support audio, but maybe it's different. Did you ever see the picture connected via VGA at some point? I don't think HDMI was too popular when our Macs came out, haha.
DVI to HDMI cables will not carry audio.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 11:50 AM   #7
iParis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
DVI to HDMI cables will not carry audio.
Eh, ah well. TV speakers usually blow anyway so I'm not expecting too much out of them.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
I got a DVI to HDMI cable. It was less bulky than using an adapter and less expensive than buying an HDMI cable + DVI adapter.
Damn, the DVI to HDMI cables I'm seeing on Best Buy's website are like $40. Did you get it cheaper elsewhere?
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:04 PM   #8
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
DVI to HDMI cables will not carry audio.
Actually they can, but not on a C2D Mac Mini.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
Damn, the DVI to HDMI cables I'm seeing on Best Buy's website are like $40. Did you get it cheaper elsewhere?
Best Buy, oh my God no. I once overheard a salesman telling someone to get an $80 Monster HDMI Cable to "make their HD faster".

I always use Monoprice or Amazon.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2


If you really want digital audio over HDMI, I believe Monoprice has an optical+DVI to HDMI adapter. Depending on your setup you could have digital multichannel audio instead of just analog stereo.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Last edited by ActionableMango; Jan 11, 2013 at 12:09 PM.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:08 PM   #9
iParis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Best Buy, oh my God no. I once overheard a salesman telling someone to get an $80 Monster HDMI Cable to "make their HD faster".

I always use Monoprice or Amazon.
Ahahahahahaha. "Make their HD faster." Now that's a good one. I've had a few horrific experiences with Best Buy, but this TV looks like a good deal and I always check their website for blu-rays and other things on sale since they support the sale in the store yet don't advertise most of them. I'd wait longer to get a better TV, but mine was stolen last week and I don't want to wait to get another one. I need to save money for a car instead of a better TV anyway and it's only costing me $132 after tax since I have a $50 gift card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Actually they can, but not on a C2D Mac Mini.
Hm. Do you know which computers can, or would it be PCs with DVI and not Macs?
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:21 PM   #10
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
Hm. Do you know which computers can, or would it be PCs with DVI and not Macs?
PCs and Mac Pros with most newer videos cards and a specific DVI to HDMI adapter.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:21 PM   #11
iParis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
This USB-HDMI/DVI cable is another example of the confusing labeling the TV has! The page says DVI, but it clearly is an HDMI port. Then again the whole thing is misleading. I just came across it earlier while looking for something else, but couldn't I technically use something like this to adopt a second display to my Mac mini, though I might get much lesser quality on both?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Best Buy, oh my God no. I once overheard a salesman telling someone to get an $80 Monster HDMI Cable to "make their HD faster".

I always use Monoprice or Amazon.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Damn. Thank you! I even looked on Amazon and they had 9.8 feet cables for $7!

Quote:
If you really want digital audio over HDMI, I believe Monoprice has an optical+DVI to HDMI adapter. Depending on your setup you could have digital multichannel audio instead of just analog stereo.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Ahhh. A lot of that audio information is probably really useful, but I don't know what a lot of it means. :\ At first I thought you meant a DVI-HDMI adaptor/cable that also plugs into the audio out port, but then I got lost. I'll probably just go with my current setup of my video and audio cables being separate since I'm sure my stereo is going to sound better than this TV's speakers anyway; unless I run the audio through HDMI then the audio out port on my TV to my stereo, but then that seems redundant and like I'd lose quality.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:19 PM   #12
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
You can use a USB video adapter if you get one with OS X drivers, but they are known to be low quality, low resolution, slow, and buggy.

I don't know what your setup is, but this sounds like a home theater installation. If your "stereo" has optical in and surround sound, you should use an optical cable from your MM to it instead of a stereo cable.
ActionableMango is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:37 PM   #13
iParis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Welp, I didn't really get an answer to my question, but I think I'm just going to go with HDMI anyway due to the low cost of DVI-HDMI cables.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 7.0.6 / JB'n
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / 10.9.4
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:03 PM   #14
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
Welp, I didn't really get an answer to my question, but I think I'm just going to go with HDMI anyway due to the low cost of DVI-HDMI cables.
Go DVI to HDMI.

Both are digital formats. You'll theoretically have a sharper image with better color and text than if you went DVI to VGA, which is analog. The cables on Monoprice are similarly priced if I recall correctly.

And always use Monoprice for every cable you need. Their prices are so much lower than stores (or even Amazon) and the quality is superb. I've used them for years for audio cables, video cables, computer cables, etc. Never a problem.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 08:32 PM   #15
FreakinEurekan
macrumors Demi-God
 
FreakinEurekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Quote:
If you really want digital audio over HDMI, I believe Monoprice has an optical+DVI to HDMI adapter. Depending on your setup you could have digital multichannel audio instead of just analog stereo.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
I had the exact same Mini as the OP and used that box, never could get 1920x1080 out of it, I think I ended up with 1600x1080 or some such. Tried various tweaks & 3rd party add-ons before giving up on it. Eventually went Apple TV and move the Mac into my office.
FreakinEurekan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would I hook two DVI/VGA monitors to the Mac mini? kristenanne77 Mac mini 6 Mar 2, 2013 09:37 AM
Display Problem, mini DVI to VGA or DVI male cable for early 08 Macbook? peglegjack MacBook 1 Feb 28, 2013 07:46 AM
Problem with Mini Display to HDMI+DVI+DisplayPort and DVI to VGA adapter hi5grant MacBook Pro 3 Feb 27, 2013 01:43 PM
No video via DVI on Mac Mini G4 but I get video via DVI to VGA adapter iJny9956 PowerPC Macs 4 Feb 21, 2013 09:02 AM
DVI-I adapters not carrying VGA signal on 2009 Mac Mini barkmonster Mac mini 6 Sep 17, 2012 09:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC