Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 18, 2012, 10:36 AM   #201
MCAsan
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
HSPA+ is a type of 3G service (LTE is supposed to be "real" 4G, but cell providers are quick to call fast HSPA+ 4G as well)

Only TMO says that. That is because they did not plan to rollout LTE until the ATT purchase fell through. You will not hear ATT, Rogers...etc. saying that their GSM or WCDMA infrastructure is 4G...regardless of the data rates. It is not until LTE that there is an all IP network which means using VoIP, and doing simultaneous voice and data sessions. TMO is simply putting a good spin on their ability to deliver good data rates in some markets. I give their marketing group an A for effort.
__________________
Retina MBP 2.7GHz | 16GB | 768G
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5s | Silver | 64GB | AT&T
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 10:39 AM   #202
Wolfpup
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCAsan View Post
Only TMO says that. That is because they did not plan to rollout LTE until the ATT purchase fell through. You will not hear ATT, Rogers...etc. saying that their GSM or WCDMA infrastructure is 4G...regardless of the data rates. It is not until LTE that there is an all IP network which means using VoIP, and doing simultaneous voice and data sessions. TMO is simply putting a good spin on their ability to deliver good data rates in some markets. I give their marketing group an A for effort.
WCDMA handles voice and data at the same time too, and LTE isn't 4G either...unless you count the redefinition where everything is 4G lol
Wolfpup is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:00 PM   #203
BiggAW
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCAsan View Post
Basically TMO management got caught flat footed. The German owners wanted to sell the off. So TMO management came up with the idea of saying their WCDMA/GSM network is already 4G, not, and not spending the money on LTE rollout.

So all the eggs were in the one basket that ATT was set to purchase until the DOJ said nope. So now TMO has to continue to pretent their network is already 4G while rolling out LTE, which is the closest thing to the 4G definitions as is available. But it is a bit deal and cost to upgrade the Radio Base Stations in thousands of sites coast to coast and put in a new all IP switching/routing infrastructure. So TMO will likely stay far behind ATT and Verizon on LTE availabliity.
They should have done what EE did in the UK, and joined their network with AT&T's, but stayed separate in marketing and phones. The combined network would have been epic, whether through merger or partnership.
__________________
MBP 15", 2,2 i7, 8GB ram, 10.7.x
500GB Samsung 840 in Optibay (Boot), 640GB HDD (storage)
Black iPhone 4S 64GB AT&T 7.0.4 JB'ed, 2GB Data Pro
SGS III, White VeriPad 3 32GB 7.0.4 JB'ed
BiggAW is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:33 PM   #204
Wolfpup
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
They should have done what EE did in the UK, and joined their network with AT&T's, but stayed separate in marketing and phones. The combined network would have been epic, whether through merger or partnership.
Now THERE'S a very great idea!
Wolfpup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:23 PM   #205
memo90061
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I have my iPhone on T-Mobile, and Edge seems usable on message boards, but for everything else it's hell!
memo90061 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2012, 01:32 AM   #206
Lamster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I been getting 3g in Staten Island. According to speed test i get:


Lamster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 04:34 PM   #207
b.c.
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
if you bring your own unlocked iPhone to T-Mobile, can you use it with one of their no-contract plans? e.g. their "Monthly4G" unlimited talk text & web plan?

or do you have to sign a contract to do BYOiP?

also, what data speeds are people with an iPhone 4S seeing in NYC?

UPDATE:
Followup to answer my own question, was able to get a microSIM card at a T-mobile store and while there sign up for their "web only" $30 Monthly4G plan (no contract, 100min, unlimited txt & data). The service rep set everything up and my son is now using his unlocked iPhone 4S in Manhattan and reports 3G speeds. Of course no visual voicemail, but otherwise no "hacks" to get it working

Last edited by b.c.; Jan 9, 2013 at 01:37 AM.
b.c. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 04:45 PM   #208
Wolfpup
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I would seriously consider this IF there aren't hacks involved and you get 3G. If it's all GSM and EDGE, and you have to do weird stuff to even get that, then...
Wolfpup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:17 PM   #209
SkippyThorson
macrumors 65816
 
SkippyThorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Utica, NY
Send a message via AIM to SkippyThorson
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
That's why, beginning September 12th, we're stepping up our efforts to attract customers with unlocked iPhones to T-Mobile. Each of our branded retail stores will receive an iPhone 4s demo unit and our sales staff will start training to help customers set up their compatible iPhone. We're also developing iOS versions of helpful T-Mobile applications like T-Mobile myAccount, T-Mobile Visual Voicemail and T-Mobile TV (we already offer an iOS version of our popular Bobsled application).
Has anyone heard anything on T-Mobile's Visual Voicemail app? This would be the bargaining chip to get me on that carrier within hours.
__________________
Skippy Thorson @ Blogspot
AT&T iPhone 5, 4 & 2G, AT&T iPad 3 & 1, v5.5 iPod, v3 Nano, v1 Shuffle, TV2
2.4ghz Al. MacBook, 1.33ghz iBook G4, 1.25ghz & 800mhz iMac G4s, AEBS
SkippyThorson is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 04:30 PM   #210
BiggAW
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfpup View Post
Now THERE'S a very great idea!
Yeah, sadly it's never going to happen though.
__________________
MBP 15", 2,2 i7, 8GB ram, 10.7.x
500GB Samsung 840 in Optibay (Boot), 640GB HDD (storage)
Black iPhone 4S 64GB AT&T 7.0.4 JB'ed, 2GB Data Pro
SGS III, White VeriPad 3 32GB 7.0.4 JB'ed
BiggAW is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC