Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:05 AM   #1
Gary86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Mac Mini weird restart from sleep/screen sleep

Hello everyone,

I have a 2012 Mac Mini that I've only had for 3 weeks. I've installed Crucial 16GB RAM and everything has been perfect. Starting about 1 day ago I noticed it doing this weird restart from waking from sleep. Usually at night I either put the computer to sleep via the Apple menu or I just put the displays to sleep by dragging my mouse into the bottom right corner (hot corners). When I wake up, I come downstairs and press the mouse/keyboard to wake it up and it wakes right up.

As of last night when I do the same thing it shows the white screen with the Apple logo like it does when you restart or shutdown. It takes a 2-3 mins to start up and acts like it would after restarting (status bar populates, apps open,). Chrome open with a message saying it was shutdown properly and asks if I want to restore my tabs.

I took a look at the logs but to be honest I have not a clue what I'm looking at. Only thing that stood out was a line reading "Goodnight Gracie....."

I appreciate any help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	1.54 MB
ID:	390220  
Gary86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:10 AM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Reset the PRAM and do a disk check.

Put the factory RAM back in and see if the problem goes away.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:37 AM   #3
Gary86
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Reset the PRAM and do a disk check.

Put the factory RAM back in and see if the problem goes away.
I will try that when I get home. Thank you.
Gary86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:06 PM   #4
padapada
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Got the same screen with progress bar. In my case it was a bad Apple SSD.

Patrick
padapada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:14 PM   #5
Gary86
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by padapada View Post
Got the same screen with progress bar. In my case it was a bad Apple SSD.

Patrick
Thanks. I have a regular HD. I'm hoping it isn't something serious.
Gary86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:40 PM   #6
Gary86
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
It was the Crucial RAM. Installed the factory 4GB and everything is fine. Crucial is sending me a new 16GB setup.
Gary86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC