Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:08 PM   #1
domhoenig
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
istat reports - are these normal for new 2.6ghz mac mini...

just a sanity check that all is fine according to Istat....

please someone who knows let me know!

ram seems strange? is that normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-15 at 00.07.49.png
Views:	237
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	377337  
domhoenig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:13 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by domhoenig View Post
just a sanity check that all is fine according to Istat....

please someone who knows let me know!

ram seems strange? is that normal?
Everything looks quite normal. What do you think is strange about it?
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:14 PM   #3
domhoenig
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Everything looks quite normal. What do you think is strange about it?
dunno...guess i just was wondering why the RAM is constantly showing a load of it in use ! haha.
domhoenig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:17 PM   #4
RiderX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Looks perfect to me!
RiderX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:22 PM   #5
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by domhoenig View Post
dunno...guess i just was wondering why the RAM is constantly showing a load of it in use ! haha.
That is normal for RAM, as it is there to be used. Why have 8 GB of RAM and not let it be used?


Using Activity Monitor to show you CPU and RAM usage
Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:35 PM   #6
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Load the CPU at 100% for 1h and check temps again. Then you're allowed to freak out.
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:37 PM   #7
domhoenig
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post
Load the CPU at 100% for 1h and check temps again. Then you're allowed to freak out.

up to what temperature would you consider "normal" I intend to do fairly heavy music production on this machine. so wanting to be able to monitor this!
domhoenig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:41 PM   #8
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by domhoenig View Post
dunno...guess i just was wondering why the RAM is constantly showing a load of it in use ! haha.
That's what your RAM is there for: to be used. OS X will use whatever RAM is available.
Quote:
Originally Posted by domhoenig View Post
up to what temperature would you consider "normal" I intend to do fairly heavy music production on this machine. so wanting to be able to monitor this!
You don't really have to monitor temps, as your Mac does that for you. The Intel processors used in Macs are designed to automatically shut down to prevent damage if they truly overheat. CPU Tjmax = 105C (221F), GPU Tjmax = 100C (212F) on i3, i5, i7 processors. (Source: Intel)

Unless there is a rare defect in a Mac, most temps are well within the normal operating range, considering the workload being put on it. Websites with Flash content, games and other multimedia apps will put higher demand on the CPU/GPU, generating more heat. This is normal. If you're constantly putting high demands on your system, such as gaming or other multimedia tasks, expect temps to rise and fans to spin up accordingly. It's just your Mac doing its job to maintain temps within the normal range.

It is also quite normal for your Mac to become extremely hot to the touch during intensive operations. The aluminum body transfers heat more effectively than other materials used in computer casings, so you will feel the heat more. This doesn't indicate that it's overheating and will not harm the computer to be hot to the touch.

Your fans are always on when your Mac is on, spinning at a minimum of 2000 rpm (for MBPs) or 1800 rpm (for MBAs, MBs and minis). iMacs have 3 fans with minimum speeds in the 800-1200 range. They will spin faster as needed to keep temps at a safe level.

If your fans are spinning up without increased heat, try resetting the SMC.
(PRAM/NVRAM has nothing to do with these issues, so resetting it will not help.)

Learn about the fans in your Mac
Apple Portables: Operating temperature

For Flash-related issues:
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:58 PM   #9
rkahl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Just in case, I bought one of these.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Folding-USB-...80911284039%26
__________________
Too much!
rkahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:58 PM   #10
CyAnMan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Not normal at all.

There's no temperature rating for;

GPU
GPU Diode
GPU Heatsink

*snif snif*
CyAnMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:07 PM   #11
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyAnMan View Post
Not normal at all.

There's no temperature rating for;

GPU
GPU Diode
GPU Heatsink
Yes, it is normal. The user can select which values are displayed in the preferences.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:23 PM   #12
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Yes, it is normal. The user can select which values are displayed in the preferences.
he was kidding. he wanted a discrete gpu
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 11:49 PM   #13
CyAnMan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
he was kidding. he wanted a discrete gpu
I'm glad someone saw my humour!
:-)
CyAnMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac mini i7 2.3 ghz vs 2.6ghz i7? Roadking714 Mac mini 19 Mar 17, 2014 09:26 AM
Mac Mini, Quad-core I7 2.3 or 2.6ghz jlfenton Mac mini 13 Jan 9, 2014 06:45 PM
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz Temps eyepea Mac mini 13 Apr 7, 2013 03:25 AM
iMac i5 2010/2011 vs Mac mini i7 @ 2.6GHz sc25893 Buying Tips and Advice 14 Nov 26, 2012 03:28 PM
mac mini 2.6ghz delivery time domhoenig Mac mini 22 Nov 10, 2012 04:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC