Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:38 PM   #1
iigsie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Why can't I zoom on the homepage?

It's a moronic decision.
iigsie is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:41 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
What do you mean by that? I can use Safari and its zoom function (CMD++ and CMD+- on the homepage just fine. Maybe tell us what browser and version and Mac OS X version you use? But only maybe.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:41 PM   #3
iigsie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
On my ipad I mean
iigsie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:43 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by iigsie View Post
On my ipad I mean
Which iPad (iPad 1, iPad 2, iPad 3, iPad 4, iPad mini), which iOS version (iOS 4, iOS 5, iOS 6) and which browser (too many to count)?

Sorry, I guess you mean Safari on iOS 6.0.x, as I can repeat that behaviour there.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:42 PM   #5
Comeagain?
macrumors 68020
 
Comeagain?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
On the forum homepage? When using the mobile site there isn't really a reason to zoom in. If you do need to zoom in fur some reason, you can switch to the full site by clicking "Desktop (Full) Version" at the bottom. The full site can zoom in.
__________________
Questions? MRoogle it!
Current iOS 8 "All the little things!"
MR Scavenger Score: 1
Comeagain? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:29 PM   #6
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Quote:
Originally Posted by iigsie View Post
It's a moronic decision.
You should be able to now.

Also, iPad is intended to be viewed in "Fixed" (default)

arn
arn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:11 PM   #7
ravenvii
macrumors 604
 
ravenvii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Melenkurion Skyweir
Quote:
Originally Posted by arn View Post
You should be able to now.

Also, iPad is intended to be viewed in "Fixed" (default)

arn
THANK YOU! (using the iPhone here)

I never understood why people disable it for normal iPhone-formatted websites anyway. I get disabling it for webapps, which makes sense, but for iPhone formatted websites? Dumb.
__________________
59 6F 75 20 73 70 6F 6F 6E 79 20 62 61 72 64 21
ravenvii is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 07:01 AM   #8
iigsie
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by arn View Post
You should be able to now.

Also, iPad is intended to be viewed in "Fixed" (default)

arn


Thank you.


I presume this was just an oversight, but to have it disabled intentionally is the height of developer arrogance.
iigsie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:46 PM   #9
d4rkc4sm
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
was the entire homepage in a div?
d4rkc4sm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 01:53 AM   #10
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rkc4sm View Post
was the entire homepage in a div?
not sure what this question is about?

arn
arn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 04:34 PM   #11
MoparShaha
macrumors 68000
 
MoparShaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco
Not sure if this is related or not, but the homepage text is squeezed into a very small column on my iPhone now when viewed in the mobile version. I have to view the homepage in the standard view to be able to read it.
MoparShaha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 04:48 PM   #12
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by arn View Post
not sure what this question is about?
Probably:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Span_and_div

__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 04:57 PM   #13
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
yes, I know what a span and div is. I don't understand the reason for the question.

The homepage is made up of many divs. You can look at it yourself. Being in a div doesn't affect the zoomability. So I don't see how the question has anything to do with anything.

arn
arn is offline   1 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Tweak/app to add zoom buttons or one-handed zoom to maps? Bugeyeblue Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jan 30, 2014 03:21 PM
Google's Homepage? tylerjamison OS X 2 Jul 9, 2013 10:05 PM
Firefox add-on enables pinch zoom / double tap zoom like Safari Risco Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 May 31, 2013 04:04 AM
Changing Homepage ---Beany--- Mac Basics and Help 0 Apr 16, 2013 02:41 AM
Homepage a new Mac App that lets you build your own Homepage! Dock Status Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Oct 31, 2012 01:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC