Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 12, 2013, 09:03 AM   #26
thevode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Nice. But.. how?.

I've got a mac pro 3.1, osx 1.8.4 and a GTX 670. It works, but I think not fully.



Regards!
thevode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 12:03 PM   #27
MacVidCards
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Where did you get the card?

If it is EFI, they did it wrong.

If it is unflashed, you have a software issue.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 01:01 PM   #28
w33z3r
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Is the 670 rom available to flash a pc card to mac? I can't seem to find it anywhere
w33z3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2013, 05:29 PM   #29
pixluser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
GTX670 hack

Hello Rominator, did you finally had succes to get the full pci speed?
If you can PM me how much a solder will cost please?

Also if I can just hack my current GK104.rom bios of 96Kb to get the full PCI speed It'll be fantastic.

Thanks.
pixluser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2014, 05:39 PM   #30
stevenz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wellington, NZ
Send a message via ICQ to stevenz
I've got an EVGA GTX670 FTW - Have flashed it to the official EVGA UEFI firmware, but still no boot image. How do I go about getting it to work correctly?
__________________
Y'Know, there are other words in the English language to express appreciation than "Awesome"?!
stevenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2014, 10:54 AM   #31
EHuntington
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenz View Post
I've got an EVGA GTX670 FTW - Have flashed it to the official EVGA UEFI firmware, but still no boot image. How do I go about getting it to work correctly?
The UEFI rom from EVGA is different from the version of EFI Apple uses. In short, you'll have to hack your own rom and probably replace the rom chip on the card. Rominator may have some 670's for sale or offer flashing service for your card, but there's no easy way.
EHuntington is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2015, 08:12 AM   #32
funkymothers
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
I realise I am reviving an old thread. I have purchased a second hand ASUS GTX 670 2GB which I am planning on using in my first Hackintosh build.

According to ASUS this card has no UEFI support but it can be added with a Firmware update.

Since I have not been able to find a ROM image for this card in order to flash it for Mac boot screen support I am assuming that it cannot be done?

I have looked on this forum and Netkas and there doesn't seem to be anything. The card is probably too old by now anyway but I just wanted to check before I abandon the idea of having a boot screen.

Many thanks
funkymothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2015, 08:16 AM   #33
lowendlinux
macrumors 65816
 
lowendlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: In my chair
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkymothers View Post
I realise I am reviving an old thread. I have purchased a second hand ASUS GTX 670 2GB which I am planning on using in my first Hackintosh build.

According to ASUS this card has no UEFI support but it can be added with a Firmware update.

Since I have not been able to find a ROM image for this card in order to flash it for Mac boot screen support I am assuming that it cannot be done?

I have looked on this forum and Netkas and there doesn't seem to be anything. The card is probably too old by now anyway but I just wanted to check before I abandon the idea of having a boot screen.

Many thanks
Hackintosh cards don't need flashed for a boot screen
lowendlinux is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2015, 08:21 AM   #34
TheStork
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowendlinux View Post
Hackintosh cards don't need flashed for a boot screen
+1, lowendlinux. I use PC 5770, 6850, 650 Ti and 760 cards in my hackintosh systems w/o EFI flashing.
__________________
Macs: Mac Pro (2008 & 2010), 17" MBP 2.3 GHz i7 (late 2011); Mac Mini HTPC (late 2009)
Hackintosh: i7-4770K - GA-Z87MX-D3H - EVGA GTX 650 Ti // i5-4690 - GA-H97N-WIFI - Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti
TheStork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2015, 04:30 PM   #35
funkymothers
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStork View Post
+1, lowendlinux. I use PC 5770, 6850, 650 Ti and 760 cards in my hackintosh systems w/o EFI flashing.
Thanks fot your replies, lowendlinux and The Stork.

That is amazing. So they just show the boot screen?
funkymothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2015, 05:02 PM   #36
MacVidCards
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
I am not certain how hackintosh functions with boot screen but I would like to clarify EFI.

Macs have used a few different versions of EFI over the years. As far as I know they have never used the UEFI that is now "universal" in PC world. The EFI on our cards meant for Macs would be ignored by a PC, which is what a hackintosh is.

And in fact, some of the mods to the PC Bios can actually cause display issues when used in a PC, so running a Mac EFI card in a Hackintosh would at best get you nothing And might in fact give you problems.

A better question is whether the UEFI on PC Cards can have interaction with how hackintoshs boot. UEFI in Windows world allows faster boots and nicer GUI in the BIOS mod section of pre-boot. It isn't called BIOS anymore as it isn't.

In any case, your questions will find better answers at InsanelyMac or Tonymac
MacVidCards is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2015, 11:36 PM   #37
lowendlinux
macrumors 65816
 
lowendlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: In my chair
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
I am not certain how hackintosh functions with boot screen but I would like to clarify EFI.

Macs have used a few different versions of EFI over the years. As far as I know they have never used the UEFI that is now "universal" in PC world. The EFI on our cards meant for Macs would be ignored by a PC, which is what a hackintosh is.

And in fact, some of the mods to the PC Bios can actually cause display issues when used in a PC, so running a Mac EFI card in a Hackintosh would at best get you nothing And might in fact give you problems.

A better question is whether the UEFI on PC Cards can have interaction with how hackintoshs boot. UEFI in Windows world allows faster boots and nicer GUI in the BIOS mod section of pre-boot. It isn't called BIOS anymore as it isn't.

In any case, your questions will find better answers at InsanelyMac or Tonymac

Fun factoid I put the Apple 5770 from my Mac Pro in my hackintosh and the computer started throwing all kinds of fan errors and would not boot into OSX.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkymothers View Post
Thanks fot your replies, lowendlinux and The Stork.

That is amazing. So they just show the boot screen?
PCís use BOIS or UEFI Apple uses itís own EFI, since PC cards use the same BIOS or UEFI you get a boot screen.
lowendlinux is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 01:42 AM   #38
neomorpheus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkymothers View Post
Thanks fot your replies, lowendlinux and The Stork.

That is amazing. So they just show the boot screen?
Little late to the party, but yes, efi is not needed for a hackintosh.

Thats one of the biggest advantages, IMHO, that a hack has over a cMP.

If you have compatible hardware, you only need to worry that the vid card is supported by osx and be careful that a osx update doesn't kill your hack. But so far, updates are addressable.
neomorpheus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 08:39 AM   #39
TheStork
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkymothers View Post
Thanks fot your replies, lowendlinux and The Stork.

That is amazing. So they just show the boot screen?
To be clear, in a PC/hackintosh, the PC graphics cards just show the motherboard BIOS splash screen, then the bootloader (Chameleon, Chimera, or Clover) which allows you to optionally choose an OS to boot into. The PC graphics card just displays what is sent to it by the PC motherboard and OS. So, for a hack, PC cards work fine.

Now, you need to choose a graphics card that is compatible with OS X (sound familiar?), and the nVidia Maxwell cards still need the nVidia Web drivers (and optionally, the CUDA drivers) just like our Mac Pros. The tonymacx86 site has a Buyer's Guide with a list of components and sample builds that help beginners build hackintoshs with a good chance of running OS X successfully.
__________________
Macs: Mac Pro (2008 & 2010), 17" MBP 2.3 GHz i7 (late 2011); Mac Mini HTPC (late 2009)
Hackintosh: i7-4770K - GA-Z87MX-D3H - EVGA GTX 650 Ti // i5-4690 - GA-H97N-WIFI - Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti
TheStork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 09:24 AM   #40
lowendlinux
macrumors 65816
 
lowendlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: In my chair
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStork View Post
To be clear, in a PC/hackintosh, the PC graphics cards just show the motherboard BIOS splash screen, then the bootloader (Chameleon, Chimera, or Clover) which allows you to optionally choose an OS to boot into. The PC graphics card just displays what is sent to it by the PC motherboard and OS. So, for a hack, PC cards work fine.

Now, you need to choose a graphics card that is compatible with OS X (sound familiar?), and the nVidia Maxwell cards still need the nVidia Web drivers (and optionally, the CUDA drivers) just like our Mac Pros. The tonymacx86 site has a Buyer's Guide with a list of components and sample builds that help beginners build hackintoshs with a good chance of running OS X successfully.
To add to that you need to be on 10.10 to use Maxwell even if you have the drivers.
lowendlinux is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 02:22 PM   #41
funkymothers
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Thank you very much MacVidCards, lowendlinux, neomorpheus and The Stork.

Your answers have been very helpful to me. SInce this will be my first Hackintosh I keep forgetting that it will technically be a PC!

I did research all the components very carefully which took a long time so I am pretty confident I will get it to work.

Of course with Clover I won't need boot screens anyway...
My build will be running 10.8 as primary OS (because of Pro Tools 10 compatibility) and I am using a Kepler card so should be ok.

Very much looking forward to this build which I will hopefully do over the next week or so.

Last edited by funkymothers; Apr 21, 2015 at 02:48 PM.
funkymothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2015, 03:02 PM   #42
TheStork
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkymothers View Post
Thank you very much MacVidCards, lowendlinux, neomorpheus and The Stork.

Your answers have been very helpful to me. SInce this will be my first Hackintosh I keep forgetting that it will technically be a PC!
...
My build will be running 10.8 as primary OS (because of Pro Tools 10 compatibility) and I am using a Kepler card so should be ok.
I recommend you check out the Music forum section at tonymacx86.com. There are several professional recording engineers there with good advice. BoomR is one of them and his sticky threads in the Music forum section are worth reading. Good Luck!

http://www.tonymacx86.com/music/
__________________
Macs: Mac Pro (2008 & 2010), 17" MBP 2.3 GHz i7 (late 2011); Mac Mini HTPC (late 2009)
Hackintosh: i7-4770K - GA-Z87MX-D3H - EVGA GTX 650 Ti // i5-4690 - GA-H97N-WIFI - Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti
TheStork is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help PC gtx 670 w/ OSX 10.6 fergusonbk Mac Pro 2 Nov 17, 2013 05:09 PM
Possible to flash a Gainward GTX 570 1.2GB to show EFI boot screens? Bah-Bah Mac Pro 5 Aug 13, 2013 03:41 PM
GTX 670= Amazing.... BigJohno Mac Pro 8 Dec 16, 2012 01:46 AM
gtx 570 vs 670 rubefink Mac Pro 5 Oct 5, 2012 10:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC