Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

View Poll Results: Which remote desktop app? and Why. (in alpha order)
Connect to PC 6 1.60%
Desktop Connect 33 8.80%
iTap RDP Client 23 6.13%
LogMeIn Ignition 162 43.20%
RDM+ 5 1.33%
WinAdmin iPad edition 11 2.93%
Wormhole Remote 1 0.27%
Wyse Pocketcloud 24 6.40%
I switched from _____ to ______ 2 0.53%
Other (see my post) 108 28.80%
Voters: 375. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2011, 12:52 PM   #326
Abyssgh0st
macrumors 68000
 
Abyssgh0st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Norman, OK
Send a message via ICQ to Abyssgh0st
I've been using LogMeIn Ignition since 2009, and really love it. Not to mention, the iPad app has greatly improved over the past 18 months.
__________________
27" 2.93 i7 iMac
11" 1.8 i7 MBA
iPhone 5
Abyssgh0st is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 09:36 AM   #327
photonic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Which apps work with multiple monitors?

I've been using iTap for over a year, and was pretty happy with it. But I now have a 3 monitor setup with OS X Lion, and it gets horribly confused. There is a huge offset (probably a screen) between the actual pointer position and where iTap thinks it is. It is totally unusable, and the developer does not respond. Be warned. (I suspect it would be ok if I did not need to reasssign the order of monitors, but I can't avoid it)

So what are my alternatives? Is anyone successfully using any of these clients with a multi monitor OSX setup? Does it still work if you switch the monitor order in settings?
photonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:00 AM   #328
Mdifilm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cleveland
I use TeamViewer free as well, been able to do photoshop basic editing with it as well.
Mdifilm is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:18 AM   #329
Benito
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
I need an RDP app for my iPad2 that would allow me to use both the on screen keyboard and the Apple Bluetooth keyboard without having to turn on or off the bluetooth connection to gain access to the on screen keyboard.

I'm currently using 2X Client RDP and I have to turn off the bluetooth in order to get the onscreen keyboard to work. I work as a physician so when I'm not at my desk, I need to be able to access the on screen keyboard.

I should also add that I need the RDP to log into the server at work.

Last edited by Benito; Mar 19, 2012 at 11:21 AM.
Benito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:25 AM   #330
Lunchbox700
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Signed the wife up for Logmein and she really likes it so far. The hope is if she is meeting a client and needs a photo album she doesn't have she can just log on. Also when she is at work and needs something she can view it.
Lunchbox700 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:49 AM   #331
ripkord
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
No-one using splashtop? Works fine for me

Less so since retina but hopefull that will get patched.
ripkord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2012, 05:49 PM   #332
JMG
macrumors 6502a
 
JMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
I lick pocketcloud just because I don't have to install anything on the computer. It seems like with logmein you have to install their program. Seems like a potential security leak to me. With the VNC protocol, it's built into your mac and you don't need to install anything, so why should I? What does logmein provide that a regular vnc screen sharing connection does not provide?
__________________

Mac Pro Mac Mini
Macbook Pro Ipad 3 64gb iPhone 4S 64gb
iTouch 8gb iPod Classic 160gb Nano 8gb Shuffle 4gb Shuffle 2gb Apple TV
JMG is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2012, 07:43 AM   #333
barjam
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMG View Post
I lick pocketcloud just because I don't have to install anything on the computer. It seems like with logmein you have to install their program. Seems like a potential security leak to me. With the VNC protocol, it's built into your mac and you don't need to install anything, so why should I? What does logmein provide that a regular vnc screen sharing connection does not provide?
I have tried most of them that you can try for free except logmein and they are all super slow compared to Spashtop. Spashtop is fast enough to play direct 3d games on.

I have yet to find a native rdp/vnc that is fast enought to be usable. I am on a 5ghz - n / gigabit network so that should be fine and my machines are super fast and I am on an ipad3.

For example it is faster for me to use splashtop to my desktop then connect to my server (Linux, perhaps not as good as the Mac vnc servers, not sure) via vnc than it is to use any of the vnc native clients!

Last edited by barjam; Jun 5, 2012 at 07:49 AM.
barjam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2012, 12:52 PM   #334
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMG View Post
With the VNC protocol, it's built into your mac and you don't need to install anything, so why should I? What does logmein provide that a regular vnc screen sharing connection does not provide?
Why not take a look at their site? Should is up to you to determine.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2012, 01:17 PM   #335
JMG
macrumors 6502a
 
JMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by takeshi74 View Post
Why not take a look at their site? Should is up to you to determine.
I don't want to go through their servers giving them root access to my computer.
__________________

Mac Pro Mac Mini
Macbook Pro Ipad 3 64gb iPhone 4S 64gb
iTouch 8gb iPod Classic 160gb Nano 8gb Shuffle 4gb Shuffle 2gb Apple TV
JMG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2012, 02:40 PM   #336
davids8477
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Iteleport
Teamviewer
Logmein Ignition

In that order
davids8477 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:09 AM   #337
mwfielder
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I use iTap for work, and it works great. I'm a doctor, and I use it to access my office EMR (electronic medical record) to use my iPad in patient rooms.

However, I have a problem, and I'd like to see if any of you can help.

I use the Logitech Ultrathin keyboard and type in entries. (i.e., flu symptoms for 1 week, helped with Tylenol, etc...) When I go to examine the patient, I need to set the iPad down. Ideally, I'd like to close the cover to set the iPad down and protect the screen. Or when I set it down in my hallway, I'd like to close the screen to protect the confidential information on my screen.

When I close the cover or turn off the screen---it loses connection to the server. When I turn the iPad back on or open the cover, iTap will reconnect to the server, but my application has closed. I have to re-enter the server, find my program, open it, and log back in. Big PITA to do that everytime I close the cover.

Any way around this?
mwfielder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 09:44 AM   #338
heroinsoul
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
If we talk about free RDP clients I would mention TeamViewer and LogMein.
If we are talking about paid native remote desktop apps, I would select RDM+ application with its simple interface and excellent quality (stable connection, fast response). Another great thing about RDM+ is that you may also use it as a wireless touchpad.
heroinsoul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:36 AM   #339
Parystec
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
VNC Pocket Office Pro update

We are just about to launch an updated VNC Pocket Office Pro so that it is Universal. So it works on your iPad and iPhone at the same time. For more info http://www.parystec.com/VNC_Pocket_office_pro.html
Parystec is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPad Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you use the default auto correction of your iPads keyboard? petvas iPad 7 Feb 2, 2011 07:53 AM
Question: Do you use iPhone apps on your iPad? stagmeister iPad 35 Nov 3, 2010 01:37 PM
Can you use Apple Remote Desktop to Control/Observe a mac not on the same network? apattee Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 31, 2009 05:11 PM
What are you going to get laser engraved on your new iPod? beer.coffee iPod 12 Sep 5, 2007 10:48 AM
What do you use to remote desktop at home? markfc OS X 3 May 30, 2007 07:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC