Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 13, 2010, 04:31 PM   #76
d2catman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 & VoltaicHD (AVCHD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magrathea View Post
If you have a newish MAC you can easily play MTS files:
Players:

Movist - http://code.google.com/p/movist/downloads/list FREE
VLC Player - http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-macosx.html
Toast 10 - $80
Voltaic - $35

and you can even browse thumbnails of them in finder with:
HD quicklook $7 http://www.shedworx.com/hdquicklook

so don't tell me you can't play em on a mac. Yes, if you edit them you must convert them:

FCP - log and transfer
iMovie - plug in camera and you're ready to roll
Clipwrap - turns em into simple H.264 files
Voltaic - Converts them to H.264 or other codecs

but you can most definitely play them first if you desire.
and probably a few more ....

Quoted for truth. Add to that... native AVCHD support in Premiere and the recent upgrade to VoltaicHD for AVCHD output (so you can now trim, join and output AVCHD lossless). I've never used either though.

Personally, I've used Movist (decent enough, but not the best playback on my brand new i7 MBP), and ClipWrap (use it!):
http://wetpixel.com/i.php/full/avchd...ow-on-mac-os-x

ClipWrap is only $50, it's lossless (you can rewrap without altering video quality), its super fast since it is not transcoding (something like 10 to 12 seconds to wrap 1 minute of AVCHD footage), and it doesn't bloat file sizes very much (I find an average of about 14%). Example, original = 510 MB, 2.5 minute AVCHD... 27 seconds to wrap into 597 MB MOV. I rewrapped over 17 GB (189 files) in under 15 minutes. Bam! Plays back perfectly in QuickTime with the with open source Perian installed.

In comparison, transcoding in VoltaicHD is something like 4 to 5 minutes to convert 1 minute of AVCHD footage and can be up to 10 or 11 times the original file size. Nasty!

Last edited by d2catman; Jul 13, 2010 at 07:55 PM.
d2catman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 02:07 PM   #77
bas-macfan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
VLC runs the file perfect. Just search for the mt2s file and open. Good quality!
bas-macfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 02:42 PM   #78
cmlifevideo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
AVCHD files on Mac OSX

I'm having the same problem, anyone have any links to free converter software?
cmlifevideo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2010, 09:07 AM   #79
geerlingguy
macrumors 6502a
 
geerlingguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Midwest, USA
Send a message via ICQ to geerlingguy
I'm using Handbrake to do the converting, and VLC to play the files natively. It works pretty well, just takes forever, on my Intel iMac.
__________________
Midwestern Mac, LLC | Life is a Prayer.com
MacBook Air 11" + iPad + iPhone + Apple TV

Last edited by kainjow; Jan 5, 2011 at 02:03 AM. Reason: removed link
geerlingguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 11:55 AM   #80
Sketchpad212
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
OS vs Manufacturer

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicAlonso View Post
This is not an OS issue. AVCHD was created by Sony and Panasonic. They tend to make Windows based computers.

Sony has a Windows based editor which supposedly lets you edit natively. That has not been my experience, even on a powerful PC.

One of the problems of native AVCHD editing has nothing to do with the OS. It has to do with processing power. Most computers today, even with 3ghz dual cores, cannot do it properly. So it has to be converted to something that the computers can work with.

Eventually we'll all have 16 core 4 ghz Intel Quatrapinion (silly) Macs with 64 GB of RAM. Then we'll be able to edit AVCHD. Of course by then someone will come out with Ultra HD cameras and the cycle begins once more.
AVCHD is not a unique codec, it is the most used codec in solid state recording. A PC with Win. Vista or Seven plays AVCHD natively off the card and does not need any add ons, flip or conversion. The 'industry standard...' editing computer not being able to interpret this file without importing it into expensive software is an OS problem and a software selling strategy all in one. I don't use FCP to manage my archive, I do it myself, so now I manage my archive on a PC so I can view my thumbnails and determine if it is the content I am looking for.
Sketchpad212 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 12:03 PM   #81
Sketchpad212
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Conversion = loss

I don't like to convert the MTS files because you don't retain the quality. I prefer to convert and compress once.
Sketchpad212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 12:14 PM   #82
petvas
macrumors 68040
 
petvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Send a message via AIM to petvas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sketchpad212 View Post
I don't like to convert the MTS files because you don't retain the quality. I prefer to convert and compress once.
For those of you that think that there is no way to edit AVCHD files directly on the Mac, please note that this is not true. Adobe Premiere Pro can directly edit AVCHD with no conversion. I use it all the time. It is a professional tool for video editing but works much better than Final Cut Pro. On a PC Adobe Premiere works exactly the same.
__________________
petvas is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 02:52 PM   #83
shorafix
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Try out Adobe Premiere Elements

Premiere Pro CS5 is awesome. However, hobbyists should try out Adobe Premiere Elements 9 for Mac. It actually works fine with native AVCHD, though don't expect a Macbook Air - even the latest one - to do the job as long as you use 24 Mbit/s footage.
shorafix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2011, 01:25 AM   #84
rgoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Import on Macbook not Imac

Can some one explain why I can plug my VIXIA HF M30 into my macbook and import MTS movies into iMovie (these files convert to MOV files. I try this on my iMac and the camera is not recognized I have the same software on both machines and the same OS (OS version 10.6.5 and iLife 09). The iMac only recognizes the camera as an external hard drive that will allow me to copy MTS files and play them in VLC but will not recognize the camera in iMovie leaving me to convert the movies with some other software. My macbook works fine and fairly fast to import/convert files. Every thing I read says that iMovie does not edit or play raw MTS. DO I lose a lot of quality when they convert to MOV files. I would be interested to know how to get my iMac to work as it is newer, faster and more convenient to use then my macbook for editing video. Thanks.
rgoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:36 AM   #85
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
If you use the "Bob" deinterlacer in VLC, the interlaced files from your camera will appear in progressive mode (i.e., 1080i -> 1080p). It does a great job but takes a LOT of CPU power.
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 10:45 AM   #86
WhoPhD
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Aarond12, I recommend the "YADIFx2" deinterlacer in VLC. Similar in purpose to "bob", but the difference is that "bob" throws out half the vertical detail in each frame. That's why you might notice the "bobbing" result it produces.

Instead, yadif x2 gets you full detail in every frame, whenever it exists (eg, no vertical motion).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sketchpad212 View Post
I don't like to convert the MTS files because you don't retain the quality. I prefer to convert and compress once.
ClipWrap gets around this though. You get the same H.264 data out of the camera, and into any QuickTime app.

Have you ever used the "passthrough" feature in QuickTime's MP4 exporter, to get encoded MPEG tracks from a MOV and into an MP4 container? Exactly the same principle as that.

Or, indeed, same principle as opening *any* kind of video at all that is supported by QuickTime, and saving as MOV self-contained. The same data is simply passed-through and repackaged into a MOV container (the king of container formats).

CK.
WhoPhD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 12:03 AM   #87
Eastend
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nara, Japan
Somebody mentioned handbrake, it worked and converted the file. VLC brings up the file, but it hangs every second or so, it will not work on a 2010 MacPro Quad. Playback of the converted file works fine on my Quad, however the person next to me has an older Windows Quad and it sometimes hangs on it. After the file is converted it works great if you have Quicktime Pro and convert the handbrake file to a movie file, then it can be burned into a DVD or simply playback in Quicktime.
Eastend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 03:53 AM   #88
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastend View Post
Somebody mentioned handbrake, it worked and converted the file. VLC brings up the file, but it hangs every second or so, it will not work on a 2010 MacPro Quad. Playback of the converted file works fine on my Quad, however the person next to me has an older Windows Quad and it sometimes hangs on it. After the file is converted it works great if you have Quicktime Pro and convert the handbrake file to a movie file, then it can be burned into a DVD or simply playback in Quicktime.
Do you really need full conversion, or, would a simple remux (via ClipWrap or iVI) suffice?
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:45 AM   #89
floh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
Do you really need full conversion, or, would a simple remux (via ClipWrap or iVI) suffice?
I don't think people realize that re-encoding things will come with a loss in quality and should be avoided if possible.

Because so many people need it, I actually wrote a little free GUI a few months ago that will remux many streams into more usable containers. It can also convert the .mts files contained within most AVCHD containers into .mov for example.

But you should be aware that if you are converting .mts files and throwing away the rest of your AVCHD stream, you will lose all metadata information (like camera model, timecode, ...). If you still have the whole AVCHD folder structure, you should get a more advanced converter (no, ClipWrap doesn't do that either, but e.g. Adobe Premiere and Final Cut Pro X will on import, I'm sure there are "pure" AVCHD remuxers out there).
floh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 05:16 AM   #90
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by floh View Post
I don't think people realize that re-encoding things will come with a loss in quality and should be avoided if possible.

Because so many people need it, I actually wrote a little free GUI a few months ago that will remux many streams into more usable containers. It can also convert the .mts files contained within most AVCHD containers into .mov for example.

But you should be aware that if you are converting .mts files and throwing away the rest of your AVCHD stream, you will lose all metadata information (like camera model, timecode, ...). If you still have the whole AVCHD folder structure, you should get a more advanced converter (no, ClipWrap doesn't do that either, but e.g. Adobe Premiere and Final Cut Pro X will on import, I'm sure there are "pure" AVCHD remuxers out there).
Yup, keeeping the metadata (which is outside the MTS file) is essential, particularly if you have GPS (and, probably, other sensors like compass) in your camera. It's in those files that this kind of metadata is stored, not in the MTS itself.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 05:23 AM   #91
floh
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
Yup, keeeping the metadata (which is outside the MTS file) is essential
So, just out of interest (I will keep using FCPX anyways...), does anyone know a standalone tool that will remux AVCHD folder structures (not just the MTS stream files) and keep the metadata? Can Quicktime do this, now that it can actually play back AVCHD in Mountain Lion?

Because I was thinking about adding that to my converter tool, but it's probably a lot of work and I'd be glad if it already exists...
floh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 06:01 AM   #92
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by floh View Post
So, just out of interest (I will keep using FCPX anyways...), does anyone know a standalone tool that will remux AVCHD folder structures (not just the MTS stream files) and keep the metadata?
Regarding parsing the location (sensor) metadata, I only know of manufacturer-specific tools, for example, AVCHD2SRT. It's used for creating a frame-specific (timed) SRT subtitle file off existing AVCHD videos HERE. Note that the discussion HERE not only discusses it, but also the practical questions of everything related.

(I've also discussed non-AVCHD sensor metadata parsing, saving etc. in my article series of iOS / Android / Windows Phone programming and metadata recording while shooting video / using them later when uploading these videos to services like that of Ubipix; see http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1517256 (1st article) and THIS (2nd article) for more info if interested.)
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 12:31 AM   #93
Eastend
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nara, Japan
[QUOTE=floh;16951448]I don't think people realize that re-encoding things will come with a loss in quality and should be avoided if possible.

You are correct the file had a slight loss in quality, your GUI should come in handy, but I hope I never have anymore of these strange files to work with again. It was only a 31 second clip and I needed it, from now on I'll try your GUI, thanks.
Eastend is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVCHD (.mts and .mp4) on an IPad/Iphone skeasley iOS 6 1 Apr 11, 2013 11:20 PM
Timecode in AVCHD MTS files Menneisyys2 Digital Video 0 Oct 27, 2012 09:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC