Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 10, 2013, 12:06 AM   #1
sunsetsothickly
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Intermittent blue screen

Hi guys,

Whilst working, I am getting an intermittent blue screen.

Config:
Mac Pro 5,1 3.3 hex
48GB ECC RAM
240GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
2 x 2TB Caviar Blacks
EVGA GTX680 2GB Mac Edition
- connected to 2 old Dell Displays, both on DVI.
Running up to date ML

Just while I am working (usually in Amira, but also in the finder, sometimes), intermittent, usually lasts only a second or so, affects both displays. Not related to any particular task.

Bit unnerving. Any ideas?

Thanks for your help guys.
sunsetsothickly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 12:13 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I guess your first port of call should be to check the connections to the two screens...Dust can get in there sometimes...After that, I'd check the card itself and reseat it in it's slot, checking the power cables as you go..It sounds GPU related.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 12:39 AM   #3
sunsetsothickly
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
I'd check the card itself and reseat it in it's slot, checking the power cables as you go..It sounds GPU related.
It does seem to happen when people barge through the door near me, so maybe you're right about it not being seated properly. Will have a fiddle...
sunsetsothickly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 11:52 PM   #4
sunsetsothickly
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Reseated the card and power cables, did an SMC and PRAM reset - all good so far. In the console, the windowserver had been going bananas - disconnection/reconnection of the displays detected all the time.

I am happy now.
sunsetsothickly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 10:09 PM   #5
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunsetsothickly View Post
Reseated the card and power cables, did an SMC and PRAM reset - all good so far. In the console, the windowserver had been going bananas - disconnection/reconnection of the displays detected all the time.

I am happy now.
It happens more than you'd think...they work loose over time. I've had the same thing happen to me more than once. Glad you're fixed up..
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC