Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:49 AM   #1
AbSoLuT-ZcC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
How to re-install "The Notes App"

Hello Guys/Girls,

The question is in the title.
I removed the native Notes App (because it was crashing again and again) confident in the fact that I could reinstall it easily, but I don't know how...

Seems like switching from MS to Mac is full of little surprises

Thanks in advance and sorry to bother you with something which I guess is "obvious" for you.


Cheers,

A-Z


EDIT: Thank you for moving the Message to the right forum, I'm stupid

Last edited by AbSoLuT-ZcC; Feb 5, 2013 at 11:56 AM.
AbSoLuT-ZcC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:05 PM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Just do a command-r boot to recovery and reinstall the OS. That will put the notes app back and will not erase your data. Backup first though just to be safe.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:08 PM   #3
AbSoLuT-ZcC
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thank you Weaselboy!

But could you tell me how to backup too?

Thanks!
AbSoLuT-ZcC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 10:03 PM   #4
Drew017
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East coast, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
If you have an external hard drive, you can clone you internal HD (using Disk Utility) to it and have a full backupů

To do this, plug in you external, then when it shows up on the desktop, open Disk Utility (in Applications/ Utilities) and select your internal disk (should be the second one) . Then click the "restore" tab and drag you disk to the "destination" field, then click "restore"
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.10 Yosemite
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:13 AM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbSoLuT-ZcC View Post
Thank you Weaselboy!

But could you tell me how to backup too?

Thanks!
Just plug in an external drive and format to Mac OS Extended using Disk Utility. Then turn on the built in Time Machine and point it to the external drive. That will give you a full, bootable backup or your entire drive.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:20 AM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Just plug in an external drive and format to Mac OS Extended using Disk Utility. Then turn on the built in Time Machine and point it to the external drive. That will give you a full, bootable backup or your entire drive.
When did Time Machine start making bootable backups?
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:33 AM   #7
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
When did Time Machine start making bootable backups?
Since Lion 10.7.2 you can boot to a Time Machine drive and restore. You can't run the machine like a clone, but you can boot from a TM drive.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:37 AM   #8
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Since Lion 10.7.2 you can boot to a Time Machine drive and restore. You can't run the machine like a clone, but you can boot from a TM drive.
Gotcha.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:44 AM   #9
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Gotcha.
The first backup puts a copy of the Recovery HD partition on the Time Machine disk. So it looks and works just like a command-r boot to the internal Recovery HD.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:45 AM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
The first backup puts a copy of the Recovery HD partition on the Time Machine disk. So it looks and works just like a command-r boot to the internal Recovery HD.
Right. So you boot to restore mode, rather than booting into normal OS X. Thanks. I thought I had missed something new.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:35 AM   #11
AbSoLuT-ZcC
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thank you guys.

But I give up. Seems too much work just to reinstall a simple app.

Sorry to have wasted your time.
AbSoLuT-ZcC is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best "Clipper" app for taking notes while reading? Pete Sahut iPad Apps 2 Jan 5, 2014 02:03 AM
How to delete "Notes" folder in stock Notes App dagdagdag234 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Oct 2, 2013 12:53 PM
App in Mac App Store wont let me see the "install" option macmee OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Nov 18, 2012 08:13 AM
Does the "Notes" App really dump any changes unless you wait for "Updating..." (?) benguild OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Sep 26, 2012 02:44 AM
Best Note-Taking app "Notes on a Roll" a must have Bonezales iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Jul 16, 2012 08:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC