Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2013, 08:39 AM   #76
ambia120
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
What of I don't have a phone number then what shall I do
ambia120 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2013, 03:30 PM   #77
Viber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambia120 View Post
What of I don't have a phone number then what shall I do
There is unfortunately no way to register to Viber without a working phone number.
Viber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2014, 05:11 AM   #78
tigermorehouse
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Ipod touch help with viber

Hi - I brought my daughter an Ipod touch 4th gen as I think she is too young for a phone. she wants to use viber to send messages to her cousins.

As she doesn't have a mobile phone and therefore a sim card is it possible to configure viber to work without a mobile number being assigned?
tigermorehouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2014, 07:34 AM   #79
luca111
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Hello,
here it is a simple question I can't find anywhere.

I registered with Viber more than a year ago and I still have the original sms with the activation code.

If someone were to steal that code, could it work still and be used to log on another device unknowingly?

Thanks, this is a very important privacy concern!

Bye!
luca111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2014, 09:31 AM   #80
numlock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigermorehouse View Post
Hi - I brought my daughter an Ipod touch 4th gen as I think she is too young for a phone. she wants to use viber to send messages to her cousins.

As she doesn't have a mobile phone and therefore a sim card is it possible to configure viber to work without a mobile number being assigned?
nope it needs a mobile number to work.

however there are ways to get a free number. depending on where you are located.

facetime, imessage, google hangout and more are also alternatives


Quote:
Originally Posted by luca111 View Post
Hello,
here it is a simple question I can't find anywhere.

I registered with Viber more than a year ago and I still have the original sms with the activation code.

If someone were to steal that code, could it work still and be used to log on another device unknowingly?

Thanks, this is a very important privacy concern!

Bye!
if the code is activated im pretty sure its useless and no reason for you to even keep it. if its not and you havent used it yet you can delete it and get a new one later.
numlock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2014, 10:10 AM   #81
luca111
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by numlock View Post
nope it needs a mobile number to work.

however there are ways to get a free number. depending on where you are located.

facetime, imessage, google hangout and more are also alternatives




if the code is activated im pretty sure its useless and no reason for you to even keep it. if its not and you havent used it yet you can delete it and get a new one later.


-Yeah I think you're right. In addition every time a user wish to install viber on new device, a new code is automatically sent, thus making outdated the original code
luca111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2014, 11:33 AM   #82
tigermorehouse
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
OK so I need to get her pay as you go sim just to get her activated but if I don't use the sim card often the provider will cut it off, will viber still work after the provider has cut the service? therefore you only need it one at the start to register?




Quote:
Originally Posted by numlock View Post
nope it needs a mobile number to work.

however there are ways to get a free number. depending on where you are located.

facetime, imessage, google hangout and more are also alternatives




if the code is activated im pretty sure its useless and no reason for you to even keep it. if its not and you havent used it yet you can delete it and get a new one later.
tigermorehouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2014, 12:26 PM   #83
numlock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigermorehouse View Post
OK so I need to get her pay as you go sim just to get her activated but if I don't use the sim card often the provider will cut it off, will viber still work after the provider has cut the service? therefore you only need it one at the start to register?
i do not know if viber only checks and verifies the number during installation or if it does that after that, after ios updates, viber updates and so on.

http://helpme.viber.com/index.php?/T...t/RenderForm/1

try and submit a ticket and see what they say
numlock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2014, 12:12 AM   #84
Eitzik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viber View Post
Hi,
I apologize for my delayed response.

Viber is associated with the phone itself, but its identity is the phone number with which it was registered.

So, in order to solve this conflict, what you need to do is to go to the "More" tab inside Viber, then choose to Deactivate.

After that, remove Viber from both devices, reinstall it from AppStore, then you register Viber with your telephone number, and she should register with hers. Now, all should work

I have a similar problem. How can I deactivate viber if the only screen in viber is the setup screen and enter activation code screen. There is no "more" option?
Eitzik is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know how to use C++/OpenGL/XWindows to create multiple windows (multithreading bigfoot811 Mac Programming 4 Aug 25, 2009 09:55 AM
Anyone know how to use SIM card to duckkg5 iPhone 5 Aug 2, 2009 01:48 PM
Anyone know how to use blucher plugin? Tejen Naidoo iPod touch Hacks 0 Aug 24, 2008 08:31 AM
Anyone know how to use Graphmatica? Eric Lewis Community Discussion 4 Aug 17, 2008 11:08 PM
Anyone know how to use my iPhone 3G with 10.3.9? Cheese iPhone 4 Aug 3, 2008 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC