Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 27, 2013, 01:43 PM   #1
carlosribas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Do you recommend AirPort Extreme?

Hello,

We have an old Access Point that we want to replace. AirPort Extreme is a good solution to connect about 10 users on the internet or should I use cisco/tp-link/whatever for better connection?

Thanks.
carlosribas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 02:45 PM   #2
errol
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosribas View Post
Hello,

We have an old Access Point that we want to replace. AirPort Extreme is a good solution to connect about 10 users on the internet or should I use cisco/tp-link/whatever for better connection?

Thanks.
I would recommend AirPort Extreme if you don't typically used advanced features that other routers have. The Airport is very easy to setup and works great.
errol is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 04:21 PM   #3
carlosribas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by errol View Post
I would recommend AirPort Extreme if you don't typically used advanced features that other routers have. The Airport is very easy to setup and works great.
I dont use advanced features. My only doubt is about the performance. Maybe I can find better devices with similar prices?
carlosribas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 04:30 PM   #4
talmy
macrumors 601
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Our Airport Extreme has been working find for 3 years now with 8 "clients" plus occasional guests. 2400 sq ft house on a single floor and signal accessible anywhere on our 1/4 acre property. Never required rebooting.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV.
talmy is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 04:42 PM   #5
errol
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosribas View Post
I dont use advanced features. My only doubt is about the performance. Maybe I can find better devices with similar prices?
I don't think performance is an issue. If anything, I find performance with the airport extreme better than it's competitors.
errol is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2013, 04:51 PM   #6
NorCalLights
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosribas View Post
We have an old Access Point that we want to replace. AirPort Extreme is a good solution to connect about 10 users on the internet or should I use cisco/tp-link/whatever for better connection?
An Airport Extreme would be a great option for you. They're perfect if what you want is an access point you don't need to manage, which I would argue is pretty much everyone.
NorCalLights is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 03:29 AM   #7
macs4nw
macrumors 68020
 
macs4nw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: On Safari…..
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosribas View Post
Hello, We have an old Access Point that we want to replace. AirPort Extreme is a good solution to connect about 10 users on the internet or should I use cisco/tp-link/whatever for better connection? Thanks.
Can't comment on the Cisco, but APPLE's AE is a pretty reliable piece of equipment, and a breeze to set-up, although not the least expensive of routers out there. I'd say read some reviews and customer feedback, and then decide.
__________________
Due to my aversion to bragging and clichés, no words of wisdom to be found on this line.....
macs4nw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 08:40 AM   #8
Kasalic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
AE is fine as a basic access point, and if you have a cable modem it works ok. I have run into problems setting DHCP/DNS on Mac Servers that are running as mail and file servers, as the AE is not configurable enough in these circumstances, leading me to have to setup DNS in a less than ideal fashion.
Kasalic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 08:56 AM   #9
zhenya
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
For a reliable setup with minimum hassles, the AirPort Extreme is a great option, while also delivering highly competitive performance ang great reliability. I prefer other models for more advanced features, but the AE is a great option for most users.
zhenya is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 10:04 AM   #10
carlosribas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
Our Airport Extreme has been working find for 3 years now with 8 "clients" plus occasional guests. 2400 sq ft house on a single floor and signal accessible anywhere on our 1/4 acre property. Never required rebooting.
So, I think I can use it. Thanks for all the replies.
carlosribas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 11:33 AM   #11
jljue
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brandon, MS
I use to use 2 or 3 D-Link routers, a Netgear, and a Linksys at various times over the years before I got an Apple Airport Extreme 2.5 years ago, and the online times that I have had to reboot the AEBS was when I swapped cable modems when I had Comcast, switched from Comcast to AT&T U-verse, and then moved the cable modem from my old office room into the laundry room. The D-Link that I used last before swapping would require a reboot about once every 1-2 months regularly. The others have various range, reliability, and performance issues. The AEBS doesn't have as many advanced features as some of the others out in the market and won't win many head-to-head benchmarks, but it is definitely a reliable and well-performing solution to most people's needs at home.
__________________
Current: 15" 2011 MBP 2.0 GHz Core i7; iPhone 5 32GB; Apple TV 2; AEBS; iPad Air 32GB LTE Black; ACD 27"; 2011 Mac mini i5
jljue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 05:08 PM   #12
carlosribas
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jljue View Post
I use to use 2 or 3 D-Link routers, a Netgear, and a Linksys at various times over the years before I got an Apple Airport Extreme 2.5 years ago, and the online times that I have had to reboot the AEBS was when I swapped cable modems when I had Comcast, switched from Comcast to AT&T U-verse, and then moved the cable modem from my old office room into the laundry room. The D-Link that I used last before swapping would require a reboot about once every 1-2 months regularly. The others have various range, reliability, and performance issues. The AEBS doesn't have as many advanced features as some of the others out in the market and won't win many head-to-head benchmarks, but it is definitely a reliable and well-performing solution to most people's needs at home.
You are right. I am sure it is a good solution to use at home, since few people will be connect, but I did not let clear that I will use the AE in a university. I am estimating from 10 to 15 users per AE. That's why I am asking for people's opinion.

I also had problems with D-Link and Netgear, so no way to use this kind of AP.

Thanks!
carlosribas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2013, 11:08 PM   #13
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Of all the brands I have setup I have found the AE to consistently be the most reliable router on the market. Once they are configured they just keep working. Unless you are going to go the full Cisco route the AE is the best consumer grade equipment out there.

By full Cisco route. I don't mean the rebranded Linksys or Cisco small business junk. I'm talking about the $1,000+ enterprise grade equipment.

As for these Airport Extremes I assume you will simply be using them in bridge mode as access points. With a much higher end router actually managing network traffic. As that router would be dealing with the sum of users connecting to the Airport Extremes. Unless each will just be it's own network with it's own internet connection.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2013, 08:12 PM   #14
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Review of older Airport Extreme. In short, it's more reliable than competitor products in the same price range:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4577/a...-faster-wifi-/

The new ones should continue to offer great performance.
Consultant is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2013, 02:55 PM   #15
Djtrackie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosribas View Post
Hello,

We have an old Access Point that we want to replace. AirPort Extreme is a good solution to connect about 10 users on the internet or should I use cisco/tp-link/whatever for better connection?

Thanks.
I don't own one, and I'm a big apple fan. However let me tell u why I don't own one, the apple AirPort Extreme doesn't support qos functions which I need for my VoIP/ooma, to ensure quality connections for priority devices. Something u might think about of u decide to go VoIP in the future
Djtrackie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 06:03 PM   #16
phrehdd
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I have used various wifi routers over the years including two incarnations of the Airport Extreme. I have one stored in a box for testing purposes only and the other I gave to a friend to get started with wifi.

It would be wise to check out a site like smallnetbuilder which covers plenty of routes, NAS, and more. They have ratings, tests with results and conclusions on various routers that might be ideal for your needs.

As for me, I found that a middle of the line router with 7 Ethernet ports actually did far better than the AE in general. I can say that using two AE in bridge mode works reasonably well.

There are various tweaks that can be used with most routers and the AE is no exception. Then again, there are some obvious blunders and blocks with many makers and their firmwares that prevent truly optimizing your system for max in/out-put.

So in short, hope over to smallnetbuilder and if anything, it might give you some things to look out for and some how to fix information.
phrehdd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2013, 08:25 PM   #17
guitargoddsjm
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MA
Send a message via AIM to guitargoddsjm
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosribas View Post
but I did not let clear that I will use the AE in a university. I am estimating from 10 to 15 users per AE. That's why I am asking for people's opinion.
What's the scenario, exactly?

My university (~22k students, 5k fac) uses Cisco Aironet APs throughout all residence halls and in campus buildings. These are wired to switches in each building, and are centrally managed through software. We recently got the residence halls professionally surveyed to optimize wireless coverage.

I just bought an Apple Extreme for home use and really like it, but I absolutely would not recommend a consumer-grade access point for an enterprise use.
guitargoddsjm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 10:16 AM   #18
afferennen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Airport Extreme

The Airport Extreme is the best router I have come across. We use it at our church building where 30-50 devices will join it without a hiccup. It's an incredibly stable piece of engineering, minimal setup.

The new Extreme extends the range farther than I even anticipated.
afferennen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2013, 10:19 AM   #19
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
I'm still using a 2nd generation AEBS and it's been rock solid since day one. Even with the new AC version that was recently released, I have no need to upgrade as of yet.
__________________
"Gee, I've been on this diet only ten minutes and I've already lost something, my sense of humor."
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 07:58 AM   #20
jljue
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brandon, MS
It is possible to set up some sort of wireless "mesh" using Airport Extremes, but if you are installing more than a couple in a university or business setting, you want to go with something else, such as Cisco or something else with software to manage all of the AP's. I'm starting to like Motorola, since they seem to offer better products for the money than Cisco these days. If only corporate would let us get the Motorola "keg" for the test track and car yard...
__________________
Current: 15" 2011 MBP 2.0 GHz Core i7; iPhone 5 32GB; Apple TV 2; AEBS; iPad Air 32GB LTE Black; ACD 27"; 2011 Mac mini i5
jljue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2013, 10:26 PM   #21
PinkyMacGodess
macrumors 68020
 
PinkyMacGodess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest America.
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosribas View Post
Hello,

We have an old Access Point that we want to replace. AirPort Extreme is a good solution to connect about 10 users on the internet or should I use cisco/tp-link/whatever for better connection?

Thanks.
Depending on the Cisco model, you might get better range, but the Airport Extreme is a solid choice in my book. I've used three in a rather bizarre house built with steel studs, and some other exotic materials, and they just work. I had a few of the Airport Express blow a capacitor, usually just out of warranty. I don't think they were meant to run 24x7x365.
PinkyMacGodess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 04:31 PM   #22
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Down the rabbit hole
It was better than the Linksys I had and has a friendlier UI. I did wish it had another ethernet port at first, now almost everything on my network is wireless. Nevertheless, I sold it for the cleaner setup and OTA backup capability of the Time Capsule.
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 11:51 PM   #23
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
I definitely recommend the Airport Routers.

At my office I have a 4th gen AEBS handling the main routing duties, connected to a 24 port gigabit switch with a 2nd AEBS on the opposite side of the office to help with the WiFi signal.

I have all 24 ports of the gigabit switch being used as well as 6 iPad Mini's, 4 iPads, 5 iPhones, 6 WiFi Macs and my connections and speed have been just great.
Also I have yet to do a forced restart on the router, only times I've restarted were after configuration or software updates since 2009 when I installed the AEBS's.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 6+ Gold 128GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use an old graphite AirPort Extreme to extend a 2011 5th gen Airprort Extreme? tevion5 Mac Peripherals 7 Jun 27, 2013 09:45 PM
dual airport extreme setup question. new extreme involved chuffman15 Mac Peripherals 3 Jun 19, 2013 11:46 PM
Airport Extreme A1143 dying - replace with Extreme or Express? eoren1 Mac Peripherals 1 Sep 24, 2012 12:13 AM
2 x Airport Extreme's or 1 Extreme + Express? Config Help Please! vito Buying Tips and Advice 1 Jul 5, 2012 02:56 PM
Replacing airport extreme with express. Can you run the extreme as a hub mellofello Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 26, 2012 11:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC