Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 09:31 AM   #1
asimmd
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Adding a DVD Re-Writer

I have just bought a Samsung Slim Portable DVD Re Writer.

Do I just plug the USB cable into the Mac Mini and reboot the Mac,and it will find the driver automatically?

Do I need DVD writing software to use this,or do I simply drag and drop?

Thanks

Alan
asimmd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 09:59 AM   #2
poloponies
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asimmd View Post
I have just bought a Samsung Slim Portable DVD Re Writer.

Do I just plug the USB cable into the Mac Mini and reboot the Mac,and it will find the driver automatically?

Do I need DVD writing software to use this,or do I simply drag and drop?

Thanks

Alan
There's no driver. Insert a writable disc and it will ask you what you want to do. You can buy third-party software like Roxio Toast if you want a variety of options but for straightforward burning of files to optical media, it's essentially drag and drop in the Finder.
poloponies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 10:12 AM   #3
asimmd
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
thanks polo ponies

I was trying to load a backing track into Logic Pro from a cd.

Logic did not give me the option of accessing the disc.

I think I need more help

Thanks

Alan
asimmd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 10:28 AM   #4
mjoshi123
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asimmd View Post
I have just bought a Samsung Slim Portable DVD Re Writer.

Do I just plug the USB cable into the Mac Mini and reboot the Mac,and it will find the driver automatically?

Do I need DVD writing software to use this,or do I simply drag and drop?

Thanks

Alan
go with Roxio or one of application packs MacLegion is running one which has dvd rip software in it.
__________________
My gadgets -
Sony Vaio FW290 CTO, Dell XPS M1330, MBP 13 2.4GHz 2010, iPod Touch 64Gb/8GB, Zune 32GB, HTC Touch Pro-2, Palm Pre (My Favoraite device), Dell Mini 9 Hackintosh
mjoshi123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:57 PM   #5
poloponies
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asimmd View Post
thanks polo ponies

I was trying to load a backing track into Logic Pro from a cd.

Logic did not give me the option of accessing the disc.

I think I need more help

Thanks

Alan
I take it the CD loaded onto the desktop, so it's not a hardware issue. Is it a commercial CD or one to which you've written audio files? I know zero about Logic Pro, but does it need the file to be in a specific format or will it rip tracks from a commercial CD?
poloponies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:28 PM   #6
asimmd
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
The Writer was nowhere to be seen.

That was why I asked originally if I needed a driver.

It was a commercial cd which Logic should have been able to load,but
if the computer does not see the drive,I can't do anything with it.

I'll have another play tomorrow,unless yo have an idea what may be wrong.

The Samsung drive does have Mac Logo on the box,and it say's it is Mac Compatible.

It's a Samsung Slim Portable DVD Writer

Thanks

Alan
asimmd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:45 PM   #7
poloponies
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asimmd View Post
The Writer was nowhere to be seen.

That was why I asked originally if I needed a driver.

It was a commercial cd which Logic should have been able to load,but
if the computer does not see the drive,I can't do anything with it.

I'll have another play tomorrow,unless yo have an idea what may be wrong.

The Samsung drive does have Mac Logo on the box,and it say's it is Mac Compatible.

It's a Samsung Slim Portable DVD Writer

Thanks

Alan
Are you using the USB cable it came with? Can you try a different cable? If it came with a dual-end USB are you plugging in the end with the heavier wire? If so, try plugging both in.

Troubleshooting isn't hard if you're methodical.
poloponies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 03:54 PM   #8
brightjc@me.com
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Talking DVD writer

I have one (after putting a memory card in the SuperDrive in my iMac by accident), are you plugging the drive into a hub?
You must plug the drive's USB straight into your mac then it should show if you have a disk in it. To check try running disk utility and it should be on there under devices.
__________________
27" Late 2013 iMac, 3.5GHz i7, 32GB DRAM, ˝TB Flash Drive. 64 GB iPad 3. iPhone 5S 64GB
brightjc@me.com is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 04:42 PM   #9
asimmd
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Not using a hub,USB cable goes direct into the Mac Mini.

I am sorry to say that I still seem to have my PC head on where these things are concerned.

It's my very first Mac and I wanted everything to go smoothly.

Not having any info on OS-X makes it difficult but I have ordered a book from the library,should have it in this week.

Thanks

Alan
asimmd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 05:21 AM   #10
asimmd
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Problem sorted

I needed to plug in both leads,although other people who have this model say only one is needed.

Anyway it works.

Thanks

Alan
asimmd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:57 PM   #11
Fishrrman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
"I needed to plug in both leads,although other people who have this model say only one is needed.
Anyway it works."

It looks like one USB port could not supply sufficient bus power to run the drive properly.

This is a common problem when using external USB drives with a Mac...
Fishrrman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:55 PM   #12
asimmd
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Thanks Fishrrman

It has been said that I can't use a hub for this either,though there was a Powered Hub in a recent Mac Format mag.

I wonder if this would be sufficient to power the writer?

Alan
asimmd is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting the right external DVD writer for my iMac Swordylove iMac 23 Oct 24, 2014 06:24 PM
CD/DVD external reader/writer Glennster MacBook Pro 3 May 2, 2014 07:59 PM
Help with using an external DVD writer Raechel Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 11, 2014 10:50 AM
External DVD writer speed davidra Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 4, 2013 08:43 AM
DVD writer options for new Mac? DeafRaiders Mac Peripherals 2 Oct 31, 2012 10:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC