Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:20 PM   #1
creativet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto
Exclamation About the whole RAM 1.5v vs. 1.35v

I've really looked around about this and there is no where that I could find on Apple's list.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5475

As you can clearly see, there is no where that it mentions any voltage.

So I decided to do the "right thing" - I opened the mini to check the RAM that was sold in place to me with the system.

http://www.digchip.com/datasheets/pa...64HZ-1G6M1.php (Long winded Specs of the RAM installed by Apple)

http://avnetexpress.avnet.com/store/...storeId=500201 (Short version of the RAM installed by Apple)

So, the final word... The RAM installed is 1.5v. It is not 1.35v. So that should put to rest the question if 1.5v will work or not.

(Oh, the mini I got was 2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with 4GB memory and stock HD)
creativet is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 01:12 PM   #2
seattlejimbob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks for the info.... Out of curiosity, where did the 1.35V 'rumor' come from?
seattlejimbob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 01:14 PM   #3
kdoug
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa City, IA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by creativet View Post
I've really looked around about this and there is no where that I could find on Apple's list.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5475

As you can clearly see, there is no where that it mentions any voltage.

So I decided to do the "right thing" - I opened the mini to check the RAM that was sold in place to me with the system.

http://www.digchip.com/datasheets/pa...64HZ-1G6M1.php (Long winded Specs of the RAM installed by Apple)

http://avnetexpress.avnet.com/store/...storeId=500201 (Short version of the RAM installed by Apple)

So, the final word... The RAM installed is 1.5v. It is not 1.35v. So that should put to rest the question if 1.5v will work or not.

(Oh, the mini I got was 2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with 4GB memory and stock HD)
You are correct, but a little late. It's already been confirmed and posted a while back.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...2&postcount=13



Quote:
Originally Posted by seattlejimbob View Post
Thanks for the info.... Out of curiosity, where did the 1.35V 'rumor' come from?
From the Crucial Configurator.
__________________
Dual, Late 2012 Mac Mini's 2.6GHz quad-core i7 16GB with Samsung 840 250GB SSD's, Dell 23" s2340l and 27" s2740l Monitors, iPad Air 64GB Wi-Fi, Verizon
iPhone 5 64GB Black

Last edited by kdoug; Nov 2, 2012 at 01:23 PM.
kdoug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 09:48 PM   #4
creativet
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto
[QUOTE=kdoug;16209034]You are correct, but a little late. It's already been confirmed and posted a while back.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...2&postcount=13

Yes - But I was trying to put a precise answer to the whole question without having to read through pages and pages of "controversy". LOL
creativet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 10:17 PM   #5
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
I noticed the same thing when changing my RAM today. Default RAM is 1.5V too.
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 01:09 AM   #6
stellan0r
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
If the SPD speed is 1333 MHz and the tested speed of a module is 1600 MHz at 1.5 Volts and CL11, the RAM will run at 1600 MHz, right? On a PC you can change the speed in the bios, which will probably not work on a Mini

I'm confused about the speed thing because somewhere I read that e.g. the corsair vengeance ram which is sold as 1600 MHz is only "overclocked" 1333 MHz RAM.
stellan0r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 11:53 AM   #7
albert1028
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I noticed that Apple is using a new memory vendor than before. The japanese company Elpida is now a vendor.

The 2012 Mac Mini 2GB Dimms are indeed 1.5V (Model EBJ20UF8BDU0-GN-F). There is a spec sheet on their website, along with those who are curious pin outs.

Another interesting thing is that the DIMM sockets have in the plastic section labeled "1.5V"
albert1028 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 01:28 PM   #8
pxbr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
So what's that men for those of us ordering/installing the crucial 16gb kits that state 1.35v????
pxbr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 03:46 PM   #9
zen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by pxbr View Post
So what's that men for those of us ordering/installing the crucial 16gb kits that state 1.35v????
1.35v will run fine - less heat, less power consumption.
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 03:56 PM   #10
trajan2448
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
1.35v will run fine - less heat, less power consumption.
Yes I have 16gb Crucial 1.35 in 2011 late MBP 17". Runs fine. No issues.
trajan2448 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 04:12 PM   #11
pxbr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
great, thanks
pxbr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 08:37 AM   #12
creativet
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto
Just wanted to update, I finally got my 16gb of RAM yesterday and is working flawlessly. Tested it for 10 hours last night. It appears to still be on sale for $64.99 if anyone is interested.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...tent-_-text-_-
creativet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 08:50 AM   #13
dogmusic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by creativet View Post
Just wanted to update, I finally got my 16gb of RAM yesterday and is working flawlessly. Tested it for 10 hours last night. It appears to still be on sale for $64.99 if anyone is interested.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...tent-_-text-_-
I bought the same RAM and it seems okay after three days.
dogmusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1.5v vs. 1.35v RAM in 2012 cMBP whdigital MacBook Pro 58 Jun 22, 2013 11:02 AM
Is the 8GB of ram in new iMac 1.5v or 1.35v? barnyard iMac 1 Dec 12, 2012 12:10 PM
RAM volt Question 1.5v or 1.35v? Mindfax iMac 2 Nov 30, 2012 12:29 PM
Ram-upgrade: Should I choose 1.35v or 1.5v? mortenjensen MacBook Pro 8 Nov 29, 2012 03:44 PM
Mbp 2012 1.35v ram brop52 MacBook Pro 34 Nov 17, 2012 05:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC