Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 25, 2013, 04:28 AM   #1
JOSE891
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Question Sim change on iPhone 5S now requires you to validate Apple ID used with iPhone?

Ok, so out of curiosity I put a different sim into my AT&T iPhone 5S and when I did I got a "Activation Required" screen, and it said
"This iPhone is currently linked to an Apple ID (j*********@i****.com). Sign in with the Apple ID that was used to set up this iPhone."

You can't bypass, even if you remove the sim card. And then it asked for my Apple ID & Password (Which I logged in with).

I just tried this on my brother's 5S as well and it does the same thing.

Does anybody know what's up with this? It seems like a cool feature incase you lose you'r 5S but didn't have Find my iPhone feature and somebody try's to put a diff Sim Card to use your iPhone.

My 5S has a password but my brother's didn't.

Have only tried this on the 5S, might be the same with the 5,4S, or 4.
Would be nice if other ppl confirm it does this on other iPhone running iOS 7.

EDIT: This was with a T-Mobile US Sim Card.

Last edited by JOSE891; Sep 25, 2013 at 04:35 AM.
JOSE891 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2013, 05:15 AM   #2
mbhforum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yes, this is a new security feature added by Apple in ios7. It is meant to discourage thieves and making phones bricks if they are stolen. Th government has been pressuring mobile vendors to implement this and Apple was the first to respond. If you try and erase your phone, you need your Apple ID first also.
mbhforum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2013, 05:24 AM   #3
JOSE891
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhforum View Post
Yes, this is a new security feature added by Apple in ios7. It is meant to discourage thieves and making phones bricks if they are stolen. Th government has been pressuring mobile vendors to implement this and Apple was the first to respond. If you try and erase your phone, you need your Apple ID first also.
I knew about this while ago. But I thought it was only if you remote lock/wipe it. Didn't know it does the same thing with a Sim Change.
JOSE891 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2013, 05:25 AM   #4
mbhforum
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Me neither and I'm glad you posted it. It seems to make sense that if you swap sims that some security would need to be enforced. Good job Apple.
mbhforum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2013, 07:57 AM   #5
nihilisticmonk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhforum View Post
Yes, this is a new security feature added by Apple in ios7. It is meant to discourage thieves and making phones bricks if they are stolen. Th government has been pressuring mobile vendors to implement this and Apple was the first to respond. If you try and erase your phone, you need your Apple ID first also.
my 4S doesn't do this with a sim swap. Just switched from o2 > Three and I can swap sims without any trouble.
nihilisticmonk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2013, 05:16 PM   #6
benguild
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by nihilisticmonk View Post
my 4S doesn't do this with a sim swap. Just switched from o2 > Three and I can swap sims without any trouble.
I think it only does it the first time you attempt to swap it if the phone is not currently unlocked. It will attempt to reactivate, and I think any iPhone activation in general now requires an Apple ID login.

However, once the phone is unlocked successfully (after reactivating) ... you won't need to reactivate it again after swapping the SIM. Only the first time. So I think this is the only time you need to login.

In the past, if you phone is pending unlock or not unlocked, it would attempt to reactivate over iTunes or Wi-Fi. This is the same process, it just has the same Apple ID login as a system-wide security feature now.

FYI, I was prompted as well and then, when trying two other SIMs after that, I was no longer prompted. I doubt that will come back considering the phone is already activated as unlocked now.
__________________
http://benguild.com
benguild is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5S requires Fingerprint? UBS28 iPhone 4 Sep 15, 2013 09:46 AM
What happens if I change SIM to my iPhone? digitalove iPhone 1 Jun 16, 2013 08:15 AM
Resolved: Verizon IPhone 4S change 3G sim to 4g for 4g LTE? 4GLTE lover iPhone 5 Jan 7, 2013 07:06 PM
Verizon iPhone 4S Requires SIM Card Prof. iPhone 22 Dec 22, 2012 11:23 PM
How to cut down and sand your SIM or Micro SIM to a Nano SIM for iPhone 5 codeus iPhone 7 Sep 14, 2012 09:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC